We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slept well” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gateway Hotel

Gateway Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gateway Hotel to your Saves list
Gateway Hotel
42 Chepstow Rd, Newport NP19 8WS, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Newport
essex
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Slept well”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

I arrived late after a very long day and had to leave the hotel to eat but otherwise had a lovely quiet clean room with all necessary facilities left very early so I was unable to sample the breakfast but thanks fora good nights sleep

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    9
    9
    1
See reviews for
5
6
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Basic guest house does the job with no thrills. Rooms were scruffy although en suite bathroom seemed brand new. Cost of £70 per night seemed to be pushing it for Newport.

Breakfast was large enough and very enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Forget all the other reviews... The room was lovely but the lady on reception was awful. Didnt have a clue what she was doing! Really rude and zero customer service skills! This put us off from the moment we checked in! If i was the owner i'd change the staff and you would have a highly recommendable hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Bit of a funny setup but our room was spotless. breakfast was hearty and good. Staff were helpful and friendly offeing advice on food late at night.Suggesting sit down carry out or delivery options.This hotel obviousley caters for travelling salesmen type. So very adequit for an overnight stay.Downside the room had bedside lights that did not work.

Room Tip: Staff are very knowlegable on the area.So ask them especially for food questions
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Reasonable room and good value at £70 b&b, but an odd set up. There are a number of buildings and I was in a building in the back yard. no sense of security as only your room door to the outside world and this does not seem to be a very nice part of the city.

Receptionist suggested walking down the road to the right as you leave the hotel for restaurants. A very unpleasant experience, certainly not recommended for solo travellers.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Adequately comfortable accommodation in central Newport, although not the cleanest rooms. Good breakfast but not great value compared to other local hotels.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

This is the second time that I have stayed at The Gateway Hotel, Newport. From the friendly welcome, to the quality of the room and amenities, everything about my stay was first class.
First, the price of just £30 (including breakfast!) was unbelievable. My room was in the annexe, which has been completely modernised. My room was en-suite, with high-powered shower with plentiful hot water.
The flat-screen TV with a good selection of channels, together with tea/coffee-making facilities, coupled with free wi-fi, meant that I had all the amenities that I needed.
And the full English breakfast, which was cooked to order, set me up for the day.
All in all, I think The Gateway Hotel is excellent value for money and I would thoroughly recommend it. I will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Hotel

Address: 42 Chepstow Rd, Newport NP19 8WS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Newport
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gateway hotel is a newly refurbished and opened 21-room (all ensuite) hotel in Newport. Five minutes from the m4 and near the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Newport, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gateway Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.