We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Smugglers Haunt

The Smugglers Haunt
Port Eynon | Gower, Swansea SA3 1NN, Wales
+44 1792 391257
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 521 Restaurants in Swansea
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Pizza, Dessert, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Open from Easter to the end of September Specialising in fresh food. Steaks, pizza, locally caught fish. Desserts to die for. Local seasonal produce. All dishes are home made and freshly cooked.
St Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“I love this place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was our 2nd trip to Port Eynon in recent weeks due to the Triathlon event. Again we booked this restaurant and once again the service and standard was high.

They have excellent wines and great seasonal dishes eg. Gower beetroot and local wild garlic. The goats cheese & spinach tart with parmesan sauce was amazing and my husband's belly pork with crackling was to die for. The thai prawns were very disappointing but to be fair they replaced this with a pizza and relegated this dish to the starter instead of the mains the following evening.

Suggest making a reservation for busy evenings.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    34
    5
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We visited here last weekend. A girls only night out. The chap we had to serve us was lovely 1 problem was he took our food order and not a drink order. After waiting 25 minutes we asked a girl for some drinks. She came to our table clearly unhappy at the fact we had asked. The food was a very long wait over a hour. But the restaurant redeemed our bad thoughts as the food was amazing. I had the belly of pork and loved every mouthful. Compliments to the chef.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A jewel of a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were surprised to find this upmarket establishment with fine food and great service in this little beach resort!

We ended up going 2 nights in a row and it was a rare treat. I had the chicken liver parfait...as good as fois gras and the Gower beetroot + goats cheese starters. They also do fabulous pizzas with a modern twist!

Would highly recommend this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Mmm pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Picked up a leaflet at our campsite in nicholaston so decided to get the takeaway pizza on the buy one get one half price deal on Mondays. The road into port enyon is single track at the end so be prepared to pull in to avoid other cars. There was no dropped kerb at the entrance to the car park so was a bit tight trying to get in. We arrived shortly after opening our order was taken straight away ( 1 neopolitana, 1 Padana) and were asked if we were waiting or coming back to pick it up. I asked how it was going to be and was told between 10-15mins- always a sign that food is freshly made, and we had the option to have telephoned the order in advance. We opted to sit outside to wait and 15 mins later 2 piping hot pizzas were brought out. We had a 10 min drive back to our site, but the pizzas were still hot and crispy and very tasty! Not sure I would want to pay full price unless I was eating in, but would definitely recommend from our experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“You should try it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We ate dinner - two nights in August '13

This is a great place. Serving staff very good - kitchen staff fantastic.

We had pizza first night - I have rarely had better. The squid and deep fried Brie starters were good too - easy to get right, but easy to get wrong - no complaints from us. Wine very reasonably priced. All on meal for three with one bottle of wine, two coffees and one desert was £60.00ish. Fantastic

Second night we spent more on more bit equally good quality and good value. Waiter remembered us and spoke to us and out 8 year old with humour - which we like. Hate to think some would think this rude! (Having read other reviews)

We'll go again - next time we are there, and if we lived closer, we'd go once a week!

Atmosphere not full 5 as they are too tolerant of noisy families with kids running around. Per hate of mine - gives people reason to keep kids out of restraunts ...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Smugglers Haunt also viewed

Port Eynon, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 
Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 

Been to The Smugglers Haunt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Smugglers Haunt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.