We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Celtic Manor Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Celtic Manor Resort to your Saves list
Celtic Manor Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Coldra Woods | The Usk Valley, Newport NP18 1HQ, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Newport
Cardiff
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Special...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Been there acouple of times now and thoroughly enjoy it. A fantastic hotel with a warm and friendly welcome. They have a number of restaurants to choose from, the Olive tree which is a buffet style meal is good but if you want a special treat upgrade to a different restaurant. We dined at Rafters. My wife has a gluten intolerance and this was taken care of without any hesitation whatsoever. They cater for all dietry needs. We did indulge in a spot of pampering too... The herbal steam temple.... you get a pile of mud for each part of your body, rub it all over each other and sit and wait for the tropical shower to wash it all off....most enjoyable from a fellas point of view !?!?! Go to their website they almost always have special offers, For a five star hotel you get a great deal, you will not be disappointed. One drawback is they have recently introduced parking fees ?!?! For one night we had to pay £7 otherwise we would have given the hotel 5 stars.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,098
    749
    482
    264
    191
See reviews for
522
1,133
39
381
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (671)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I booked the Steam temple and Afternoon tea treat for my daughters 30th birthday treat. I had made this very clear on booking but no mention of her birthday was made at Spa or at tea which was disappointing. Whoever took the booking obviously didn't care and had not noted it.
We had to park at the bottom car park and had a long uncomfortable walk up the very steep hill. There is no signage and other people were equally confused. We had a mini bus down at the end having asked directions from reception but as it had taken us at least 15 mins to walk up and no buses were in evidence. This was a very miserable experience.
It was then a real rush to make the Spa time. We had to use the men's changing room due to building works and they were probably the worst I've been in. There was little space and the hairdryer worse than useless.
The Steam temple experience was OK. The mud as very good and skin felt great. This is not an hours treat. We were not in till 12.10 and out in the lounge before 1pm. It was very chilly, the steam did not feel very warm and the floor was cold. It would have been nice to have an aroma.
This does not feel at all like a 5 star spa. The pool was cold so we did not do much swimming.
Luckily the afternoon tea was great. The staff were lovely. For a Wednesday in January it was very busy which gave a nice atmosphere. The scones were delivered fresh from the oven with clotted cream. Everything looked very pretty and there were very generous portions.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Had this as a gift, bedroom very good as was bathroom,
We also enjoyed buffet dinner, so much choice could have been hotter otherwise good, we did enjoy buffet breakfast plenty of choice,
We also went in pool only downside sauna/steam was not mixed which may suit some guests.
Over all great stay

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Couldn't fault the hotel at all.Had our dinner in the olive tree followed by drinks in merlins bar.Spent the afternoon relaxing in pool and steam room.Rooms were very nice and comfortable.Staff were very attentive and always willing to help.Cant wait to go again.Had a great time.Only downside was having to pay for parking,which was never mentioned when booking.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saumur
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Excellent staff, reasonable rooms and comfortable surroundings. Our meal in the Olive Tree was good but not great, likewise our experience with Merlins bar. We had the feeling that the hotel/ resort could not decide whether it was a 5 Star hotel with exclusive clientel or an up market resort catering for all comers and fell somewhere in between fully achieving either one or the other. That said, our stay was enjoyable and we will be back again. Cannot fault the staff and their helpfulness, they are truly worthy of the 5 star rating.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Had a gift voucher and went for Sunday lunch.
The staff were attentive and very nice, but they didn't offer to take our coats.
The lunch is buffet style. My companion and I had a cold starter, and hot main course.
I really enjoyed the array of cold offerings, the salmon was excellent. However The main course seemed to have been prepared some time earlier, and left a great deal to be desired. I wish now that I had had 2 cold courses.
I tried their lemon tart, but I think it was bought in because it was too sweet, and lemoney enough.
(I make my own lemon meringue pie).

Room Tip: I didn't see the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Nice to see that they have now updated the showers in the lady's changing rooms . Also the bad smell has gone . Also think that there should be someone in the gym to help people with equipment .
I still think there is more they can do to make this resort five star . They put shower curtains on the cubical,s in the ladies showers . They look really cheap and are only hanging on a few hooks .
Will be interesting to see what improvements the make next week

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Celtic Manor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Manor Resort

Address: Coldra Woods | The Usk Valley, Newport NP18 1HQ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Celtic Manor Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Host of the 2010 Ryder Cup golfing competition, this award-winning resort is set in 2000 acres of parkland in the Usk Valley. It comprises a 5-star hotel and a historic 19th-century manor house. There is the award-winning Forum Spa, as well as 6 restaurants and 3 championship golf courses. There are 2 adventure golf courses and the treetop adventure course Forest Jump. Clay pigeon shooting, fishing and mountain biking can all be arranged. The Celtic Manor Resort features a range of facilities to ensure the success of guests’ business events and special occasions. These include a comprehensive convention centre and exhibition hall, 31 function rooms and 6 restaurants. Rooms all have a TV with satellite channels, and there is a 24-hour front desk. Free Wi-Fi is available in public areas, and there is space for free private parking on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Celtic Manor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Manor Hotel Newport
Celtic Manor Newport
Celtic Hotel Manor
Celtic Manor Resort Newport, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Celtic Manor Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.