We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, nice surroundings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Parilla

La Parilla
Unit 5 J Shed, Swansea, Wales
01792464530
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #243 of 500 restaurants in Swansea
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Swansea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good food, nice surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This was a work's lunchtime 'do' that coincided with Maundy Thursday, sort of a Bank-Holiday in the afternoon for Civil Servants so the place was packed as it coincided with pay-day as well!! As I say it was heaving but the staff rose to the occasion. You pick your food from the fresh display, a good range of meat and fish. Although it was packed we'd booked a table, turned up on time and they were prepared for us. The choices were cooked and brought to the table, and it was very good as we all agreed. My steak was correctly cooked, and tasty as was the chicken next to me (I love sitting next to small-eaters, plenty of left-overs). I think I'd go again but on a more formal evening out, I expect it's possible to run up a fair bill as most 'extras' are charged for. We went for the £10 lunch menu which was a starter and a main course with chips/saute/ boiled and that was it. vegetables were extra but at £10 you can't really argue can you?

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

50% Recommend
    38
    25
    21
    17
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Consistently Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My family and I have had many excellent evenings in La Parilla
The food is fresh ,with an overall good choice- although favourites do seem to sell out quickly- especially if you are late diners.The place is always bustling and the bar area can become a little congested.- it is certainly well patronised to say the least.
There can be live music in the bar and the young duo we have seen on a number of occaisions are really very good.
Some tables have a view out over the water which is an added bonus.
The staff are always accommodating but sometimes rather rushed due to the volume of custom.
Unless arriving by taxi - parking can be difficult as there are no immediate places and the nearest car park can be a bit of a walk for the less mobile
That said-- I would have no reservations about recommending this restaurant for good food and company and I am confident that Juan and his team will do their utmost to help make it an enjoyable and memorable experience-

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Quality produce which you choose yourself & the chefs cook to your requirements. Good variety of fresh fish and the choice of the lunchtime set menu is excellent.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“La Parilla?....A Real Thrilla!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I booked a family get-together for 6 people recently. It was the first time at this restaurant, despite being a fairly regular diner at its sister establishment (la Braseria) a half-mile away in the "infamous" Wind St.
I have to say, that despite reservations due to comments from its many dissenters, and the strange queueing ritual to select meat, fish etc, (as is also conducted at its sister restaurant), we had a very good experience over-all. Maybe it was the fact that it was relatively early in the evening (7.30pm), and there was not many diners at that time, but pre-dinner drinks service at the bar was quick, efficient and friendly and the comfortable ambience was enhanced by the acoustic trio playing Spanish/Portuguese melodies. Our food and wine order was taken by very pleasant waiting staff, who were very attentative all evening without being too obvious.
Without going into too much detail, the various courses were presented well and without undue waiting between courses. The quality of all the dishes ordered was excellent, and the only negative comment on the dining experience is that all accompanying vegetable dishes are "extras", and must be ordered at the time of selecting the meat/fish course! This is something to be aware of, as it could ruin a dinner to be left without the accompaniment when the main course arrives. The selected Spanish and new world wines were excellent and reasonably priced.
The restaurant filled up over the course of the evening and was quite full by 9pm. This is a pleasant dining venue and is obviously popular!.....We'd definitely visit again, and look forward to doing so.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“TURNED OFF BY CURLY BLACK HAIR”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We went as a family for lunch last month, usually we have a decent meal but the garlic mushroom starter came with a long curly black hair - what a turn off, they replaced the starter and removed the cost of starter from bill - sorry but haven't gone back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Parilla also viewed

Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 
Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 

Been to La Parilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Parilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.