We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Indian Meal Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Killay Tandoori - CLOSED

Killay Tandoori
436 Gower Rd, Swansea SA2 7AJ, Wales
01792 205449
Improve this listing
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Indian Meal Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

The newly refurbished Killay Spice is an absolute gem of a restaurant. I have eaten here now on a few occasions since it reopened in December and I have to say the food and service I got on all occasions was top class. my Take Away meal last night was by far the best indian meal I have ever had!! The Achari Batak Roast Duck was succulent and full of flavour and spices. The naan bread nice and soft, fresh like bakery bread. My lamb chop starters were just right, full of juice and not to dry. The Killay staff are so friendly and the Manager seems to be really popular and well known by the customers. Excellent restaurant, Staff and food. would love to give it more than five stars if I could!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Having previously been a regular at this establishment I was disappointed to see it close.

It has now had a complete revamp and has opened under new ownership.

The improvements made are great. The decor and ambience are now second to none. The staff are welcoming and efficient. The menu is mouthwatering. The food is well prepared and absolutely delicious.

Under previous owners I went there just because it was within walking distance. Under the new owners I would travel miles. It really is that good.

Back to being a regular again I think.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“My dining experience at killay spice...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

I was most pleased with my recent visit and dining experience in this newest opened restaurant in Swansea. The food was excellent, the staff very friendly and helpful. I would thoroughly recommend this to anybody looking for a lovely evening for dining.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Glad that at last decent owners are running this restaurant. Lovely decor and food really good. Will be our regular restaurant from now on.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Now called the Killay Spice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

The Killay Tandoori closed a few months ago. It has been reopened by the owners of the Rose Indienne and The Viceroy in St Helens Road Swansea. They have obviously spent a lot of money on it and the decor and ambience is very welcoming - as are the staff!!
The menu is similar to the Viceroy and the restaurant offers a wide range of meals. We really enjoyed our first visit last week. Karahi chicken and the Madras were excellent. Recommend this 'new' restaurant and will definitely return.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Killay Tandoori also viewed

Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 
Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Killay Tandoori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.