We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step back into the 1940s” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1940s Swansea Bay

1940s Swansea Bay
Baldwin's Crescent | Crymlyn Burrows, Swansea SA1 8PT, Wales
+44 1792 458864
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 131 things to do in Swansea
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: **Sorry we are only open during APRIL 15 by Appointment due to the large number of schools and other groups visiting us. This includes weekends up to the 26th April** The new access road as part of the Coed D'Arcy urban village has been completed. A big thank you to all our visitors for their patience in putting up with the building works, dust and disruption. Work will soon start on our new visitor centre, shop and reception but we will be open for business as normal every day. Please check our website or answer machine before travelling just in case we very rarely have to close early. Visitors are encouraged to pick up and handle items and take photographs. The museum is constantly evolving and in response to visitor demand we built a small walk through indoor trench and dugout to commemorate the sacrifices of the Great War 1914-18. The main indoor street scene continues to display life during the Second World War, as you walk past an RAF Operations Room, through an air raid Shelter and into our 1940s street. Play the piano in the Three Lamps Pub then have a Camp coffee or Spam sandwich in our gift shop, where we sell replica Ration books, identity cards and wartime recipe books. Just 2 minutes from Jnc 42 of the M4 we are open all year but please note that on some Winter weekends we may close to work on new displays and exhibitions as we have school groups visiting every weekday. Disabled facilities. Onsite parking. Admission charge applies.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Step back into the 1940s”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Wow - what a treasure. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit. There is plenty to see and we particularly enjoyed the rooms all laid out as typical 1940s examples. It was amazing how close you could get to the artefacts. The information signs are informative and you really get an amazing flavour of life in the 1940s. The WW1 trench exhibition is well underway.

Thoroughly enjoyed chatting to the owner and how the project came about. This is definitely not just for children and if you're interested in history it's well worth a visit.

I myself am a history fan and am particularly interested in the 1940s and learnt a lot from this visit. Slightly off the beaten track but well worth a visit! Thank you - we'll be back!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    12
    5
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“alittle disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We visited here, yes it was ok but I think so of the reviews led me to believe it was a lot bigger than it was. I can imagine the children enjoying it, but cannot see how you could spend more than an hour. So I don't think it was good value for money, also we had a voucher so we only paid half the price, mind you the gentleman on the cash till moaned about them before he accepted it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, Owner at 1940s Swansea Bay, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Like many places we offer specific discount vouchers as part of our marketing (which we pay for) . These clearly state 'ONE VOUCHER PER VISIT'. It not in the spirit of the scheme to allow two vouchers towards one payment, but after your continued loud insistance we did allow this on this one-off occasion.
This family-run museum's only funding is through admissions and shop revenue. Our 3,000+ square feet of floor space offer most people at least an hour's visit and many people say this is very good value. We've kept our prices down for the last 3 years and it is unfortunate that some people choose to abuse a discount scheme when it is offered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unique experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We absolutely loved this place. It was unique. There were no ropes delineating boundaries, preventing you from truly experiencing the 1940s. But without them, you simply respected the exhibits and it meant you could feel part of it. My 2 young boys 4 and 6 loved dressing up in the original costumes and were able to walk around the streets in full regalia. The staff were clearly passionate about what they had to share and from what we learnt there are more displays coming. Please go and visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Visited with my husband and 14 year old son and thoroughly enjoyed it. Very informative with friendly staff who gave a guided tour at the beginning. Loved the mock up street and the short video presentation which gave us lots of information. Will definitely visit again once the ww1 trench exhibit is ready. Fab few hours lost in the 1940's! Well done to the owners.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We visited 1940's Swansea Bay recently and were pleasantly surprised.

We had a lovely welcome and were shown briefly around the start of the exhibition.

There's lots of local information which we found interesting and lots of items most of which you can pick up, study or try on. Great for children as lots of museums don't offer this.

My son has school homework on WW2 so we picked up lots of information.

Would recommend a visit and would particularly point out the helpfulness of the staff.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, Owner at 1940s Swansea Bay, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
With limited staff we're not always able to help as much as we'd like to when people come in doing research or looking for help on schoolwork. Hopefully soon we'll be able to offer even more of a service with factsheets about Rationing, Evacuees and so on. I'm glad that you were able to get useful bits for your son's project, please do visit again if you can as people always see different things the second time. Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1940s Swansea Bay also viewed

Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 

Been to 1940s Swansea Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1940s Swansea Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.