We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent Sunday lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairy Hill

Fairy Hill
Reynoldston | Gower, Swansea SA3 1BS, Wales
01792 390139
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 484 Restaurants in Swansea
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $24 - $71
Cuisines: British, Contemporary, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Fairyhill is a contemporary, country restaurant with rooms set in 24 acres of the beautiful Gower peninsular. Fine dining without pretention. Relaxed atmosphere, separate bar and lounge.Award winning wine list. Loads of local produce.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“excellent Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I took my mother and daughter here for Sunday lunch enjoying a scenic drive through the Gower to get there.Our greeting was very pleasant and we opted to have drinks in the lounge first.We sat by the fire and it was very comfortable and cosy.With our prosecco we were served delicious deep fried cockles,laverbread quiche and salmon parfait canapes.All excellent.Our choices for lunch were all very tasty with generous portions.I would particularly recommend the roast beef and the duck.Lots of fresh vegetables and very good roast potatoes.We drank an argintinian sauvignon blanc,Urban which was very good.I enjoyed mandarin cheesecake with grapefruit sorbet.I also tried my daughter's sticky toffee pudding,lovely.Coffee in the lounge rounded off our meal but I could have happily stayed there all afternoon,it was so comfy!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    26
    15
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Had a meal there recently with my family. Brilliant location and gardens. The food was fabulous. No need to rush either so plenty of time for pre and post dinner drinks. Great atmosphere.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Relaxed and friendly environment ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Booked Sunday lunch with friends, we were greeted at the door with a friendly face and very warm welcome. It was busy in the restaurant and with limited parking spaces we ended up in the staff car park, which isn't an issue but can be difficult in heals over the cobbles.

We had a drink in the bar before going to our table. the Appetisers were outstanding - laverbread quiche is a must.

All our meals were lovely, we had the lamb and beef. the lamb was a little bit fatty fir my liking but cant be helped. our table had lovely views of the garden area ( just a putty it wasn't dry otherwise we would if loved to have had a drink outside)

If you like your cheese, you'll love the cheese board desert

Would recommend and return again


Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Went here at the start of October with my family to celebrate my 60th Birthday.

We had an excellent meal and a very enjoyable evening.

It is expensive to eat out here with two courses costing £35.00 and £45.00 for three,with wine and drinks it soon adds up.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A bit of a disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Food was fine...service on the day we called in was sloppy and unexceptional for a venue of this standard. Staff seemed unsure about what they were doing or when to do it...they muddled through but that was about it. A pity. Will we be rushing back on the strength of what we experienced...probably not!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fairy Hill also viewed

Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 
Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 

Been to Fairy Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairy Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.