We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food in a great old fashioned pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Rhiwderin Inn

The Rhiwderin Inn
Caerphilly Road | Rhiwderin, Newport NP10 8RX, Wales
01633782179
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 246 Restaurants in Newport
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Delicious food in a great old fashioned pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Visited the Rhiwderin Inn with family who had just moved back to the area. Fantastic old school pub serving very generous portions of delicious home-cooked food. I enjoyed the lamb rogan josh (special) - mild but very tasty

Great service too, will definitely return

MLTT

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    26
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Made to feel welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We arrived early on a Friday evening without a reservation, the car park was almost full and the pub had standing room only, despite this we were made to feel welcome and because of this were happy to wait for table. This is pub food at its best, good quality, reasonable prices and excellent portions, if in the area again would not hesitate to visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Old fashioned pub grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

An old fashioned pub serving good old pub grub! The only thing missing was a roaring fire! The food was fab... Hunters Chicken with loads of cheese and a mountain of crispy chips! Pity the puddings were of the mass produced variety!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good value and lovely food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely meal, my sister is a coeliac and they were very helpful to her! Have been many times and will go again

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport gwent
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“THIS INN HAS THE "WOW"FACTOR”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Had lunch in here today with my two sons, all of us having visited before but not for many many years. The lady who served us was the person we all remembered from 10-15 years ago, in fact she has worked at this Inn for 40 years. My husband and sons were fond of the curries years ago and this was what we could smell when we arrived at the car park. My sons chose the chicken curry wondering if it was the same size as years ago-yes it is!! I chose the Lasagne verdi with salad and garlic bread at £7.95 and chose to order a portion of chips as i was hungary. Never again!! The garlic bread was a WHOLE BAGUETTE, i could not eat all that and my Lasagne and portion of chips!!! I apologised to the lady collecting dishes on the three of us not being able to finish our meals-there was just too much food!! A good variety of food is on offer whether it be fish, grills, burgers, with a lot of vegetarian options which surpasses anything i have found at other restaurants. Although my grandson was not with us today, there was a wide choice of menu for him i.e. turkey dinosaurs, chicken nuggets, pasta, sausage and chips, fish fingers all priced at £2.95 Although we did not have a dessert, the 4 choices on the menu looked very appealing, all at £3.95 each. For the over 60's on production of a valid bus pass, a 20% discount on the lunch menu and 10% on the evening menu was offered. On top of the lovely homemade food at very reasonable prices, this was an added bonus. A definite for the future. I was doing a reccee here for a visit in the next few weeks with friends and booking is definitely advisable.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rhiwderin Inn also viewed

Newport, Southern Wales
Newport, Southern Wales
 
Newport, Southern Wales
Newport, Southern Wales
 

Been to The Rhiwderin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rhiwderin Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.