We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location but the smallest room ever” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Coast House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Coast House to your Saves list
The Coast House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   708 Mumbles Road | Mumbles, Swansea SA3 4EH, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 47 Swansea B&B and Inns
milano
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great location but the smallest room ever”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I was in a single room, which was literally half, or less, the size of a regular average room. So much so that I could hardly move in the space. Not a big problem, but the noises from the toilet /shower from next room were a quite disturbing!!!
Another unpleasant aspect was not receveing any kind of receipt for the payment, which they ask to settle in cash, or else you pay more. I was not very happy with that.
Apart from this, the position of the B&B is great, just in front of the sea, the food was good and the overall experience was nice. Just be careful if you book the single room: it costs half the price compared to other B&Bs in the area, and there is a reason for it!

Room Tip: Rooms looking on the main street enjoy the sea view but are also more noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    20
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
27
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

After a previous trip to a B&B in poole ,Dorset this spring, The Coast House was of excellent value for money.. I spent 3 nights there in a single room. The room was small and at the back of the property ( it does state the single rooms small) but very clean , comfortable Bed, and new
shower/ Toilet, modern tv, Tea/coffee falcilities... The Breakfast 100% !! a choice, ! and how often do you get in a B&B muffin with Scrambled Egg with Salmon ??? Fresh fruit , Yogurt. juices, choice of Teas...Very friendly service from the Landlord/owner ,my only small cricism that it was a shame that his wife/landlady couldnt have been more happy /friendly like him !!
As for travel buses every hour from outside but more buses in Mumbles Village ( a 10 min walk) ! not the most of convenient locations to get into Swansea or the Gower without a car ..

Room Tip: Front rooms have sea-views..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We had tried to rearrange the booking because the weather forecast was terrible but since we were within their 4 day cancellation policy, we were not able to do so. Fair enough we thought. Then on the day of travel, the clutch went on my car so we were unable to go that day and had to go the next day instead. We knew, from speaking to the owners , that this would mean we would have to pay the full rate for the room for the lost night. A little bit deflated, we continued with our short break.

In the room of the B&B was a note asking people to pay in cash preferably or be liable for a debit or credit card charge. So on the day of our departure, we dutifully went to the bank and drew out cash for the full amount. When we went to pay, we were informed that the full payment was taken from my account 2 days prior to our arrival. This was really upsetting because they took the money from the wrong account and it caused me to go overdrawn. We were also not offered a receipt and had to request one specifically. I found the business practices of this B&B really shoddy and highly unprofessional.

The room was perfectly adequate and breakfast good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We spent 2 nights in this pleasant B&B . Booking in was from 3 until 6 pm . We were made welcome and given a choice of 2 rooms. Unfortunately they only have 1 twin room and this was taken . As I was travelling with my daughter , a twin would have been better . We chose the smaller of the 2 rooms as this had a lovely view of Swansea bay . It was rather small but very well decorated and very clean as was the whole place . If you have trouble with stairs ask for a lower floor room . Dietry requirements are well catered for . Breakfast was excellent .

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Dropped bags off and the room was tiny but adequate.
Went to wedding reception until 11.00 pm and then back to B & B.
Bed OK and room was warm.
Basin takes ages to drain.
Shower OK.
Welsh breakfast - cooked breakfast served on a completely cold plate - that does wonders for everything !!!
Checkout fine.
The B & B was old style in space, decor and rules. Fine for one night, where we spent virtually no time there.
Would not want to stay longer but it was OK for the night.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Having read previous reviews I was looking forward to our stay. However we didn't find it particularly enjoyable. The room was very poky, more like a single tan a double with little storage space and a tiny shower/toilet. Decoration was dated and there were rules and regulations posted on the bedside table with threats of fines for non-compliance. I thought that kind of thing died out with the Blackpool boarding house.
Breakfast was strictly 8-9am, no asking what time you would like breakfast.
Liked the area, but won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We've just stayed for a night at the Coast House and found the previous reviews to adequately describe the accommodation on offer. We had a sea-facing room that was a reasonable size, nicely decorated and included a small but reasonable ensuite. With a small sofa, tea/coffee facilities and a flat screen tv with freeview, the room was complete. We were assisted by Andy, the owners' son and he was very friendly and helpful.

I think it's worth mentioning just a specific points for future travellers' reference - firstly, payment is cash only. Secondly there's no residents lounge. Thirdly, breakfast on Sunday was between 8 and 9 a.m., which we thought a tad early! Fourthly, checkout is by 10 a.m. prompt. I'd like to emphasise that these points are not listed as criticisms, just slight idiosyncracies for future travellers' reference.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Coast House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coast House

Address: 708 Mumbles Road | Mumbles, Swansea SA3 4EH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coast House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Coast House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coast House Swansea, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Coast House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.