We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, wonderful host!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Alexander

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Alexander to your Saves list
The Alexander
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3, Sketty Road, Swansea SA2 0EU, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Swansea
NYC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great room, wonderful host!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our host was at the Alexander was definitely my favorite host from my two week vacation through Europe. He was a mountain of information about Wales, where and what to eat, and how to make the most of our stay. I came here with my boyfriend and his best friend, and we were set up in a "family style" room, which was actually quite fun. The bed was a little springy, but the room was quiet, clean, and warm.

Breakfast was outstanding, like I said, I just adored the host.

Note: There's a 2% tarif if you pay with a credit card, so I recommend bringing enough cash for the stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    28
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
18
30
22
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

A number of my family and I stayed in August for my brother's wedding; we were early but were able to check in. The owner was very accommodating for all our needs. Small touches made the difference here, such as the proprieter remembering our names at breakfast and tissues, cotton wool pads and cotton buds in the rooms.
I would highly recommend the accommodation to anyone, particularly large groups and families.
Thank you for a perfect stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S Wales
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Arrived on Friday evening and were given the option of 2 rooms,both of which were lovely.Cannot fault anything about this hotel.Owners were very nice,good nights sleep,lovely breakfast.Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Very welcoming hoteliers and were very helpful. I had a lovely decorated clean room. Could not fault it. Breakfast was great. There was a lot on offer. I really like the location as it is near to the university and town. Thank you for a lovely stay and I will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We attended the Swansea Uni open day and chose this hotel due to trip advisor feedback and we were really pleased with our choice. The room was spotless, the breakfast fantastic and the host really informative about the local area. We would highly recommend.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We booked this hotel as we had a dog and they said she would be accommodated. Having climbed 27 stairs and gone into a very small room we decided to ask family to have her as no garden and onto a main road. We did ask for a back room thinking it would be quieter but not realising that we backed onto student accommodation - partying until 3am+ in the morning. The shower room so small that to sit on the loo a tall man would have to put his feet into the passage. We have stayed in several hotels in Swansea and this is the first that we feel totally let down.
And no, parking wasn't easy. I do think that what we saw of the owner he was very polite and did his best. He did well with the cooked breakfast but very poor quality sausages (we kept them for the dog).

Room Tip: It might be better on the ist floor at the front or side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
busterSwansea, Owner at The Alexander, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
We as owners are dissapointed with this customers review. We do not normally accomodate dogs but as a favour we allowed the guests to bring their pet. The customer requested a back room which they were given. This is one of our smaller rooms and if the customer had asked we could have changed their room for a bigger one. The Alexander is a Victorian building and does not have a lift. Also we do not advertise having a garden for pets. We do not serve cheap qualilty sausages as they are purchased from a local well known butchers. I am very sorry that we did not come up to this customers expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stayed just the one night in the last available room, which I took to be a good sign. I was met by a very cheerful host who was friendly and efficient. Parking was easy to find on a quiet residential street round the corner. The room was very comfortable with an almost new en-suite shower and toilet. Breakfast was excellent, really set me up for the day.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexander

Address: 3, Sketty Road, Swansea SA2 0EU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Swansea
#2 Romantic Hotel in Swansea
#3 Business Hotel in Swansea
#6 Family Hotel in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alexander 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alexander Swansea, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Alexander, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.