We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FIRST TIME AND NOT LAST TIME” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Morgans Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Morgans Hotel to your Saves list
Morgans Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Somerset Place, Swansea SA1 1RR, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Swansea
Hampshire
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“FIRST TIME AND NOT LAST TIME”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

As per my title, it was my first time at Morgans, my PA was off and her stand in booked me here as the usual hotel I stay at when I'm on business in Swansea was full. THIS HOTEL WAS MUCH BETTER - when I found it! Apparently, they have changed the road lay-out and it is a devil to find (even though I know Swansea reasonably well) first tip TAKE SAT NAV.
I stayed in the town house, Breeze room, very comfortable bed, nice roomy room, good bathroom and powerful shower - but will hotels ever be able to get rid of those manky rubber non-slip bathmats and how many trucks can pass by your window at 6am?
Walking distance of town, plenty of eateries across the road so never got to try the dinner menu but wondered what the heck was going on when reception pointed upstairs for breakfast - but what a nice room to sit amd have breakfast and my plate was so cleanly set out I wish I'd have tried dinner.
I recommend this hotel - I'll be back

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    117
    47
    18
    21
See reviews for
45
183
24
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, NH USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Great place to stay when you visit Swansea. Right in the heart of the city and a short walk to all the stores and attractions. The staff was very friendly and helpful with our requests. The breakfast was excellent. The bar area can be quite lively at times. We stayed in the family room (Eagle). The room had plenty of space for the 4 of us with a big bathroom. Lift service is available to help with bags

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed to have a night out in winter wonderland. Staff were great with my 3 year old and he loved the experience. Stayed here several times before and always enjoy.

Stayed December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We live about an hour away from Swansea so could have driven home - but have wanted to stay in Morgans for a while. Car park opposite is perfect. Reception staff very helpful. We stayed in Alpha which is in the Townhouse and one of the more affordable roooms. We have stayed in luxury hotels all over the world and so have plenty to compare with. Our room was lovely - 4 poster bed, great bathroom - only point I would make is that the Molton Brown toiletry bottles were a bit damaged! We decided to stay as we were going to the theatre and fancied a nice meal and a few drinks so didn't want to drive home! Breakfast was wonderful - try the eggs benedict - cooked to perfection. Would definitely stay again - in fact looking for an excuse to!!!!

Room Tip: If you are looking for wonderful views then don't stay here. If you want luxury and quality then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

My husband booked 2 rooms in Morgans as we were celebrating two birthdays in the family. Parking really easy, just opposite the hotel. We checked in and reception staff really helpful and pleasant. Both rooms Topaz and Mariner were superband we were a bit reluctant to leave rooms. We were meeting family in the hotel and then eating in the restaurant. We stayed on 30th March which was Friday and it is also steak night, we all had our steaks cooked as requested only disappointment were the chips, we think they were frozen chips didn't look great and presentation was poor. We have eaten in Morgans quite a few times and this time we felt we would have been better off using one of the restaurants in the vicinity of the same standard.

Bar Manager could have been a bit more helpful, all other bar staff really helpful with wine suggestions etc.

We felt we had value for money as we had deal whereby whatever the price of the room you have same back as a cash card to spend on food and drink.

Would we go back? Yes we would, we enjoyed the hotel and the breakfast.

Room Tip: Two couples in party and really good comfortable rooms, but don't expect a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

My husband and I have stayed in Morgans several times - and have never been disappointed.
On arrival - check in alway quick and easy - there is always someone to help with the luggage and show you to your room.
We have stayed in the Digby Grande, Zeta room, Ambassador and others.
The bathrooms are superb - we love the double showers! Bed quality - never found any better. Quality bathrobes supplied, lovely fluffy towels aplenty and quality toiletries. Breakfast is adequate - used to be a lot more choice. But for the price you pay still brilliant.

Room Tip: View the rooms online - no two are the same and you will know exactly what you are getting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHREWSBURY
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed for one night in the Townhouse in Marchall Pellisier. The room is spacious with a great bathroom and super comfy bed. Lots of postives about the hotel. Good car parking, friendly greeting, and nice quality breakfast. Few negatives too. Sound insualation not so good in The Townhouse - creaking floorboards and plumbing. As a previous reviewer commented, a lack of textiles which doesn't help with noise transferance. Iron and ironing board to be collected from a central location. At £150.00 per night I'd like one in the room.

Overall, a good experience and I will return. One word of warning though - don't be late for breakfast! If you are close to the end of the shift, they refuse to take cooked breakfast orders. I was not on the receiving end of this dictate but a helpless Frenchman, with limited English, was! Poor show at an otherwise stylish venue.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morgans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgans Hotel

Address: Somerset Place, Swansea SA1 1RR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Swansea
#3 Luxury Hotel in Swansea
#5 Business Hotel in Swansea
#6 Romantic Hotel in Swansea
#7 Family Hotel in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Morgans Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morgans Hotel is located in the heart of the maritime quarter, within walking distance to the city centre of Swansea. The Main Hotel has 20 rooms of accommodation, a bar lounge, restaurant and conference facilities. The Townhouse, situated across a small side road from the main hotel, has an additional 22 bedrooms. Please note that we are unable offer room service in the Townhouse. The restaurant is open seven days a week to residents and we serve bar meals in our bar lounge daily. The restaurant is open to the public from Wednesday evening through to Sunday lunch. The hotel is non-smoking and we have disabled access and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Morgans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgans Hotel Swansea, Wales
Morgans Swansea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morgans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.