We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful hotel expensive for what u get” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Budget Cardiff Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Budget Cardiff Centre to your Saves list
Ibis Budget Cardiff Centre
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tyndall Street, Cardiff CF104BE , Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 81 Hotels in Cardiff
GreenLeadersBronze level
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Awful hotel expensive for what u get”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night costin £83 plus £4 parking which they tried chargin me twice for !!!!! Room was more like a hospital room than hotel room, no security at night. Paid an additional £10 for what I was told was a buffet breakfast which turned out to be cereal, ham or bread awful !!!!! No point in complaining as no one speaks good English and very uninterested in what u were sayin !!! Would I stay again for free yes payin nooooooooo way

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisbudgetCardiff, General Manager at Ibis Budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with.
I am really sorry to hear that you did not enjoyed your stay with us. Please feel free to contact me directly to discuss about your comments.
Kind regards,
Fabrice Ledentu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    211
    123
    37
    56
See reviews for
90
167
44
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed here on a recent business trip to Cardiff, clean small modern rooms ,with free Wi-Fi in the rooms, parking is about £4.00 per day extra, 5 mins walk in to the city centre which is buzzing,
but no kettle in the room, you can buy snacks down stairs, would I stay again, YES

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisbudgetCardiff, General Manager at Ibis Budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with.
Thank you very much for your honest review. I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to the time we can welcome you to the IBIS Budget Cardiff again.
Kind regards,
Fabrice Ledentu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

A last minute booking for friday night after wales v france game. Not cheap probably because of the rugby. Convenient, 10 min walk to middle of city. . Clean quiet room. Simple and functional. Breakfast chaotic as the hotel was full of big rugby fans wanting their breakfast before flying home. However the staff coped well in cramped conditions. I am sure this is more calm generally.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisbudgetCardiff, General Manager at Ibis Budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with.
Thank you very much for your honest review. I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to the time we can welcome you to the IBIS Budget Cardiff again.
Kind regards,
Fabrice Ledentu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for the rugby Friday night 21st February . Because of the rugby we were charge £200 for 1 night hardly budget is it? . Our room ( 140 ) was small, damp and we had a leak from the sink. Too many people trying to have breakfast so we went into the city for ours. Really feel I couldn't recommend this place to anyone. Ps no point complaining at hotel no one spoke very good English .

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisbudgetCardiff, General Manager at Ibis Budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with.
Thank you very much for your honest review, sorry to hear that you found us over priced, due to 6 nations game the demand was very high and we were constantly the cheapest in town centre. We look forward to the time we can welcome you to the IBIS Budget Cardiff again.
Kind regards,
Fabrice Ledentu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Stayed on a Friday and Saturday and couldn't be happier. Excelled value for rooms on a weekend (Where most hotels charge a ridiculous amount), rooms are basic, but everything you need if you're visiting family, friends etc.

A quick and polite check in by Sandro and Catia, they provided all the necessary information.
Came back to the hotel late and was pleased to see two pleasant and professional security guards, and also Attila and Karen the night-porters who are more than happy to help with any problems or queries you may have.

Continental breakfast in the morning was great, nothing cooked but how often do you have a full English every morning? Unlimited coffee is always a plus too.

Check out by Aneta and Catia also quick and friendly.

Very happy with my stay, will definitely be returning again.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are quietest, and also you can ask for extra pillows, towels and bath mats at recept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisbudgetCardiff, General Manager at Ibis Budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with.
Thank you very much for your honest review. I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay and the friendless of our staff. We look forward to the time we can welcome you to the IBIS Budget Cardiff again.
Kind regards,
Fabrice Ledentu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I travelled with some friends and it was just to come and see Cardiff for a weekend. I wasn't expecting much reading some of the reviews on here, but i was actually very pleased with it! As i was the first one there out of my friends, I had checked in and i told the receptionist that i had two others coming so he told me to write down their names so if they did come in and said they were staying with me then they'd call me up and just double check, which I thought was a safe thing to do. The beds were pretty comfy. Bad sides were that the aircon wasn't working properly so we had to open the window overnight and you would wake up to all the drunk people wondering around Cardiff at 4am and woke us up. But overall, I was happy!

Room Tip: Try not to open your window at night as it may wake you up from drunk people
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisbudgetCardiff, General Manager at Ibis Budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with.
Thank you very much for your honest review, sorry to hear that you experienced an issue with our air cooling system, which has been resolved by now. I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to the time we can welcome you to the IBIS Budget Cardiff again.
Kind regards,
Fabrice Ledentu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eccleshall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I stayed here from the 14th of February to the 16th of February 2014. I stayed here because it said central and I was going to the Doctor Who experience on the 15th of February. It is great if you are going on a stag do etc, however if you are staying to get a good nights sleep I would not advise you stay here. Breakfast is simple but you have a vast choice of bread, cereal etc and the staff seem friendly but they did not really know what they were doing at times. Be aware of a bunk bed in some rooms.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisbudgetCardiff, General Manager at Ibis Budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with.
Thank you very much for your honest review, indeed with a new IT upgrade we were a bit confused but after few days of practice now all is fine. I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to the time we can welcome you to the IBIS Budget Cardiff again.
Kind regards,
Fabrice Ledentu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Budget Cardiff Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Cardiff Centre

Address: Tyndall Street, Cardiff CF104BE , Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Budget Cardiff Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis budget Cardiff is a hotel in the City Centre of Cardiff with affordable prices. All rooms are en-suite, with double bed and a single bunk bed. TV with freeview channels. Snack are available at our 24 hrs reception and Continental Breakfast Buffet for only £4.95. On site car park for just £4/24hrs. Free WIFI access in all bedrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Ibis Budget Cardiff Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Hotel Cardiff
Etap Cardiff
Ibis Budget Cardiff Centre Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Budget Cardiff Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.