We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant t” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Trattoria Molisana

La Trattoria Molisana
Albany Road, Cardiff CF24 3PE, Wales
029 20 471562
Improve this listing
Ranked #104 of 1,003 Restaurants in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great restaurant t”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I have been to Molisana's many times and it is a favourite of ours. It has a very homely atmosphere and the staff are always pleasant. the food is consistently good: we have never had a disappointing meal. As a vegetarian, I find The pizzas and pasta dishes excellent.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    24
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Always a treat and always welcoming, fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have visited this restaurant every year since we were 15. It has never failed to disappoint and I'm now 25! A lovely atmosphere with charming staff and a cosy feel. I always feel like I've had a great night when we leave. Fantastic! (Especially the four cheese pizza!)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

dropped in on Sat evening without a booking, but they squeezed us in 30 mins later. really good food with generous portions. easily one of the best Italians in Cardiff

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely atmosphere, very reasonably priced!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Fantastic meal here last night! Considering how busy the restaurant was the service was prompt but we did not feel rushed at all. Italian spicy sausage as a starter was fantastic, great option to be able to have any pasta dish as a starter too! Pizza was lovely, another member of the party had the chefs special pasta which looked lovely and the duck was a huge portion. Desserts were also delicious - best tiramisu I've ever had!
As others have said the decor is a little old fashioned but this adds to the charm of the place, the family style service and delicious traditional food.
Please don't modernise to be like other Italian restaurants, there are so many chains and their menus are all so similar, it's s nice to have somewhere different!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Romantic Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is a lovely little italian restaurant with a good choice of food and a vibrant atmosphere. We have always had excellent home cooked food.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Trattoria Molisana also viewed

Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to La Trattoria Molisana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Trattoria Molisana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.