We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel with lovely staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Dragon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Dragon Hotel to your Saves list
The Dragon Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Kingsway, Swansea SA1 5LS, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Swansea
Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A good hotel with lovely staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night with a large group of colleagues. The hotel itself seemed to be of a good standard, however, upon check in we were given a room which was already occupied. Not a problem I thought, but then the alternative room was given with a double bed, ok for some but not for us as we were two ladies. We were told the hotel was full and the suggestion was we had a quilt to separate us for sleeping. The receptionist was not sure what could be done so I suggested I swap with another room that had two beds in it and only one person. Problem solved. The hotel was at times noisy because there were lots of young groups staying. Our room, on the 7th floor was clean and spacious.
We had a private function room for dinner and I have never seen so many staff to serve us. The service was good and the food lovely but unfortunately coffee was not served to some people. Breakfast was made more enjoyable by the attentive and welcoming staff which are a credit to the hotel, so with that in mind I would like to mention Justin who was superb with the meal service and Kelly at reception who always had a smile for us. Oh and the night reception team who organised the coffee for us at 2 in the morning.
I would recommend this hotel for its location. Didn't use the spa so not able to comment.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dragon_Hotel, General Manager at The Dragon Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your constructive feedback allowing us the opportunity to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    174
    115
    37
    19
See reviews for
68
149
19
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Holt, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

The hotel claims to be Swansea's premier hotel. The place is a ok, a standard hotel with some nice parts but the surroundings are a little jaded. The room was standard hotel fare although the TV didn't work, luckily the free wifi allowed us to watch Sky Go so that didn't really matter.

We had a room on the top floor at the back which meant that it was relatively quiet, with some others staying saying their rooms at the front had a fair bit of noise.

The food in the bistro was good although a bit over the top on sauces but that's a matter of taste rather than anything else, but with a large party in, service was a bit slow. Breakfast on the other hand was pretty good being freshly cooked rather than the usual buffet that can become a bit dried out.

If you are to stay, then go in with eyes open. The hotel is in the city centre and is therefore potentially noisy. Generally service is ok. It is, as the rating says, average in my view.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Ideal location near town centre and good parking.

However, a little disappointed with a couple of minor but important aspects. Twice I went for a shower on two separate days and both times there was no hot water? To make matters worth they also had no conditioner? We rung reception about this and they advised they no longer supply conditioner. No conditioner but they supplied moisturiser, bit odd?

Room was ok and good selection of tv channels.

A lot of dust on the main table... Should have been cleaned better.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dragon_Hotel, General Manager at The Dragon Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, it is much appreciated as we strive to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rothwell, northants
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

After staying here previously we made the concious decision to book again despite other hotels offering possible better value. Our expectations were quickly dashed when we walked into our allocated " superior double " Room 204. There was an immediate damp musty smell apparent and a room that looked and smelt " well used " - the window gave us a wonderful view of a steel extractor ducting that obstructed any natural light entering the room. My wife and I immediately made the decision that this was not up to the standard expected or previously experienced.

On returning to reception we were then offered an alternative room on the 7th floor which was much more like we had previuosly experienced and enjoyed. Be extremely wary of being allocated lower floor rooms as they were clearly not up to the same standard as some of the others at higher level.
Breakfast was offered at the discounted rate of £ 14.00 each if pre-booked ( otherwise £ 17.00)
Still a bit pricey bering in mind there are numerous alternative options within five minutes of the front door.
Although evrything turned out ok in the end - I will certainly look more into alternative accomadation on our next visit to Swansea

Room Tip: Lower floor rooms not good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dragon_Hotel, General Manager at The Dragon Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we hope that you'll be pleased to know that as a result of your comments we have implemented a full review of the second floor accommodation to ensure that our high standards are uniform throughout the hotel so that we may prevent future disappointment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights during a golf break. Staff very friendly, check in efficient, rooms clean and reasonable standard (shower not too great). Bar was ok for a quick drink, free wifi, nice and close to city night life. Breakfast good, didn't use the brasserie, spa & swimming pool was good and quiet. Concerns, lifts were useless, too small and too slow, ask for a low floor room if use don't like using the stairs.......parking is also very limited, but there is an multi storey next door. On the whole not bad for the price we paid (£100.00 per room per night B&B)

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We were recommended this hotel as it was rated as 4 star, I hate complaining but feel people need to know the experience we had. We stayed at the hotel on Friday 20th September 2013.

Check in

As we approached the desk the receptionist just asked for our names,no welcome was had,our check in forms were put on the desk and told to fill these in,no advice on what we needed to fill in but to just to do it was the feeling ( at this point my friend said to the receptionist I've never know anyone not to speak around here to which the receptionist did not reply and went to do something else) when it came to taking a pre payment the PDQ machine was put on the desk and we were told to insert our cards, which we did, no explanation given on the amount that was going to be taken or held - we were given our key cards and left to find the lifts and to look at the key cards for our room number. In a 4 star hotel you would expect a please, thank you and this is the floor you are on and the lifts are over there - general information but no none of this happened -this was just rude.

Rooms

We were on the second floor and in Room 205, we just drop our bags off and went out for dinner as we were in a rush, on returning to the room we used the bathroom and found hairs over the floor and in the bathroom, there was extensive mould on the tiles which was black and red and generally looked disgusting this was at 2am in the morning, the room was still the same as the previous hotel brand with little differences to reflect the new brand. This room has no view you are just looking at air condition systems and cladding (make sure you don't stay in this room), we left the windows opened and all we had was the clicking and noise of the air con system hence no sleep.

Concern

One of the party checked their bank account just before we left to go out for dinner and noticed the hotel had taken £100.00 out of the account, it was not held but taken, again we approached the reception and queried this to be told it normal practice to do this and we asked for copies of the payment receipt to which again the receptionist was rude and arrogant, the receptionist rip them off our checking in forms and highlighted in highlighter pen where it said pre authorisation (very childish behaviour) when we queried this more the receptionist just ignored us and you could tell she could not be bothered and just wanted us to leave the reception area. The room was £75.00 and not £100.00 but the receptionist could not be clear say why £100.00 was taken, remembering the reimbursement of the £25.00 would take days to credit the account as it was the weekend.

Check out

We approached the desk to check out and raised a number of concerns around the room 205 and was abruptly asked if we had left the list for housekeeping to deal with this, the attitude again was of a poor nature, we asked if we could speak to the duty manager only to be told there was no manager till 1pm and this was 10.30 am, we feel this was ploy not for us to complain or speak to someone in authority, we all work in the same industry and new there had to be a manager on site and we challenging this to which we were told they would get someone - while this was going on another couple we querying why they had not been informed the money was being taken straight out of their bank accounts either and it was over the room rate amount again the abrupt receptionist dismissed everything the guest was saying.

We were approached by the House keeping Manager who listened to our concerns and took on board what we were saying, we were given £25 discount on each room and offered breakfast to which we declined, we were then offered a upgrade or dinner on our next stay, to be honest we will not being staying in this hotel again, there are far better hotels in the area like The Village and The Marriot who's customer service and reception staff are friendly, professional and helpful.

Overall a very poor hotel and service, a lot of training is needed to bring the staff on reception up the standard required for a four star rated hotel, information should be given to guests before the hotel take card pre payments so all is clear, please don't don't stay in room 205 this should be taken out of use, The house keeping manager did her best to deal with us but to be honest there was nothing she could do to satisfy us on check out, a lovely lady pity the reception staff was not managed by her as I feel they could learn a lot from her.

We are in the process of writing a formal complaint to the hotel manager and Macdonalds group and will keep you posted on the response.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dragon_Hotel, General Manager at The Dragon Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we take all feedback seriously and sincerely regret that your experience was not acceptable. Clearly we were not performing to our usual standards over the weekend and for that I do apologise. I have reviewed your feedback in detail with our Reception Manager and I appreciate the oppotunity for improvement you have provided by bringing your experience to my attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Excellent rooms and staff, really well placed for going out on the town. It has a nice bar on the first floor that's open late if you still need a drink after a night on the town (hardly likely) I was there on a Wednesday and the centre was buzzing and all the bars had cheap drink offers. Definitely worth going out experiencing how the students have a good night. if you like a quitter life the hotel bisro is pleasant and serves good food. I booked room early and did not have breakfast as they charge £14 if you do not book it before midnight, so I declined and went to a café across from the station that was ok and £4

Room Tip: I stopped there with two other colleagues and they all said their rooms were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dragon_Hotel, General Manager at The Dragon Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for sharing your views, we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dragon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dragon Hotel

Address: The Kingsway, Swansea SA1 5LS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Swansea
#6 Business Hotel in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dragon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dragon Hotel is Swansea’s premier 4-star, hotel located in the heart of the city centre. Over £3.5 million has been spent on this top Swansea hotel to offer guests excellent hotel accommodation, superb leisure facilities and free on-site parking (subject to availability) in the heart of Swansea City. Indeed, The Dragon Hotel was recognised as The Best Hotel in Swansea by the city’s Swansea Life Awards 2010.The 106 en-suite bedrooms at The Dragon Hotel have been refurbished to a high standard and are fully air-conditioned. All rooms feature WiFi high-speed internet access and flat screen digital TVs. The Dragon Hotel is a Swansea landmark, centrally located and within walking distance of the city’s key amenities, attractions, shops, theatre, restaurants, marina and vibrant night-life.The hotel leisure club features an 18-metre indoor swimming pool, male and female saunas, a state-of-the-art gymnasium with plasma screen TVs and a beauty treatment room. Holistic therapy and Sports Massage Therapy are also available.Our Brasserie is an excellent place to dine in Swansea city centre and we are the proud recipients of an AA Rosette in recognition of the delicious modern European-style cuisine served in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Dragon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dragon Hotel Swansea
The Dragon Hotel Swansea, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dragon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.