We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Swansea Marina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swansea Marina

Swansea Marina
Tourist Information Centre | Plymouth Street, Swansea SA1 3QG, Wales
44-179-246-8321
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 51 Attractions in Swansea
Type: Marinas, Outdoors
Attraction details
Melksham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delightful Swansea Marina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

A recent one day visit reminded me of some lovely days sailing out of the Marina to Ilfracombe.
The marina now has some delightful cafes and restaurants. The Welsh folk around the Marina walks are friendly and helpful. Keep it up!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    77
    25
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Skala Kallonis, Greece
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
87 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Beautiful and picturesque”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Didn't have a lot of time in Swansea, I was staying in Cardiff with my 2 daughters for 3 days and decided to take a sidetrip to Caerphilly/Swansea together (I know that one is one way and the other another!) so just a quick stop to do some shopping, visit the Maritime museum and from there, as it's so close, take a stroll on the marina. I'm not sure if we saw all of the marina area, but you can also get good views on the 2nd floor balcony of the Maritime Museum. It was a foggy/muggy day, although it was the middle of summer, and I took some of my favourites pictures here on the marina area. Lovely boats moored here, small cafes, pubs located alongside the waterside, river boats doing cruises, people walking their dogs, jogging, benches to sit for a rest. Swansea museum is also located here, but as it was a Monday, it was closed. The bay area is about a 15-20min walk from the train station, and somewhere in the middle is the shopping area and the remains of Swansea castle, which is also very much worth seeing, if you're visiting Swansea.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Stroll & More”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is a cool place to walk around. It's very peaceful and there are a few restaurants, museums/galleries, and community theatre. There's also a handy corner store tucked away behind the tall building.

We stayed at the Marriott and had a great view of this place.

Note: It's unfortunate that some people reviewed this who think that the beach is the marina. Having said that, the beach and some beautiful condos/apartments are just steps away.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“More than just boats...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The area around Swansea marina has been developed extensively over the last few years, and now it is not just somewhere for a boat-owner to moor. There are restaurants, pubs, museums and shops and it is walkable from the city centre, so you don't have to make a separate trip there if you fancy visiting after a morning shopping, for example.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Our Marina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Have a lovely walk around around the marina, see all the boats big and small. The beach is a short walk from the marina. There are a number of restaurants, pubs and toilet facilities. Also a number of museums close. A short walk takes you into the City centre. Parking in Swansea can be expensive compared to other places I go. Friends that come down to stop with me from England always make a beeline here. There are also a number of hotels quite close.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swansea Marina also viewed

Swansea, Swansea County
 
Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 

Been to Swansea Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swansea Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.