We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Italia Cardiff

Bella Italia Cardiff
6 High Street, Cardiff CF10 1AW, Wales (City Centre)
029 2039 9466
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #197 of 938 Restaurants in Cardiff
Price range: $0 - $47
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: City Centre
Description: Perched along Cardiff High Street, Bella Italia provides the perfect retreat from a busy day's shopping or an after work dinner with colleagues. Part of the hugely successful Bella Italia restaurant group, this Cardiff High Street branch boasts the signature Bella Italia design with a rustic yet stylish style dining room. The menu is full of Italian classics where you could start with a dish of Formaggio Fritto (mozzarella, fontina and parmesan cheese in breadcrumbs deep fried with sweet red onion marmalade followed by a mushrooms risotto or a chargrilled salmon fillet with tomato and olive salsa. Great for any dining occasion, Bella Italia is one Italian restaurant that won't break the bank.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good enough!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The environment was nice and clean, with candles and all the cutlery but the waitress didn't seem to understand what I asked for, bread on its own, which cost me a few quid more than expected! This left me with a bit of a negative view as I am a student on a budget. Apart from that the food was tasty :)
I would go again when they have the special lunch or dinner offers...

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    65
    25
    8
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Yummy Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Went here with friends last week. Pizza are amazing and fresh. Loved Margherita. Prices are high but you can look for Voucher in voucher code. Overall nice experience. Place is really good for fine dining.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phian
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“average at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The service was adequate and the place appeared to be clean but the food was served on cold plates.As a result, my Pasta was cold. I mentioned this to the waitress who told me that it was company policy to not warm the plates but she had no idea why. To be fair, the waitress did offer to put my meal in the microwave but that rarely improves food so I declined but will not return to this restaurant or any other in the chain if all adhere to this cold plate policy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

A group of four went there and had their dinner, followed by coffee and a smalll dessert. Service was fantastict. We were a bit doubtful as two of us had special requests and the wiater did not write anything down, but our orders for dinner were handled perfectly.

Food was fantastic. Then for desserts they forgot one coffee, but put it on the bill. We complained, the waiter was awfully sorry (really was) and instead of taking off just that one coffee, which would have been fine, we did not pay for any of the coffees. Well done

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silsoe UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Service with a smile! And good value meal - a two course dinner for 9.95. Italian ambience and appropriate music

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bella Italia Cardiff also viewed

 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to Bella Italia Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Italia Cardiff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.