We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cwmshon Cottages
Cwmshon Cottages
Cwmshon Cottages
King size bedroom
Swansea
|
Rental Home – 
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lars V
1 review
“A great vacation in beautiful surroundings!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We have enjoyed our stay at this lovely cottage. The weather was absolutely beautiful and we took lots of trips to the beaches - Three Cliffs Bay was our favourite. The visit to Big Pit National Coal mining Museum was a great experience. We all enjoyed every day in wonderful Wales and we feel that we have to come back some time, there is still so much to see and experience. Thank you for your hospitality Fiona and Andrew!

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
JuliaLepu...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“The most wonderful and luxurious cottage we ever stayed at”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

A wonderful comfy cottage awaited us after our long journey from Germany and Cardiff. it made us feel at home the minute we arrived and all the small traditional features really made the difference. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would love to come back one day. Thank you very much for your warm and lovely welcome - it really was a pleasure to have Fiona and her husband as a host who were always willing to help with sightseeing tips but also kept their distance so you could enjoy the beauty of the cottage on your own.
I'd highly recommend staying at Cwmshon cottages if you're on the lookout for a high quality and beautiful accomodation in a location that's easy to reach. The cottage is wonderfully furnished, has an amazing Welsh staircase and great wooden bathroom. Absolutely worth a visit.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Lynn C
Colchester, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We came from the U.S. and had numerous day trips planned. We were able to go to Aberdare and Myrther Tydfil (where my ancestors lived) and the Brecon Beacons in the north. We visited St. David's Cathedral in the west and Gower, Mumbles, and Swansea to the south. The location was perfect for seeing all of South Wales. And it was wonderful to return each evening to such a beautiful cottage that had everything we needed. Each morning, I would take my tea and breakfast out to the side patio and plan our day listening to the water tumble by. Fiona was so welcoming and was a great help with advice and information and maps about where we wanted to go. I highly recommend Cwmshon Cottages!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The location and condition of the property.
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
catsmum21
1 review
“A pretty and spacious cottage for a family holiday.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

A lovely well equipped cottage for our family holiday. The cake, honey, chocolate and tea/coffee facilities were appreciated after our long journey. Fiona and Andrew were attentive and helpful hosts. The free wifi was a very welcome bonus.

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Maria H
Cambridgeshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Exceeded our every expectation, we did not want to leave.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Wow! This is a holiday cottage that the owners Fiona and Andrew have really put their hearts and souls into. After arriving much later than intended we were delighted to find a most welcoming, clean and comfortable cottage that was to be our home for the next week. The cottage was very well equipped, there was nothing cheap and begrudgingly placed as we have come across with previous holiday lets. Good quality kitchen equipment, lovely bedding and the small gestures of ensuring milk,coffee and tea with a homemade Welsh cake meant a great deal when arriving with four hungry teenagers! Fiona was an absolutely wonderful hostess with lots of helps hints and tips to help you plan your stay. THANK YOU FOR EVERYTHING!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The whole feel of the cotttage.
Liked least: Our week went too quickly
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Nichola D
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, high quality accommodation.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Beautiful cottage with high quality furnishings and facilities. Efficient service & lovely personal touches and advice. Fiona very knowledgable with lots of suggestions on what we could do to entertain the children - raining or not. Location is great, 5 mins from shops & not far from beaches & great tourist attractions. We loved quality of cottage and personal touches and will return.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Personal touches
Liked least: The rain! However we had ideas from Fiona on where to go.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Sarah L
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great stay with the family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We had a lovely holiday in Wales staying at Cwmshon Cottages. We were able to take advantage of the beaches down on Mumbles/Gower and the Brecon Beacons too. Some of us in the party enjoy cycling and whilst the hills were a bit challenging sometimes, the views were worth it! We had a very warm welcome from the owners of the cottage, who had even prepared a birthday cake for the birthday girl in our party! The cottage was comfortable and well appointed and ideally located to explore the area.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$151
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Fiona R
44 01792 865237
Speaks English, German
Listed since : Sep 2011
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 10 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing