We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay even though member of staff tried to make it horrible” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Valance Bar and Rooms

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cafe Valance Bar and Rooms to your Saves list
Cafe Valance Bar and Rooms
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   50 Newton Road | Mumbles, Swansea SA3 4BQ, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 47 Swansea B&B and Inns
scunthorpe
1 review
“Loved our stay even though member of staff tried to make it horrible”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Lovely atmosphere, food, company and generally lovely staff. Loved the decor, and most of the staff were friendly and provided an excellent service.

One member of staff, I think his name was Andy, was rude, grumpy and generally very unhelpful. At £4 a pint of peroni you'd expect a smile when receiving your drink, alas a frown only came when served by this Andy. He even was too lazy to serve my peroni in the correct glass. I was forced to drink it out of a cider strongbow glass! Which made my £4 beer into a glass of beer flavored squash.

Apart from this one member of staff trying to ruin my stay I must say that it was a beautiful location and very enjoyable.

Would recommend anyone to stay here and visit the Gower peninsula as long as you steer clear of this one member of staff!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    13
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
6
42
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

This is a great little find. We were made to feel welcome right from when we checked-in.

The owners are very welcoming and helpful, and the standard of the rooms and ensuites are superb. The whole place shines and the bed is one comfiest I have ever slept in! There were Molton Brown toiletries in the en-suite bathroom, and the wet room was well designed.

The bar downstairs has a great atmosphere and the food is of a good quality.

A great place to stay in the mumbles for a romantic getaway or if on business. The free WIFI was a real bonus!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

Cafe Valance boasts luxurious rooms with wonderful breakfasts and friendly service. Our room overlooked Oystermouth Castle and views of the sea. Wonderful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

We were really impressed with this hotel, it was really friendly, the decor and attention to detail was the quality of a hotel twice the price. The owners must have spent a great deal of money and time to create the rooms and its all been done with no comprimise.

Staff made you feel like you were a guest rather than many hotels where your just another booking and the fact the hotel was just above the equally as inviting bar it was all the better for it.

Couldn't recommend this hotel any more, great value for money in a great location.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel on 3 seperate occasions when working in swansea. I would never stay anywhere else. The rooms are spotless and extremely comfy and the service provided by the staff is fantastic. I advise anybody who is travelling to swansea on business to stay at this hotel as it is perfect location perfect service and a good night s sleep.

Regard s

Paul

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

The modern decor of the bedroom and on-suite bathroom is to a high standard and would appear to have been recently re-furbished. Although slightly small the bedroom was spotlessly clean, the king size bed extremely comfortable, large flat screen television and coffee/tea facilities. The 12noon check-in was a plus as we had travelled for six hours and needed to shower and change to go to an afternoon function.
Although we only stayed the one night we used the cafe for lunch, wine in the evening and breakfast. Food is good, the cafe has a real buzz and the staff friendly and efficient.
Access to the rooms is by an external staircase, unfortunately it rained during the evening and followng morning and coats were necessary to go downstairs to the cafe. There is only a limited number of car parking spaces at the rear of the cafe but public car parks are close if required.
The owners of the cafe and their staff could not have been more welcoming, giving advice on the local area, directions and information on restaurants. Although the cafe was quite busy they always found time to deal with our queries and chat to us. We have stayed in other hotels in Mumbles but in future we will be going back to Cafe Valance.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

My boyfriend and I spent a saturday night. We found the staff very welcoming and they couldnt do more for us. We room was exactly as it looks in the photos, very clean and very modern. The room was small, but perfectly formed. The shower/wet room was of an excellent standard, and thick fluffy towels and good toiletries were a nice touch.
The bed was also very comfortable.

Breakfast was a good selection of cereals, fruit, pastries and juices. The Full English breakfast was hot, well cooked and nicely presented. Our coffee cups were regularly refreshed as we perused the major weekend papers, it felt more like you were in a trendy coffee shop rather than a B&B.

Overall I liked the place. The friendliness, cleanliness, modern style will certainly draw me back and will definately recommend to friends.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cafe Valance Bar and Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cafe Valance Bar and Rooms

Address: 50 Newton Road | Mumbles, Swansea SA3 4BQ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cafe Valance Bar and Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cafe Valance Bar & Rooms is perfect for a relaxed romantic break. Set in the seaside village of Mumbles,on the outskirts of Swansea on the gateway to the glorious Gower Peninsula, Britain's first area of outstanding natural beauty. There are beautiful botanical gardens nearby,a host of historic castles and other sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Cafe Valance Bar and Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cafe Valance Bar And Rooms Swansea, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Valance Bar and Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.