We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Package deal for Brendan Cole” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Celtic Manor Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Celtic Manor Resort to your Saves list
Celtic Manor Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Coldra Woods | The Usk Valley, Newport NP18 1HQ, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Newport
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Package deal for Brendan Cole”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Living close by we have visited the resort to eat many times including Christmas day 4 times at various venues but we have never stayed before. We arrived early and our room was not ready so we were offered an alternative which we accepted. We were not disappointed we were given a large room with a balcony on floor 6 with views over the motorway. The room had a large desk and sofa and easy chairs. A separate vanity table in the corridor outside the large bathroom with bath and a walk in shower. We had lunch in the Merlin bar where the staff were very helpful and efficient. Brendan Cole show was excellent in the evening. However we were disappointed with the food served as part of the package. No choice on the menu although you were asked if you had dietary requirements. Breakfast was good next morning. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,098
    750
    484
    264
    191
See reviews for
523
1,135
39
381
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (672)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hereford
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My partner and I stayed in The Celtic Manor for two nights in January this year. We were accommodated on the 10th floor and were kept awake for most of the first night by pipe work and ducting in the roof space that seemed to be venting every few seconds.
At 3am having had no sleep, I ventured down to reception and we were given another room on the 8th floor which was fine. We used the spa facilities but have to concur with other reviews regarding children packing out the pool and being allowed free reign with little or no supervision.
On checkout, we were not informed by the receptionist that The Celtic Manor have, since the turn of the year, introduced a £6-50 a night parking charge. We pulled up at the barrier and found that we couldn't get out! I had to abandon the car and go back into the hotel. This is just another money grabbing initiative that the hotel has introduced!
Finally, as the title suggests, we come to customer service! I dared to ask the hotel for a refund of the parking charges as a goodwill gesture for the problems on the first night. Unfortunately I was dealing with the "Chuckle Brothers" in the form of Ian Edwards & Ian Matthews. They have posh titles, Mr Edwards addressing himself as "Chief Operating Officer" & Mr Matthews the title of "Rooms Division Director". I think "Tweedle Dee" & "Tweedle Dumb" would be far more appropriate! Despite numerous emails to both, they were not in the least bit interested in my complaint, and basically brushed it aside.
Sir Terry Matthews please take note. You are probably paying these guys a good wage, and for doing what? I guess Ian must be family, as he's getting away with murder!
Finally, if you, like me, have seen the dark side of this hotel, the way forward is to post here on Trip Adviser, but also on The Celtic Manor Facebook page, and ultimately, hit them where it hurts, by voting with your wallet. Stay at St David's Hotel in Cardiff, much nicer!! By choosing to bury their heads in the sand when it comes to customer complaints, they will lose customers like myself who have now vowed never to return. Must go, as have to write my next comment on The Celtic Manor Facebook page!!

Room Tip: Don't bother, stay at St David's in Cardiff, overlooking the Bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CelticManorMarketing, Manager at Celtic Manor Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear guest,

We acknowledge the complaint about the car parking charges and, far from brushing it aside, we have responded to correspondence on this issue with courtesy.

The fact remains that car parking charges in the underground car park are a resort policy and are clearly signposted on arrival. Alternative free parking is also available in our outdoor car parks.

It is with regret that we hear of a guest vowing "never to return" but, as we have explained, we are unable to adjust our policy on this matter.

Yours Sincerely,

Ian Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tintern, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

A family weekend get away to celebrate 2 birthdays and mothers day in the famous resort hotel which hosted the Ryder Cup you would think would be awesome, but frankly, from the minute we arrived, we thought the hotel was tired and throughout our stay it was littered with small but unforgivable mistakes from a 5 star hotel. We occupied 3 rooms but chose to dine together as a party of 8, a concept that the hospitality team could not comprehend. Then there was the constant chasing for more cutlery or drinks and when it was served it was sloppy. At one point, one of our party lost their phone so we called reception and told them where we'd been sitting. They couldn't find the phone but in the morning my nephew went over and found it under the table exactly where we said it would be. So on the whole, the service was poor. However, I have to say the spa and pool were excellent as was the tree top adventure and laser quest. We were also entertained by the celebrity of Brendan Cole of Strictly fame who was charming. And as I write this from the coffee shop my mother is almost beside herself lusting after Gethin Jones! A rare treat on mothers day!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We did a Ryder cup weekend at Celtic Manor. 12 players, 6 from Home Counties managed by me and 6 from Essex. We played Montgomerie on Saturday and Twenty-Ten on Sunday. We had a great weekend. The golf couses were very well managed and the organisation of golf was first class. The Twenty Ten course was great and the staff made it an excellent experience.
The Hotel was very nice as well, rooms were good and breakfast excellent Great value, 2 rounds of golf and 1 night stay for about £170. Will definetly return for another go especially as we won the golf competition as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed for 1 night, had originally booked the Manor House as it was cheaper, but they upgraded us to the main resort hotel, which was a bonus. Check in was interrupted by computer system failure, so we waited in the bar, at this point a 5 star hotel would have offered us a drink, but not this one. When we did finally check in we headed off to our rooms, the hotel is massive, and so it was a bit of a walk. The room itself was OK, nothing special at all, didn't have that wow a 5 star hotel has about it. We took a taxi into the town to get some dinner, the concierge helped us out with this but we did have to wait a while. Breakfast was good, although it was very busy. Check out was less troublesome and we got the shuttle bus over to the Golf resort. Like I said it's OK, but in my opinion it’s not 5 Star, I think there is a massive gulf between 4 and 5 stars and this falls short.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Wow what a lovely stay. We stayed overnight on the Sunday roll over deal for my mums birthday there was 6 of us and a child. We arrived at the hotel mid afternoon proceeded to check-in where we were informed we have been upgraded to a balcony room (which was great if a little cold to really appreciate it). We had a lovely room large. We used the spa facilities before dinner on the evening, had our evening meal in the Olive Tree restaurant which i don't usually like buffets, but this a very good one - really lovely food and puddings!!! we have a lovely evening in the bar listening to a great piano player and fab cocktails, great night sleep and good breakfast the next morning which again was a buffet we then took another trip to the spa which is possibly the best spa in a large hotel that i have ever seen truly relaxing. The whole group felt very relaxed after the overnight stay and the staff were very helpful. The only negative was having to pay for parking in a hotel relatively in the middle of nowhere, but that is only a small gripe.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

I did n't stay but joined family staying at the hotel. The evening meal was a little disappointing because although the buffet food looked very inviting the plates were cold and the food only lukewarm which I would not have expected for such an upmarket hotel. Apparently some of the other restaurants in the resort are much better but more expensive.My sister was given a glass of bubbly when we said it was her birthday and that was a very nice touch.
The following day we had a facial and both agree it was the best one we had ever had and we were able to use the pool etc . Later we thoroughly enjoyed the afternoon tea for two which was beautifully set out, varied and delicious - I can really recommend it.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Celtic Manor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Manor Resort

Address: Coldra Woods | The Usk Valley, Newport NP18 1HQ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Celtic Manor Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Host of the 2010 Ryder Cup golfing competition, this award-winning resort is set in 2000 acres of parkland in the Usk Valley. It comprises a 5-star hotel and a historic 19th-century manor house. There is the award-winning Forum Spa, as well as 6 restaurants and 3 championship golf courses. There are 2 adventure golf courses and the treetop adventure course Forest Jump. Clay pigeon shooting, fishing and mountain biking can all be arranged. The Celtic Manor Resort features a range of facilities to ensure the success of guests’ business events and special occasions. These include a comprehensive convention centre and exhibition hall, 31 function rooms and 6 restaurants. Rooms all have a TV with satellite channels, and there is a 24-hour front desk. Free Wi-Fi is available in public areas, and there is space for free private parking on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Celtic Manor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Manor Hotel Newport
Celtic Manor Newport
Celtic Hotel Manor
Celtic Manor Resort Newport, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Celtic Manor Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.