We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Swansea Central Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Swansea Central Hotel to your Saves list
Travelodge Swansea Central Hotel
Princess Way, Swansea SA1 3LW, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Swansea
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Basic, clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed 2 nights midweek. Room was basic, no frills but clean and comfortable. To our surprise the Hotel had a restaurant and bar, the food was very good, no complaints. The breakfast was a full breakfast and all you could eat if you felt like it. We had a room at the back of the hotel which looked out onto the rear of the Quadrant shopping Centre which basically meant early morning (5am) lorry deliveries to the stores so there was a degree of noise, and when everything is quiet, the noise form deliveries is amplified somewhat. We had a few other glitches, the TV remote would only work a few inches from the TV, the keycard didn't work on the second day and the room wouldn't lock on one occasion.......but these were sorted out OK.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front may be quieter but the hotel is very close to the Swansea weekend clubbing zone
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    34
    18
    6
    8
See reviews for
24
23
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

For the price a good hotel, however dirty pillow covers, very poor check in and room not cleaned for second night. Noises from outside and inside people shouting out sssshhh when the come in as per any normal city centre hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Swansea Central Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
We’re really sorry to learn of the issue you have raised Mark S. Our housekeeping team follow a regular routine when servicing our rooms and it is regrettable that there was a lapse in service on this occasion. We’ll be sure to pass on your feedback to our hotel management team so this can be addressed and our staff can also be reminded of the importance of providing a great service to our guests. It’s also regrettable you were disturbed by other customers, and by external noises. We do try to reduce noise in our hotels by having insulated walls and double glazing however due to the central location of the hotel we cannot completely prevent external noise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Everything was fine with this hotel, friendly staff, clean room, comfortable bed and, for a nice change, there were thick, large towels. But the noise! Because the room was stuffy we needed the window open. I had no idea that Swansea was such a den of iniquity: noisy, obviously drunk, groups of people passing by all night. Just luck, I suppose.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We came to Swansea to watch a concert and booked this hotel for the reasonable rate that we paid. What a good choice. Excellent location. Friendly reception. We had a few drinks in town after the concert but came back earlier than what we usually do due to the fact there was students swarming everywhere dressed up for Halloween. That was good entertainment for us for a bit! We went back and had a drink in the hotel bar, what a lovely guy on reception who told us its student night every Wednesday. Oh well they were no problem just having a good time.

Extremely comfortable beds and I slept reasonably well apart from the noise coming from town. This stopped dead at about 2am. Put this aside I would definitely stay here again (but not on students night, lol ). Also if you use the N P C multi storey car park overnight you have discount just ask reception to stamp your ticket. It all helps

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The hotel is very well located and easy to find. The facilities are fine, and the staff offer a good welcome. Even though the hotel is in a busy leisure area, there was very little noise at night, which was very welcome.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Machynlleth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The hotel was excellent in every respect, but the evaluation survey is too detailed. The hotel was spotless, the view was lovely and the bed was very comfortable. This is easily the best hotel I have stayed in.



  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Excellent value for money. Large rooms with lovely comfortable beds. Clean en suit. Bar and restaurant on site. Not far from the bustle of Wind Street (200 yards) but far enough away so the noise does not disturb your sleep, and only a ten minute walk from the golden beaches of Swansea Bay. The staff could not be more helpful.

Room Tip: All the rooms are more or less the same and are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Swansea Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Swansea Central Hotel

Address: Princess Way, Swansea SA1 3LW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Travelodge Swansea Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Swansea Central Hotel Wales
Travel Lodge Swansea
Swansea Travel Lodge
Swansea Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Swansea Central Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.