We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best b&b in swansea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Devon View Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Devon View Guest House to your Saves list
Devon View Guest House
394 - 396 Oystermouth Road, Swansea SA1 3UL, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 46 Swansea B&B and Inns
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“the best b&b in swansea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012 via mobile

this is a good place to stay right on the beach.the hospitality is second to non and the breakfast os the best in wales

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    26
    7
    6
    7
See reviews for
21
28
23
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

I have stayed at the Devon View Guest House as a lone traveller, on several occasions when visiting Swansea for work, It is a fantastic family run little guest house and excellent value for money. I have stayed in several of their guest bedrooms, and they have always been clean and tidy. Great location on Oystermouth Road, so literally across the road from the beach and the sea view bedrooms have a wonderful view across the coast to nearby Mumbles, Devon View is also conveniently near to the nearby marina, city centre and Swansea University. There is a regular bus service that stops just outside. The owners, Tony and Alison, are friendly and hospitable. I would definitely recommend staying here while visiting Swansea!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Regardless of past comments and frankly "it does'nt get better"...!!! (even though it was superb in the first place...!)I have stayed at many so called hotels in my time that fall well short of this place to stays standards and GREAT VALUE for money...

I had the pleasure of staying here for 1 week and In all honesty I cannot fault anything whatsoever, its warm & welcoming hospitality, whether its cleaning or cooking SUPERB hospitality...! 5 Stars all the way

Having found this wonderful B&B and now planning a return wouldnt hesitate on recommending this B&B.

It's located along the sea front a short 15 walk into Swansea town centre I would NOT dream of going elsewhere !

A TRUELY WELCOMING PLACE TO STAY, "LOVELY PROPRIETORS" ***** THANK YOU

Room Tip: Rooms To The Rear Quiter, Although No Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

We had a lovely stay at the Devon View Guest House when we were in Swansea. We received a warm welcome from an attentive and hospitable host, willing to accommodate all of our needs, including personalised breakfast; it be oat porridge or English/Welsh breakfast. He was also the perfect guide and very friendly.

The rooms were absolutely lovely, and CLEAN! Even underneath the bed!

I would absolutely recommend staying at Devon View. It is close to the universities and right by the sea with a gorgeous view!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I spent 1 night travelling alone at the Devon View.I went down to Swansea
to watch my team play football down there.
The Devon View is a proper old school bed and breakfast.
Smack bang on the sea front! In a street full of B&B`s.
I booked a single room which i found very reasonable in price,it was exactly
what i wanted.Room wasn't the biggest but that was exactly what i expected.
Had a full breakfast included in the price as well,so happy days!!
The lady waiting on the tables was helpful and very friendly (i think she was the land lady).
Now for afew minus points- Hell of alot of steep stairs.
Walls very very thin, could hear room next door talking very clearly.
The toilet/bath room is shared so you have to travel out room and along landing to visit
it.No bar available! But to be fair i knew most of the above before i booked so
still happy with my overall experience.
Walking distance to the main bar/club street (wind street) but plenty of cabs about also.
You wont be disappointed with a visit there on a saturday night if your of partying age.
If Swansea manage stay in premiership i`l definitely be stopping there again next season.

Room Tip: I was in the highest up room avialable in the hotel,number 18. Loads of stairs but looking right ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Unfortunately I only got to spend one night in this lovely guest house at the seafront in Swansea. Swansea is such a lovely place to visit, and Devon View has a great location whether you are in town to visit the university - or spending time in the city centre. The room is clean, tidy, spacious and has everything you need! The atmosphere and the rooms are nice and warm, the host is extremely helpful and nice - and the service is fantastic! Will be back!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We received a warm welcome after a 4 hours of driving to find our Double Room with seaview (king bed) was tired, grotty, pokey and with an awful smell emitting from the bathroom. The traffic noise was deafening and continued all night with an extremely busy main road situated right outside the window. No car parking, had to park on the busy road and move car by 8am which was very inconvenient.

At £80 per night I feel it was completely over priced even with breakfast included, which was extremely good, although the juice was served at the table, very much regulated.

I chose Devonview as it was close to the Wales National Pool where I was working and was convenient for this fact but would not repeat a my stay.

Room Tip: don't bother paying extra for the king size double room with seaview, opt for room as far away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josephcarrfrost, Owner at Devon View Guest House, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Thank you for spending the time to do a review. unfortunately, other than the issue of the odour from the bathroom, you did not say anything at all about any of the apparently numerous issues you had with us. Regrettably there was indeed an issue with the waste pipes on one of the evenings of your stay and we are currently having all the pipework replaced in that area. We hope this will please you as we have listened and are indeed acting on your advice to do something about it. there will not be any such problem from now on in. With reference to your comment about the room being 'tired, grotty and pokey', we can only assume your expectations were not met and you have chosen to maximise the justification for your unhappiness by using such sweeping and derogative comments about the room you booked which is clearly depicted on the internet and in which the bed is a classical wrought iron design and is brand new.
As you come from a very quiet area and as a consequence you would find any traffic noise difficult, we must say the noise is not even remotely as 'deafening' as you claim. we do however accept that it was apparently too much for you to cope with and for this we are extremly sorry.
Of the thousands of visitors we and other guest houses and hotels on the sea front have every year, it seems you have had somewhat more difficulty with parking than those. It is indeed inconvenient to have to move your vehicle every morning at 8am. The best solution to this would have been to park in the large carpark where the majority of our guests park or at the side of us where there are no such restrictions.
We thank you for the few kind words in your review regarding breakfast, although the comment regarding fruit juice seems somewhat petty as we aim to serve breakfast.
Apparently your choice of location was ideal for your use of the national pool but still your award was only 1 out of 5 for the location.
regrettably this does give us an overall picture and much as we wished otherwise, we do not feel we would ever be able to meet your expectations and hope you find some accomodation that could.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Devon View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devon View Guest House

Address: 394 - 396 Oystermouth Road, Swansea SA1 3UL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Star overlooking the whole of Swansea Bay and set back just a stones throw from the 7 mile sandy beach. Views to the magnificent Gower and the famous Mumbles. Just a short walk to the town centre with its famous indoor market and surrounded by fine restaurants of almost every nationality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Devon View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devon View Guest House Swansea, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Devon View Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.