We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swansea Marriott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Swansea Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Swansea Marriott Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Maritime Quarter, Swansea SA1 3SS, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Swansea
Houston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“On the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel is located on the beach, at the start of a long trail of several miles: after a long day at work, it it nice to jog or just walk along the beach and destress from the day.
The hotel is a little bit old and food is alright - few refusrbishments could make this hotel even better.

Room Tip: ask a room on the marina side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    225
    78
    26
    11
See reviews for
84
179
24
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
south Wales
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This hotel is very well located for Swansea bay and city centre. Adjacent to the coastal path and a marina this is a great walking area with a superb beach, if that is your thing.There is ample free parking, with CCTV coverage.
The staff are exceptionally helpful and friendly.
Rooms and public areas are of typically high standard, my only complaint is the high cost of wifi
access.
A number of international under 19s female football teams were staying at the hotel; we anticipated that this might place a strain on facilities or disturb our sleep. In fact overnight was very quiet and service was not affected.
Overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Doesn't strike you as amazing, but is very good honest down to earth accommodation.
The hotel however, is in an amazing location, just 2 minutes walk to the Marina.
Staff were very friendly and we had a snack in the bar which was of a high standard.
Breakfast was very good and I was impressed by the variety of food available including vegetarian sausages.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

This was a bank holiday break and my birthday break.i explained this when booking and to my surprise we were upgraded. But to tell you the truth thats not what this review is about, as per my previous reviews its about the staff.
Amazing courteous efficient are a few choice words I could use but they would not be enough , any question asked was responded to not only professional but with a real understanding of the location and further afield.
Accommodation was well up to marriott standards but the front of house, house keeping and breakfast chiefs were excellent.
Thank you we will be coming back.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Recently stayed here with a group of nine friends, for a birthday, I had sent a message to the hotel (Micheal I believe was responsible) prior to arrival asking for a special present to be waiting on check in and the hotel was more than happy to oblige.

The birthday boy had a certain challenge to undertake and more than one member of staff joined in the fun of encouraging him along the way.

The twin rooms were really massive, which was great as not all of us were in couples and normally a twin room has 2 smaller beds but they were both doubles which was nice. The hotel is directly on the beach front and a free car park is available right on the door step.

The breakfast was good, and included in the price which was nice, and apparentely the waffles are worth a try??

Even after checkout we were still able to leave our cars all day at no extra cost so that we could enjoy the beach before heading home. Also there is a swimming pool, jacuzzi etc which was also recommended by some of the members of our group.

Overall, the best part of the hotel was the staff, they were all friendly and welcoming, and willing to join in the fun and antics which is really great to see! Thanks to them for helping out!

Room Tip: Get a twin room as they are massive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was very good, big, modern, the room was clean, reasonable size, the bathroom was clean and modern. There was air-co. The week we were there it was extremelly hot and the air-co helped a lot. Room was comfortable, fresh, clean, furniture in very good condition, well decorated. Everything working just fine.
The restaurant is excellent, the ceaser salade was great and the steak amazinly delicious.
The staff is very nice, polite, helpful, simpathetic.....

The location is great, in front of the beach , close to the harbor and downtown, 10 min walking.


Loved my stay!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in July to visit south Wales. The hotel is excellent in all aspects such as clean rooms and lovely restaurant. The best part of this establishment is its staff members who were all exceptionally outstanding.
The hotels location is on the waterfront and some shops and restaurants are only a few minutes walk away from the hotel. There is a free car park for the hotel guests. There was no function taking place when we stayed and was very quiet.
If we visit Swansea again we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swansea Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swansea Marriott Hotel

Address: Maritime Quarter, Swansea SA1 3SS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Swansea
#4 Business Hotel in Swansea
#4 Family Hotel in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swansea Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Swansea Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Swansea
Swansea Marriott Hotel Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swansea Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.