We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going Back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gower Peninsula

Gower Peninsula
Swansea, Wales
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 131 things to do in Swansea
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wales
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Going Back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is the area of my youth. I hadn't been to the Gower for many years, to my absolute shame.It is truly beautiful; full of historic sites. Some Norman Churches with their square towers.
Beautiful!!!!!!!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    585
    64
    12
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful beaches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Lovely beaches, if only the weather was better so we could enjoy them more. Still lovely to walk around and there are some great paths to walk. Some of the path between Llangland and Mumbles and also Llangland to Caswell is not suitable for pushing a buggy and it is a long way for little legs. Our older girls (aged 11 and 9) loved the walk.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Reached the Gower without a shower”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was the end of the trail for me. Hope to walk it all in the Autumn. I know it will not disappoint.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“every day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

great views , great beaches , great walking . worms head . oxwich bay rhossili beach ......................................

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Quiet with some of the best beaches in th UK.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The Gower peninsula is situated just south from Swansea, and is literally on its doorstep. Despite this, its main appeal is how little the area is built up and how quiet and peaceful it can be.

Of course crowds flock to the beaches when the weather is good, but most stay around the Mumbles. For the best, head to Oxwich, Port Eynon or Rhossili. The latter is held in high regard as even one of the best beaches in Europe, but you can have a great day on any of these beaches. What I like best is how they are still quite wild. There may be a fish and chip shop or small restaurant nearby some of them, but there is nothing like a 'seaside resort' feel to anywhere on the Gower, due to it being an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.

I stayed at Greenways Leisure Park, and camped with my partner with car and tent. When we arrived we had a whole field to ourselves! I'm sure it would get a bit busier in the school holidays, but everything about it is great, from the views, the green space and the excellent toilet and shower facilities, which seemed quite new and were always clean.

Another recommendation is the Smuggler's Haunt restaurant in Port Eynon. We had pizza, but there was a variety to the menu, and the beach is only moments away.

Overall, this is one of the best places I have camped in the UK. I put it up there with the Lake District, Snowdonia and the Highlands of Scotland.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gower Peninsula also viewed

Swansea, Swansea County
Rhossili, Swansea County
 
Swansea, Swansea County
 

Been to Gower Peninsula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gower Peninsula, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.