We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very well run restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Junction 28

Junction 28
Station Approach | Bassaleg, Newport NP10 8LD, Wales
01633 891891
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 248 Restaurants in Newport
Price range: $31 - $39
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“very well run restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Met up with friends from around the Newport , Cardiff, Caerphilly area for a pre -Christmas meal. It's a convenient location as it is, asit's name suggests close to the M4 motorway. The building is an old railway station with one of the old carriages forming part of the eating area
The whole place is spacious with a nice sitting area for drinks before or coffee afterwards, and everything wes beautifully decorated for Christmas.
Despite being very busy the staff were friendly, attentive, and provided excellent service. All the meals arrived together- the main courses were piping hot with lots of dishes of vegetables.
We opted for the Earlybird menu(seated at 6.30) which gave plenty of choices for a three course dinner at just under £24 a head. We were all well satisfied with the quality and presentation of the dishes even my husband, who can be hard to please, said his steak was tender, perfectly cooked and delicious.
We have already booked to return in January, using our "money off" vouchers!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    98
    34
    22
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchcombe, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Visited from Cheltenham, for a works Christmas meal. Food was great, atmosphere was great and service was brilliant!
Highly recommended!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Excellent place to eat out,have been there a few times,never been disappointed.Great atmosphere with interesting,good menu choices.Service is second to none.Can't fault this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I have been to this restaurant a few times and have always had lovely meals, it was very busy on Saturday and we had to wait over an hour for our table which was understandable but there was no apology.the meal was lovely but service at the end of tbe night was not.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good venue for special occasion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Good quality food and nicely presented. We have used this restaurant a few times and have never been disappointed. Even the early bird menu is good. Excellent service from waiters. Will go again soon.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Junction 28 also viewed

Newport, Southern Wales
Newport, Southern Wales
 
Newport, Southern Wales
 

Been to Junction 28? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Junction 28, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.