We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Celtic Manor Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Celtic Manor Resort to your Saves list
Celtic Manor Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Coldra Woods | The Usk Valley, Newport NP18 1HQ, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Newport
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What a Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Just Great as good if not better than most of the 5 ***** Hotels in London and a lot less money.
Food was wonderful and the bar prices was not really more than the average 4 **** Hotels in the Welsh Capital. Looking forward to staying there again ( Longer next Time !!)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,098
    749
    480
    264
    191
See reviews for
522
1,131
39
381
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (670)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Not on the golf course but the hotel itself. No need to describe this hotel,sumptuous from spa to roof, everything you would hope it to be. The jewel (jewels) in this crown were the staff. Without exception they were efficient,courteous,patient and above all pleasant. Nothing was too much trouble especially when dealing with senior citizens,dsucj as my wife and I.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

First impressions are mixed - the hotel is certainly impressive - the scale alone makes you pause. The hotel is well presented and immaculate. However you do have to pay for much of it... if you want to park near the lobby in the multi-storey car-park, there's an extra charge - otherwise it's quite a long walk through the hotel to get to reception.

Reception was well-staffed, quick and friendly - I had no problem getting checked in, or out.

Rooms are great, more than big enough and with everything you could need. The en-suite bathroom was brilliant.

I didn't try the pool, but wish I'd have taken my things as it looked amazing!

Breakfast was of good quality and well stocked - completely set me up for the day.

On the whole, although I'd recommend this hotel, I'd also recommend going if you get a good deal as the price certainly matches the size, although for the golfing set playing on a Ryder Cup course may be worth it by itself!

Room Tip: Floor 9 has small balconies where you can get some fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Overall as a family of 5 with 3 children, aged 5 months to 6 years we enjoyed our stay. The leisure facilities were ample for our 3 day break and the food was surprisingly tasty and high quality in the buffet style 'olive tree' restaurant. The wine service was pretty slow, and arrived after we had finished our first course on both evenings. All staff were attentive & pleasant and the hotel seems to run fairly effortlessly considering the volume of corporate, family and golf enthusiast's they were catering for. Having stayed in a few poorly run, smaller hotels I find this impressive. My considerable disappointment was being unable to book a spa treatment, which we discovered required a 4-6 week pre booking. Had I had known this on booking our last minute spa break, and being desperate for an opportunity to have a bit of pampering and rejuvenation, I would have booked an alternative spa hotel. It would useful to have been asked when booking if you intended on using the spa facilities.

Room Tip: Check if spa facilities available when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This is a big, big place and it mainly pulls it off. We had a poor meal at the Olive Tree Restaurant, but I am putting that side for the rest of this review.

A lot of effort goes into making guests welcome and the surroundings have wow factor. Pool area is excellent as are the public areas. I had an excellent sleep in clean comfortable rooms and the bathrooms were top notch. Shopping Mall was surprisingly uninteresting. Underground car parking is charged. Just a few minor grumbles. Merlin's bar is a nice big place to relax. Breakfasts were also excellent.

We found the staff very friendly. I would recommend the hotel, but be careful about the Olive Tree Restaurant (see my other review).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We had afternoon tea here today. After reading some not very complementary reviews we nearly didn't book. However we had a lovely time, the sandwiches and cakes were very tasty and the tea and coffee were very good too. The scones were very light and we washed down strawberries and cream with champagne. In all a lovely birthday treat.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I was initially impressed with the Celtic Manor upon arrival - it is a very nice building and the foyer is clearly meant to make an impression. Unfortunately, that is part of the problem - the people who work there expect that initial impact will be enough to carry you through your stay.

It took nearly 30 minutes to check in and there was nothing in the way of an introduction to the hotel or even an explanation of where to park or where to find your room. The room itself, clean and pleasant, was nice but not overly remarkable for a 5 star hotel. The view from balcony, for which I'd paid extra, was blocked by a very large tree (I like trees, but not to the point they are dangling their leaves in my wine while I'm relaxing!). The Wi-Fi did not work for the first night and I had to report it. The pay per view films did not work at all during my stay.

Breakfast was okay on the first day – there was a wait for the hot food to be replaced but that’s fair enough. However, when I asked for a latte while I was waiting, the extremely rude maître de replied that "I would have to pay for it!" It took twenty minutes to arrive, and I had to remind two other waiters about it beforehand. Breakfast the second day was a nightmare. I had to queue for 40 minutes and was then expected to eat my breakfast in 5 minutes flat because "breakfast was over". By this time most of the food was gone or was cold anyway, so I had nothing. I didn’t have time to ask for a decent coffee. When questioning the receptionist about the possibility of having breakfast somewhere else instead for queuing, myself and several other patrons were told (again, unhelpfully) “Your room, but you’ll have to pay for it.”

Afternoon Tea at The Olive Garden was also shockingly poor. They had no replacements for the fish/meat based foods served, so, as a vegetarian, the choice was very limited. The sandwiches I could eat were dry and it took (I timed it) 97 minutes between the initial tray being brought out and the scones being served. This meant I had to leave most of the tea behind because I had a spa appointment.

The Rafters was a nice enough restaurant, but the dessert I ordered was hard and dry, and when I mentioned this to the manager he very generously took the price of my cup of tea off the bill, as a ‘good will gesture’!?! Forgive me, but isn’t it customary to remove the price of the item that has clearly been over cooked? And a ‘good will gesture? No. If it isn’t right it is not a good will gesture!

The only real pleasure was the spa. The staff there were very professional and cheerful – always happy to help. This is in stark contrast to the service in the two restaurants (managers, not waiters) and front of desk which was, frankly appallingly bad for a five star (or any star) hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Celtic Manor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Manor Resort

Address: Coldra Woods | The Usk Valley, Newport NP18 1HQ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Celtic Manor Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Host of the 2010 Ryder Cup golfing competition, this award-winning resort is set in 2000 acres of parkland in the Usk Valley. It comprises a 5-star hotel and a historic 19th-century manor house. There is the award-winning Forum Spa, as well as 6 restaurants and 3 championship golf courses. There are 2 adventure golf courses and the treetop adventure course Forest Jump. Clay pigeon shooting, fishing and mountain biking can all be arranged. The Celtic Manor Resort features a range of facilities to ensure the success of guests’ business events and special occasions. These include a comprehensive convention centre and exhibition hall, 31 function rooms and 6 restaurants. Rooms all have a TV with satellite channels, and there is a 24-hour front desk. Free Wi-Fi is available in public areas, and there is space for free private parking on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Celtic Manor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Manor Hotel Newport
Celtic Manor Newport
Celtic Hotel Manor
Celtic Manor Resort Newport, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Celtic Manor Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.