We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homecooked Heaven For A Great Sunday Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Greyhound

The Greyhound
Oldwalls, Llanrhidian Lower, Swansea, Wales
01792391027
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 509 Restaurants in Swansea
Price range: $10 - $22
Cuisines: British, Pub, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Homecooked Heaven For A Great Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We have been coming to the Greyhound for about a year or so as we love the great value for money homecooked food which bridges the gap between fine dining and the offerings of Chain Pubs. It has truely found it's place in the market as it is not too expensive yet is always excellent quality.

Recently we have been a few times for Sunday Lunch at at £6.95 for one course which is very reasonable or £9.99 for two, i must confess i am astounded how they can produce the quality they do for the price but im not complaining.

There is Is great choice of Meats with good portion size and lots of local fresh Veg.The gravy is lovely and they dont mind bringing more if you like a river on your plate like myself.

Everytime i have been there i have not made it to dessert as i have been too full.They are also great with kids so we will be going once a month from now on.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    78
    24
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Alan C”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We also live locally and whenever we are able to get away for a meal we always go to the Greyhound. We have never had a bad meal served to us - the food is absolutely delicious - always piping hot and beautifully presented. We love the informal nature of this establishment, the open fires and very warm welcome. Chris and Emily work extremely hard to accommodate and really look after their customers. It does get busy but that is only proof of the "pudding". We are always willing to wait for a table to become available during busy periods. There is a beautiful, well kept garden play area for the children too. Try the chicken korma, locally sourced rib eye steak, giant cod in batter and the recently tried home made jam and coconut sponge pudding was to die for!!!!! Only wish we could dine there every day. Keep up the stirling work you are doing - the locals of this area do appreciate all your hard work.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Excellent food, always good service. I love this pub as I am always made to feel welcome. Could do with wifi lol.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great staff, delicious food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Living locally, we have probably tried most of the restaurants/pubs in Swansea (and beyond!) However, there are only a handful that we will continue to visit on a regular basis and The Greyhound is most definitely on our list. The food is delicious, the staff very friendly and the service is great. Last, but not least, the Steak & Ale pie is mouthwatering, the White Chocolate and Raspberry cheescake (accompanied by a BIG jug of fresh cream) is simply divine and my father-in-laws choice - 'Giant Cod in Batter' - certainly was GIANT! We can't wait for next weekend !!!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Brilliant !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Brilliant hot & tasty food. Salad always fresh & imaginitive. Brilliant informative staff. None of this `I`ll have to ask` business !!
Attached brewery produces thoroughly excellent quality beers. So good to get away from the keg rubbish served in many establishments.
Been many times & will continue to do so. It may be busy, but that says it all !!

Crofty, Swansea

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Greyhound also viewed

Llangennith, Swansea County
Llanmadoc, Swansea County
 
Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 

Been to The Greyhound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Greyhound, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.