We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Crescent

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Crescent to your Saves list
The Crescent
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   132 Eaton Crescent | Uplands, Swansea SA1 4QR, Wales (Formerly Crescent Guest House)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 47 Swansea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

If you are looking for very reasonably priced accommodation in Swansea close to several restaurants, wine bars, comfy rooms, lovely owners and a good breakfast then this is as good any any you will find. I was cheeky enough to ask if a work colleague who lives locally could come along for a breakfast meeting...no problem was the answer - all very accommodating and I shall be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    21
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
15
43
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My wife who was brought up in Swansea booked 3 nights B+B in Eaton Crescent where one of her school friends once lived. The street is now rundown with quite a few houses let to 6 or more students. The Guest House has been well refurbished and we had the top floor room (no 6) with lovely views. It was a quiet place to stay with a very good bed but dim lighting. Being so high up the shower was adequate and the toilet was some kind of vacuum one. The decor was beautifully done for an old Victorian house. The breakfast was average with packs of butter/margarine/jam / marmalade (very ordinary bread) and although I enjoyed the grilled bacon felt the whole breakfast cut corners with quality (compare any B+B with Goffsland Farm near Horsham and I will be disappointed!). Not 4 stars.
It is a place to explore the Gower Peninsular and is reasonably priced.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is great B&B in a great location!

I stayed here for 5 nights in September, in order to explore the beautiful Gower coastline and countryside, and it is in the perfect location for that. As I didn't drive here, availability of buses out into Gower was of paramount importance and this B&B is only a few moments' walk north to Uplands Crescent, or south to Oystermouth Road, and that's all the bus routes covered. Perfect.

It's a nice part of Swansea too, with some pleasant pubs and restaurants very close by on Brynymor Road, and more still (plus a few shops and banks) in the lively Uplands area, yet Eton Crescent itself is very quiet so there are no problems getting a good night's sleep here.

Once inside, you'll get a very warm welcome from Andy and Dena, who are fine hosts indeed. My room was very comfortable and absolutely immaculately clean, and in the morning a delicious cooked breakfast awaits, served in very pleasant surroundings, which will set you up nicely for a good day's trekking around the Gower coast path.

To those reviews that say that the walk back up is steep (and I suppose it is if you have mobility issues), well if you walk back from town along the higher road (A4118) you will enter Brynymor Road at the top, not the bottom. Problem solved.

Overall, it's a lovely house and I had a lovely time in Wales. Andy and Dena obviously try very hard and it shows, as The Crescent is beyond criticism as far as I'm concerned.

Even the weather was great! Although I'm not giving them any credit for that...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

A great B & B. I did well in finding a good one!!!!. My hubby and I thought it was a lovely and friendly place. We had a great welcome. We were visiting family as we had some sad event and the kindness from the owners were lovely. Our room just made the day, as the view was fantastic of Swansea bay and when lit up in the evening, it was amazing. Very helpful in suggestion of restaurants. A lovely all round stay. Wish we could of stayed 2 nights. Please visit it is lovely. Joanne & Colin

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at The Crescent for a night and thought it was a great B&B. Really friendly owners, who made us feel very welcome. Interested to know why we were visiting the area and suggested where we could go to eat for dinner when we arrived.

Room was very nice and lived up to 4* rating. Bed was very big. We had the very top room with view of Swansea centre. Hadn't originally booked this room, but was offered it on arrival.

Breakfast was good, nice fry-up to start the day. Also fruit, cereal, toast etc available as you'd expect.

Location is good, as not too far away from the city centre. We walked there in the evening (downhill) but got taxi home given it is a walk up quite a steep hill.

Highly recommended if you're staying in Swansea.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warkworth, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here one night and thought it was a great place. Room clean and very spacious. Breakfast was great and the owners are friendly and are great hosts. Lovely views over Swansea Bay and a nice quiet place for a good nights sleep!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willenhall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights over the Bank Holiday weekend and could not be happier about our choice of accommodation. Room was clean and spacious, breakfast was delicious and the owners are great, recommending some great places to eat and sights to see.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Crescent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crescent

Address: 132 Eaton Crescent | Uplands, Swansea SA1 4QR, Wales (Formerly Crescent Guest House)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crescent 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Edwardian Town House is situated in a quiet, leafy crescent standing in an elevated position overlooking Swansea bay. This position provides panoramic views of the city and the bay. The city centre and popular Grand theatre are 15 minutes walk away, Brangwyn Hall is just 5 minutes walk, and Swansea University, Wales National Pool and Singleton Hospital are all approximately a 25 minute walk. The Uplands area is well served by public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Crescent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crescent Swansea, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crescent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.