We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pitton Cross Camp Site

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swansea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pitton Cross Camp Site
Save
You added Pitton Cross Camp Site to your Saves list
Rhossili, Swansea SA3 1PH, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Swansea
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with a group of friends and booked several months in advance so that we could all pitch together. Like previous reviewers this was very important to us so that the adults could get together while the children were sleeping. This was the main reason we booked this site. One of our party even had a phone call from the site to check there were no more people booking so they could pitch us all together. Of course we weren't all together despite there being plenty of space where we could have been placed. It felt that everything was done to prevent us having a good weekend. One member of staff spent all his time driving round on his quad bike checking we were sticking to the rules. As a group of responsible and mature adults we felt this was intrusive and unnecessary. Our group paid around £450 for 2 nights and wouldn't have minded if the welcome was warmer but if you don't like groups then don't accept their bookings.
Facilities weren't bad and the pitch sizes were generous but we won't be back simply because we were made to feel so unwelcome.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dave234gower, Manager at Pitton Cross Camp Site, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Pitton Cross Caravan Park -
As with the previous reviewer we tried to get the group of 11 together but due to the park layout and different pitch types requested it was not possible
The lady mentions a phone call. ” One of our parties even had a phone call from the site to check there were no more people booking so they could pitch us all together.” on the Friday night when they arrived and I took them to their pitch by torch light The lady Told me the phone call had said we would try to get them together
“despite there being plenty of space where we could have been placed” The space that could be seen were grass pitches for tents and we could not of put the motor home or camper vans in the group on the grass due to the weather . On the Saturday morning a hard standing pitch came free and the group leader a Mr P asked if they could move to this spot I said once they had packed let me know and it would be fine. So we got all but one of the group in one field together and the other member a maximum of the 50 meters for the rest of the group
“One member of staff spent all his time driving round on his quad bike checking we were sticking to the rules”
The reason for the member of staff driving round on a bike was not checking up on people but to take new guest to their pitch which is done with all new arrivals.
Taken from conformation sent to each group member -
Although, we try to meet requests for specific pitches, or to be with friends on adjoining pitches, these cannot be guaranteed and all bookings are taken on these terms.
Pitton Cross Caravan Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    22
    5
    4
    5
See reviews for
20
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Decided to book the night before but this was no problem. We arrived and were greeted by very nice n polite owners/staff. Great little spot for camping with convenient shop and facilities and a short drive away from the beaches. We booked for 2 nights but decided to stay for a third. No complaints from us and our 2 dogs Fidget & Mau5. We will return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from 8 days @ Pitton Cross and wasn't disappointed. Massive pitches plenty of free warm water, the extremely friendly and helpful the staff could do no more for the guests. Being 1.5 miles fm the nearest Pub, my wife always had to drive, sad really, but we knew that from this site so overall very good.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Lovely campsite, and no real complaints about the facilities.

But the owners have definitely had training by the British Rail customer services team! 6 of us booked with three tents. Two of our party had to go home due to illness and they did not agree to a refund (even a part refund) for the two who had to leave. You pay extra for an additional car too. Yes, they are within their rights to charge (we agree to these conditions on booking), but £58 per night for 6 people is simply greedy. There are other campsites in the area which have a charging regime which is more fair.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

yes lovely site staff very polite and helpful, but sorry to say but a serious lack of men's toilets not good atoll also be prepared for a long and hard walk to beach, but there is a good bus service which stoppers outside site which takes you to Rhossili

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We enjoyed 10 days on this site 8 of which were beautiful and sunny. There is not a lot else nearby to the site so depending on what you like to do it may not be for you. When we visited the standard of the mens showers and toilets was not good and they often needed cleaning but the ladies and everything else was fine. Pleasant atmosphere on site with no rowdiness.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Lovely campsite in a lovely location, although not as much of a sea view as some other campsites due to its location. If you want a sea view ask for a pitch in E location. Great clean facilities. Really helpful, friendly staff. Well stocked shop where we bought fantastic wind socks, pole and sleeve to decorate our pitch. Pitches are huge, some with electric and all close to water stations. Great walks all around to some stunning beaches. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pitton Cross Camp Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitton Cross Camp Site

Address: Rhossili, Swansea SA3 1PH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pitton Cross Caravan and Camping is a family run touring park, Open all year on the Gower Peninsula in South Wales, which is approximately 16 miles from Swansea and being the only caravan and camping park near Rhossili and the Worms Head. Catering for touring caravans, tents and motor homes All pitches are on level ground, which are well spaced around the field edges. We have a 'dog free' area and several hard standing for motor homes ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pitton Cross Camp Site Hotel Swansea
Pitton Cross Camp Site Swansea, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pitton Cross Camp Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.