We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Italia Cardiff

Bella Italia Cardiff
6 High Street, Cardiff CF10 1AW, Wales (City Centre)
029 2039 9466
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #199 of 938 Restaurants in Cardiff
Price range: $0 - $47
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: City Centre
Description: Perched along Cardiff High Street, Bella Italia provides the perfect retreat from a busy day's shopping or an after work dinner with colleagues. Part of the hugely successful Bella Italia restaurant group, this Cardiff High Street branch boasts the signature Bella Italia design with a rustic yet stylish style dining room. The menu is full of Italian classics where you could start with a dish of Formaggio Fritto (mozzarella, fontina and parmesan cheese in breadcrumbs deep fried with sweet red onion marmalade followed by a mushrooms risotto or a chargrilled salmon fillet with tomato and olive salsa. Great for any dining occasion, Bella Italia is one Italian restaurant that won't break the bank.
Gwent
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A lovely evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Visited here on a Saturday evening after a show. The service was excellent and the meal very nice too. I had the 5oz rump steak and my partner spaghetti bolognese. We had the panna cotta for dessert , a light desert which finished off the meal perfectly. A bottle of house red wine went down very well.
I have tried all 3 Bella Italia restaurants in Cardiff and thought this one my favourite . We will definitely visit again........

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    65
    25
    8
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Eastleigh, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“good food, quick service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

good food and quick service for a table of 20 on a hen nigh out.

Not much to say other than yummy pasta had the pollo with lemon a la siciliana. I would have prefer more courgettes and spinach at fist intance look pale and bland but overall good flavours.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I went to this restaurant twice in my stay in Cardiff , the 2nd time I was going to go to Pizza Express but far too noisy , so as this restaurant was only over the road I decided to go again .The staff are friendly and efficient although haven't been there when its been packed .I have a favourite table now so as it was free sat there. Decided to have something different than the Calzone which is a favourite of mine and so had the Spicy prawns to start and then the chicken stew, both were excellent , but especially the chicken stew which is piping hot and excellent loads of tomatoes and peppers .Only comment would be that chicken fillet was whole and took a little bit of cutting up , if it was cut up before going in stew it would be easier to handle and eat as you go along , but I am being picky it was excellent , I am afraid to say that I will be drawn back there again when I am in Cardiff , not good for the waistline but oh so good food

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Top Class Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Oh my goodness, I cannot begin to praise Bella Italia enough. I've also visited the Cardiff Bay restaurant as well as the Brewery Quarter one and this one just by Cranes music store and across the road from the castle - is perfect.

I quite easily visit this Bella Italia once every two weeks. I've bought my family, my boyfriend, my friends and by now, I even visit on my own. The staff are so attentive and friendly, the service is so, so quick. I honestly, have not ever had a single bad experience in Bella Italia.

Yes, it is quite pricy but I honestly do believe its SO worth the money, I pay £10 for Pasta Marco Polo and sometimes Gamberoni, the Marco Polo is duck, served with casarecci pasta tubes, mushrooms, spring onions and a plum sauce. The Gamberoni has succulent juicy king prawns, spicy ragu sauce, both are just beautiful.

I rate this place 5******, definitely worth the money, you get so much food and the service is astounding. Thank you Bella Italia!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILFORD HAVEN
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“EARLY EVENING MEAL”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

My first visit to Bella Italia and the restaurant had a nice 'authentic Italian' atmosphere. The pleasant waitress very quickly cleared our preferred table in the window. We had margarita pizzas, mine with mushroom and roasted pepper topping and my friend had olive and mushroom, which were both delicious. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the meal was very good value for money (we had a 25% off discount voucher). We will definitely return when we are next in Cardiff.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bella Italia Cardiff also viewed

 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to Bella Italia Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Italia Cardiff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.