We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Windsor Lodge Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Windsor Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Windsor Lodge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Mount Pleasant, Swansea SA1 6EG, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 46 Swansea B&B and Inns
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Windsor Lodge Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from this hotel. Although it is being renovated,there was nothing to annoy the guests. We really enjoyed our stay and the staff were very friendly and helpful. When we first arrived I noticed that the bathroom was very dark. The lights were immediately replaced,making a big difference. Lots of lovely hot water and plenty of toilet rolls! The breakfasts are very good. If you are someone who likes beautiful decorations and perfection,this is not the place for you. The service and staff more than make up for the fact that it needs decorating,and this is being addressed.We would be happy to stay there again. It is well placed for the station and the shops.

Room Tip: We were in room 8 which was on the first floor.There is no lift and there are several staircases to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    38
    18
    14
    5
See reviews for
22
26
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maryport, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

After a very long journey from Cumbria we were ready to rest and chill out when we arrived our receptionist I think he was called luke was friendly and welcoming to us after we explained we had a really long journey and there wasn't any room on the car park Luke offered to move his car and let us park there which we thought was absolutely lovely off him then we were shown to our room number 4 we walk and what we saw was lovely king size bed and a double bed this was the family room the en-suit was lovely and new breakfast was brilliant full English and continental as well served with friendly and smiling faces we are going back down again in September and we are definitely staying there

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Booked this place quite late for a friend's birthday and all the pictures made it look OK (one of them was of our room, which looked a damn sight better in the pictures!). We arrived quite late and were told that the price was dictated by demand and there was an event on that weekend so we were paying top price...cheers for that. We were in room 20, up 3 flights of stairs as there's no lift. The room looked clean but is falling apart with damp patches etc and the bed is squeezed under a slanted roof so I kept hitting my head!! The shower is actually IN THE ROOM along with the wash basin...luckily the toilet was in a tiny cupboard made from chip board! There was hair in the shower soap dish, the toilet plumbing was bonkers and the room smells badly of damp or stagnant water...just what you need for a good nights kip! Not even Lenny Henry could get his head down in here!

Now I could accept a below par room at the right price but not for £135! It felt more like a bedsit than a hotel but It's really a glorified B&B to be honest and in need of major work and much more realistic pricing.


If the owner wants to reply that the damage was caused by storms, may I remind you that you wrote that in your response several months so it should've been fixed by now and you need to deal with that smell before it becomes a health hazard.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK and Worldwide
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
138 hotel reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I noticed this hotel gets mixed reviews, but I chose it because it was handy for the railway station, and I would be arriving late. Although the front of the building was sealed off while work was being done, you wouldn't realise anything was happening inside the building. The woman on reception was cheerful and told me everything I needed to know about staying in the hotel. My room was easily reached above the reception desk, and for a single, it was quite spacious. In fact, getting from the bedroom to the en-suite was like walking along a corridor, with wardrobe space halfway between the two. The decor was a bit jaded, and I felt that the plug sockets were overloaded, but apart from that everything was fine. One point I would make about the shower is the narrowness of entry, through a brick wall. Fat folk might struggle to get in and out! Breakfast was splendid, and was notable for being served with cheerful smiles. On checking out, I was ready to hand over cash, only to find that payment had been made with my credit card. A minor point... but when I made the booking it did say that the card details were only used to guarantee the booking... and that I would have all options available for settling the bill. Couldn't complain about the price, given the quality of the place and the fact that it was right in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We booked a 3 night stay and arrived to a wonderfully warm welcome from Luke, who remained charming and helpful during our stay, as did all the staff we met. The hotel is undergoing a lot of renovation and refurbishment, a difficult job given that it is a Grade 2 listed building. However, it has a warm, friendly atmosphere and the work being done is restoring it to the lovely old building that it was. Beds were comfy, and the breakfast was excellent. Look beyond the work being done and just enjoy being cosseted! Bar prices very reasonable. Parking at the hotel. Near the centre of town, which is a straight walk down. We would book there again without thinking of anywhere else were we to go to Swansea again. Difficult to rate rooms and cleanliness as we were both in rooms waiting to be refurbished. However, we did see one of the new rooms and it was very good and spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

This hotel is situated in the central area of Swansea and is good location for business users. The front of the hotel has scaffolding erected and entrance has to be via the rear entrance near the car park. Generally all was clean and comfortable but due to renovation there was no evening meal options. Staff very helpful and eager to please.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 2 which was on the small side but was comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We booked 4 night break to celebrate our Golden Wedding. We were unaware that the hotel is going through major refurbishment and there would be no bar to sit in or evening meals available.
The alterations in two of the bedrooms did not affect us at all.
The lounge was extremely comfortable with a lovely television and the bar service was available here.
We were offered full English breakfast as well as Continental. This was not included on the booking. This was a great bonus.
The bedroom although small was spotless, warm and comfortable
The Staff at the hotel were excellent, so friendly and helpful in many ways.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windsor Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Lodge Hotel

Address: Mount Pleasant, Swansea SA1 6EG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the privately owned Windsor Lodge Hotel we offer a warm friendly welcome to all guests staying at our grade 11 listed Georgian town house. The Windsor Lodge Hotel is situated in a quiet location that is near Swansea City Centre with easy access to the beaches and the M4 motorway. The service is efficient and all staff ensure that the comfort of guests is their top priority. There is a non-smoking policy throughout the hotel. Windsor Lodge Hotel offers good-sized rooms with free wireless and broadband, each room is en-suite and has tea & coffee as well as a TV. We have single, double and family rooms available. There is a licensed lounge bar in the hotel for guests to relax in. Full breakfast is served in the dining room at the Windsor Lodge Hotel, and light snacks are available throughout the day. We offer a simple menu of home cooked food which guests can enjoy in a relaxed atmosphere. The Windsor Lodge Hotel is just a short 2 minute walk from Swansea city centre where there can be found a wide variety of restaurants, fast food outlets and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Windsor Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Lodge Hotel Swansea, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.