We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well positioned hotel with good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel Swansea

Save Saved
You added The Grand Hotel Swansea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Grand Hotel Swansea
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ivey Place | High Street, Swansea SA1 1NX, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 25 hotels in Swansea
Gwent
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Well positioned hotel with good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Lovely hotel just far enough from Wind St to be quiet but central enough you can walk to town. Executive room was lovely with jacuzzi bath and balcony, mini bar, toiletries, hair dryer and ironing board. Would stay again

Room Tip: Executive rooms quieter as on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception R, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Swansea, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Hi Angharad

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We can only continue to give the service you received through comments like these.

Kind Regards

David Bourke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    82
    35
    25
    14
See reviews for
31
85
31
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My partner and me tend to go here to watch the football games through the week. Its never to over crowded and you can always get a seat. Half time they come around with free sausage and chips for everybody watching the game and the staff are really friendly. Would deffinately recommend this venue to anybody

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception R, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Swansea, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
To Betchy

Firstly thank you for taking the time to write a review. I have passed on the comments to our team and we are glad that you enjoyed the half time nibbles.
It is only with comments like these that we can continue the service standards our guests deserve.

Thank you

David Bourke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westmeath
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

On arriving into a a particularly wet Swansea by train, the Grand Hotel was very conveniently located right across the road from the railway station. The room was comfortable; the bar area pleasant with a reasonable choice of tasty food; and breakfast was excellent with really healthy and tasty choices. It is important to say though that the service from the staff was really personal and high quality. They could not have been friendlier or more helpful. I would particularly mention Trudie on Reception who eased both my mind (how to get to my onward location the next day) and my journey (arranging transport).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura H, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Swansea, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear tess70_8,

Thank you for taking time to write this review, I have passed on your lovely comments about the staff and especially Trudy. We are proud to have staff who are friendly and caring towards all our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Laura Horan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zakynthos, Greece
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This hotel is next to the train station and due to a delay in a connection to our train destination we decided to book last minute at this hotel. The reception staff were excellent and made us feel at home immediately. Our family room was clean and lovely, lots of nice space in the bathroom and lots of nice hot water. The bar was good and food great. My daughter left her i pad in the room and following a phone call to the reception the receptionist quickly found the i pad and put it safe for us. I would like to mention the great breakfast with great service and atmosphere, thanks to all at the Grand and see you soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura H, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Swansea, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear richardmorgan77,

Thank you for the great comments ! especially feeling "at home". I will pass all your lovely comments on to our staff.

Kind Regards
Laura Horan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Was really happy with the room!!! After seeing complaints about noise my partner and I requested a room away from the main road - and it was fine. There was no noise at all. The location was brilliant and convenient. The room itself had everything needed for a night stay. The bathroom was surprisingly big, with clean towels and a lovely big mirror it was ideal. We had the room for a bargain price that included breakfast. Breakfast was fine, I tried smoked salmon that was very nice. The only problem was finding the breakfast area as it wasn't clearly labelled, and the continental breakfast bar didn't seemed to be refreshed often as the cheese and cold meats looked very dry and had lost their color from sitting out uncovered. However this didn't affect our stay. Very good for the price!

Room Tip: Request a quiet room to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura H, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Swansea, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Miss_T_1990,

Thank you for taking time to write this review. Good comments overall. In relation to our cold breakfast buffet area where our selection of cheese, meats and other foods are kept. They are all kept in a refrigerated area which is sufficient to keep these food items fresh and the temperature is checked regularly and recorded. Thank you for bringing it to my attention on the appearance of these foods our breakfast staff will be retrained in this area so this does not happen in the future.

Kind Regards
Laura Horan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed here for the Football last Wednesday. Even though we lost we still had a great time thanks to this hotel. We stayed in an executive room which was really well fitted out with a nice little balcony to sit on (that's when its not snowing). There is a good bar that sells meals and snacks all at a very reasonable price and plentiful portions. The Grand breakfast is indeed grand and one of the best I have had on my travels. Freshly cooked, not stored in warmers, and there is a continental buffet as well. All the staff we met were superb, friendly and very professional. The location is excellent, next door to the main line station and walking distance to the football stadium. Can't wait to play Swansea again, to stay here, we might even beat them next time if the ball boy gives us the ball back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura H, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Swansea, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear rogboy,

Great comments to hear. Yes Swansea City are doing very well in the football. Our breakfast is well know in Swansea and is fit for a king!! I have passed all the great comments to all the staff.

Looking forward to welcoming back to Swansea on the next match day and you never know Chelsea might win.......


Kind Regards
Laura Horan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is in an excellent position for anyone coming into Swansea by train and wanting to explore the city, shopping, visit the fabulous Gower area or even to attend a Swansea City premiership football match you don't even need to cross the road from the station and bus stops to everywhere withing 100 yards.
The rooms are not huge but very clean & comfortable, lovely bars and good food plus super breakfast lovely friendly and helpful staff

Room Tip: rooms appear well insulated against street noise and hotel is not on a main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura H, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Swansea, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear coaltownjack,

Great comments to hear about our location, cleanliness, breakfast, food and our staff.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Laura Horan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Grand Hotel Swansea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Swansea

Address: Ivey Place | High Street, Swansea SA1 1NX, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel Swansea 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel, Swansea has been a landmark hotel since the 1930’s, largely due to its ideal location and unique design. In 2004 the hotel was subject to a complete re-furbishment and reopened as one of Swansea’s leading independent hotels, Great attention to detail was given to insure guests are offered the very best in accommodation services to include:Spacious rooms;Fully air conditioned;Ensuite to include power showers, bath and heated mirrors;Tea and coffee making facilities;Flat screen TV with DVD player;Iron and pressing board;And introducing our new ONLINE SHOPPING MALLAs well as our new ONLINE CONCIERGE.Our 4 executive rooms, and 2 Penthouses offer a range of Super King and Queen Beds, private balconies and jacuzzi baths, with the Penthouses boasting South Wales only roof top hot tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your The Grand Hotel Swansea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swansea Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel Swansea Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Hotel Swansea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.