We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Giovanni's Restaurant

Giovanni's Restaurant
38 The Hayes, Cardiff CF10 1AJ, Wales (City Centre)
029 20 220077
Improve this listing
Ranked #177 of 1,003 Restaurants in Cardiff
Price range: $20 - $31
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: City Centre
Transit: Dont worry about transport as there is a main taxi rank just outside as well as a main bus stop infront of the restaurant. The train station is also just a 2 minute walk from Giovannis.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good food and service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

We went to Giovanni's after seeing it's rating on TripAdvisor.we only wanted a simple pizza and we went early at 6.15 before the restaurant got too busy.The welcome was warm and we preferred to have water rather than wine with our meal but this was not a problem.We ordered two different pizzas and these were served in a reasonable time and had a generous filling with obviously fresh ingredients.The staff were attentive without being intrusive.The restaurant filled up while we were there and the music and general buzz gave the place a great atmosphere.
I have read some of the poor reviews on TripAdvisor but these in no way reflected our experience.
We hope to return again when next in Cardiff and based on our experience would happily recommend the restaurant.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiovannisRest, Public Relations Manager at Giovanni's Restaurant, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our restaurant, we really appreciate it.
We're glad you enjoyed your experience and look forward to seeing you at the Hayes or our new restaurant on Park Place soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    146
    57
    57
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I have been here twice now, after stumbling on this restaurant just before the New Year. First time we had amazing food and fell in love with the atmosphere. It's a very intimate restaurant playing Italian music in the background, with the happy serving staff singing along and clearly enjoying their work. The service both times was absolutely impeccable and you cannot fault the quality of the food or how quickly it arrives. Certainly the best Italian in Cardiff and it would now take a lot for us to dine elsewhere in the city when we are there. I would certainly recommend booking a table as it has been busy both times we went. Looking forward to our next trip there.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiovannisRest, Public Relations Manager at Giovanni's Restaurant, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thanks for your review - it means a lot to us.
We're glad you've enjoyed your visits and we hope to see you back with us again soon. We also have a restaurant on Park Place if you haven't tried it yet, offering the same wonderful food and great atmosphere :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, Essex
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stopped in on St Davids day evening and managed to get a table for one. Food was really nice & good price. would go again

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiovannisRest, Public Relations Manager at Giovanni's Restaurant, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to review our restaurant. We hope to see you again soon.
We also have a restaurant on Park Place & we'd love to see you there :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhondda, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My fav little italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I lv this little gem of a restaurant,lovely people fantastic food everyone who visits Cardiff shld try it out bellisimo

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiovannisRest, Public Relations Manager at Giovanni's Restaurant, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Hi Jason!

Thanks for taking the time to review your visit to our restaurant. We're really glad you enjoyed it, and look forward to seeing you again in the future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Must have been the chef`s day off”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

You have a feeling that when they serve you a spritizer with lemonade that it is not a good start, we chose off the set luncheon menu, I had lasagne which was suppose to be the house speciality I have never tasted anything so nasty, so left it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiovannisRest, Public Relations Manager at Giovanni's Restaurant, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Celtictaster,

We're awfully sorry that you didn't enjoy your experience at Giovanni's - Did you advise a manager or a member of staff that you weren't happy at the time of your visit?

I'd like to discuss your complaint with you further, and hopefully put things right - as we don't wish to lose you as a customer. Please contact me directly (Stacey Sansom) on 02920 678707 or on marketing@giovanniscardiff.com

I hope to hear from you soon.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giovanni's Restaurant also viewed

 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to Giovanni's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giovanni's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.