We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Celtic Manor, pricey but good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Celtic Manor Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Celtic Manor Resort to your Saves list
Celtic Manor Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Coldra Woods | The Usk Valley, Newport NP18 1HQ, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Newport
Whitland, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Celtic Manor, pricey but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Having read reports on TA before we spent a weekend at the resort, we did note that they were mixed which surprised us - however, we decided to go and experience the resort for ourselves.

Yes, there was a tiny thread hole in our quilt cover which should not have been there but the room overall was good - as you would expect for a quality resort. The room facilities for two teenagers and two adults were as good as we could have expected without two separate rooms which we wanted to avoid.

The bar service on Friday evening was very slow and the staff seemed to miss us on several occasions - we felt like leaping up and down to attract attention! However, it was ok for us as we were chatting before our evening meal.

Check in very quick, check out very slow, why not use the 'express check-out' to avoid queueing? it works well.
The buffet dining suited us with the children, and the choice was mouth-watering and very well cooked and presented.
Similarly the breakfast was good and the staff under pressure as the breakfast restaurant was filled with a 'Polo crowd' for the weekend matches.

We used the Archery Range which was good value at £10 with attended 'coaching'. Then a quick courtesy bus to try our hand at the Golf Academy, reasonably priced. Finally, the pool/jacuzzi area was a great way to finish - no time for a spa treatment!

The bill ended up a bit eye watering after all our extras - wine and spirits are quite dear, but the resort is top-class so it wouldn't come cheap.

Overall we will go back again as it was very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the expense of a balcony suite, the non balcony is just fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    985
    648
    404
    220
    161
See reviews for
456
962
34
336
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

I start by saying I am a huge fan of Sir Terry Matthews. What he has done for Wales is phenomenal. He is a role model for anyone who wants to go for it. He has created a magnificent resort and employment for hundreds of people.

We went for a short stay 29/30 May, the room on the 10th floor was average, bathroom tired, window didnt close properly. Service in the main bar was good, but we when we ate in the 2010 restaurant service was poor. Took 10 mins to order a G & T, then a further 10 mins for it to get delivered! The rest was not busy. Our table was sticky, not clean and the food was distinctly average. I had lamb, which was nice but my other half had chicken, it was dry, nothing special. Service was youngsters. Just not worth the £120 - inc a bottle of wine, we left the restaurant disappointed.

A fire alarm at 11:45, we had to evacuate the room, perhaps 400 loitering in reception, obv a false alarm. No apology, no letter under door, no letter in lift or poster in reception to say sorry. I asked the receptionist upon checking out, she didnt know much other than it was a false alarm from the kitchen, but she said it happens a lot and we have to pay the fire service £400 for a call out. I said oh that's not good, no she said, it's often kids setting them off running around in corridors. Humm, that's not good.

The spa; well it looks wonderful on the website, but it's cramped. Really is too small for number of guests. What's was really annoying is kids swimming around in in armbands in jacuzzi, anything seems to go. Changing is tiny, badly laid out and on the day we were there the wet dryer was broken and the water dispenser also broken. Not good!

The room rate is competitive, but you have no pay for everything so it's nearer 150 a night per person, which is fine for a 5 star, but we didnt find it 4/5 star. Having had expectations beforehand and over the years been Lucky enough to have stayed at Hanbury Manor, Glenaeagles, old course st Andrew and Cameron House - we found our 3 days/ 2 nights a disappointment. No sure we would go back, but still rate the golf courses.

Sorry Sir T. You're still a legend.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We have stayed in the Celtic Manor a number of times and it is getting steadily worse.
We had a gift voucher as a Christmas Present for the Newbridge inn, we used that in March.
The food was good and presented well.
On leaving we settled our bill including handing over our voucher.
When we arrived back home and checked my bank account, I noticed that they charged us again for the voucher and was requesting the balance of the bill from my bank account.
On contacting Celtic Manor, they offered us an upgrade on another visit.
We stayed again this time at the main hotel for two nights on the 10th/11th June to celebrate our wedding anniversary being upgraded as promised.
On arrival the concierge informed us that there was now a £7 a day parking charge, this is something new to our last visit.
The room was clean and very comfortable and chocolates were provided as an anniversary gift.
The first night we ate in the Olive Tree buffet restaurant, the food on offer was varied but it was not very warm. If you were a slow eater it was cold before finishing. I have complained about this on a previous visit but nothing seems to been done about it.
Breakfast is buffet type, the second morning there was no butter preserves on the table and you had to catch a waiters attention for coffee.
On the second night we ate at the Newbridge Inn. The food was very nice again, I had the same as on my previous visit but this time there was an excess charge of £26 for those on a package.
On the morning of our leaving the hotel (before we had breakfast) I noticed that they had taken out our bill from my bank ( we paid by debit card and they scan it on arrival).They no longer put a hard copy of your bill under your room door, they say it's on the tv screen that don't tell you about. we had breakfast and checked out but still no hard copy of the bill was offered.
When we arrived home and after a few day's the money was transferred from my bank to there's, I then noticed that the same amount was being requested again resulting I could not access that amount of to spend because Celtic Manor had requested it again with Visa.
I have complained to the Celtic Manor again who are going to investigate and get back to me.

Room Tip: Room 676 looks over the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I have stayed at the Celtic Manor many times over the last few years, and every time I stay there I am disappointed to find that standards have slipped further.

The service in each of the restaurants is consistently poor. I had to ask three times for milk for our table at breakfast, and trying to get a second cup of coffee was just impossible. The fried eggs were hard and had been sitting under the heat lamp for too long. The sausages were dried out and burnt at the ends. Later in the day, we had to ask three times for waitress service in the bar, and were kept waiting for half an hour before anyone took our order

We waited over an hour for the concierge to bring our bags to our room, and when we called to ask for them (we needed our things in order to get ready for the polo event in the afternoon) we were told that they were "inundated" and couldn't tell us when we would get our bags.

At the polo, we had ordered a picnic with special dietary requirements We had been assured that the picnic would be handmade especially for us by the chef as "this is a 5 star hotel". When we collected the picnic, we were fobbed off and handed a normal picnic. We were told "most of the items are dairy free any way, so you don't need a special one" On inspection, over half of the items were unsuitable, and we had to settle for having extras from another picnic.

Overall, I got the impression that the management are cutting corners to save costs, and are no longer delivering a 5* service. It's badly managed and the staff are poorly trained. It's such a shame as this used to be a lovely place to stay and the staff couldn't do enough for you, but they are clearly understaffed and under-delivering for a 5* hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Despite its location (I'm not sure why people would come here unless the place was booked for an event) this hotel was quite lovely.

The bedrooms were somewhat dated but a very good size. Views over the countryside, it was a peaceful stay.

Once outside, while relaxing in the sunshine, the M4 traffic was very loud indeed taking away the peacefulness of the setting.

Was disappointed with the Olive Tree restaurant. While better than most buffet restaurants (I had lamb curry...was very nice) I prefer the a la carte menu.

Meeting room was great with everything we could need but was disappointed with the lunch in the Monmouth lounge. Coffee machines wouldn't work on demand and staff were sparse for help!

The tree experience was great and the staff were patient and friendly.

I would definitely return for a business trip as it was very good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We came here for the horse polo on the weekend and were led to believe by a member of staff on the phone that there would be shelter provided if the weather took a turn for the worse. However upon arrival there was no shelter provided for the tickets we had paid for and we were left to stand out in the wind and rain to watch the polo unless we paid £110 for a VIP ticket to go into a tent. When we rang the resort to explain the situation we were in they kept on forwarding us to other people then eventually told us that there was nothing they could do. Overall very disappointed as we were expecting more from a place of this prestige

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend. On arrival, everything was very impressive. Staff greet you on arrival, and park your car. The receptionist was very polite (even though it later transpired that she omitted some important information) and the room was ultra-impressive. Particularly liked the balcony in our room.
We ate at their Olive Tree restaurant. It was all buffet style, and there was something there for everyone. Food was very nice. Though drinks were very expensive - £4.40 for a pint of local beer, and £4.50 for a bottle of still water. Most places provide tap water free of charge. Also the range of beers available was not great!
Saturday was a chill out day. Very impressive grounds around the hotel. The breakfast was good, and the evening dinner was fine (even though it did not live up to the Friday night!).
Service took a turn for the worse on the Sunday. There were a couple of minor mishaps at breakfast. The waiter pointed us to the smaller buffet table, but failed to inform us of the larger one. Also, when we went for our second round of food, the staff cleared our table (thinking we had left).
The worst aspect of service of all was check-out time. My partner is a blue-badge holder with a medical condition. This means we have more luggage than most, and a lesser ability to carry it. We tried calling concierge for some help with our bags. They did not pick up the phone. So it would be 2 trips down with our luggage. It was getting very close to check-out time, and I was messed around in the lift by a member of staff (they are there to help, not hinder!). As a result of his actions I only reached 2 floors below our room then the lift started going down. I got out and looked for the stairs. The receptionist had previously failed to inform us where they were, and I could not find them. Eventually got in another lift going up, and retrieved the rest of out bags.
Our car was retrieved from the car park, our bags dropped into it, then we checked out at the desk. At this point the receptionist offered us help with our bags, but it was just too late.
Surely at check-in, the receptionist should inform guests where the stairs are at the point of check-in, and that help is available with baggage when checking out.
I found the check-out very stressful and a complete let-down to the service.

Room Tip: Get one with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Celtic Manor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Manor Resort

Address: Coldra Woods | The Usk Valley, Newport NP18 1HQ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Celtic Manor Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Host of the 2010 Ryder Cup golfing competition, this award-winning resort is set in 2000 acres of parkland in the Usk Valley. It comprises a 5-star hotel and a historic 19th-century manor house. There is the award-winning Forum Spa, as well as 6 restaurants and 3 championship golf courses. There are 2 adventure golf courses and the treetop adventure course Forest Jump. Clay pigeon shooting, fishing and mountain biking can all be arranged. The Celtic Manor Resort features a range of facilities to ensure the success of guests’ business events and special occasions. These include a comprehensive convention centre and exhibition hall, 31 function rooms and 6 restaurants. Rooms all have a TV with satellite channels, and there is a 24-hour front desk. Free Wi-Fi is available in public areas, and there is space for free private parking on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Celtic Manor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Manor Hotel Newport
Celtic Manor Newport
Celtic Hotel Manor
Celtic Manor Resort Newport, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Celtic Manor Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.