We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay Again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road to your Saves list
SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road
76 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9LN, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 81 Hotels in Cardiff
western australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay Again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Due to our positive experience last stay, once again my Mother and myself booked into SACO Cardiff and we weren't disappointed. Although the apartment we had originally requested wasn't available, the one we were given was even better. It had a lovely view out the back to Sofia Gardens and the main bedroom was incredibly roomy with a massive bathroom. Once again Lezley the property manager was extremely helpful and I would have no hesitation in recommending this as a fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    10
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
10
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

The apartment exceeded our expectations from the location to the facilities but failed miserably in delivering the most important aspect of staying away from home which is a good night's sleep. The mattress was uncomfortable and you could feel the springs poking through which led to little sleep and awful backache which did not help when attending a two day conference and presentation. Quiet and central in location and well suited for us as we had a one year old child so it provided good flexiblity to work and cook. We spoke to the manager who said that new mattresses were on order and should have arrived two weeks ago but we feel if that was the case the apartments with such poor mattresses should not have been used until such time as the new ones were put in. Better beds would change this rating.

Room Tip: If you have a child ask for a ground floor room at the back as it is easier for the car park to load...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennieGM, Manager at SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback, we constantly strive for excellent customer satisfation and I am sorry that Saco Cardiff did not meet your expectations on this occasion. I would like an opportunitiy to discuss this with you and hopefully put your mind at ease that we do treat customer feedback with the utmost importance please contact me on jenniebuckley@sacoapartments.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Very handy for Cardiff, on a lovely road in. Nice to have our own space to relax in after being out and about all day. Couple of doors down from the cricketers pub.....fab

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London/Tanzania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

I stayed here over Christmas. it's a serviced apartment, so there's no Reception; you let yourself in through codes to the front door and a keysafe.

I was a bit nervous about being an anonymous apartment at a family time, but I was very pleasantly surprised. It was very homey, warm and very well-equipped. Loads of hot water and really comfortable beds.

There were two especially good things: the instructions sent beforehand were extremely clear and comprehensive, so that letting myself in was really easy. The second thing was that the manager, Lezley, was extremely helpful. She responded really quickly to calls and texts, even on Boxing Day, and was really kind when a) I left my phone charger behind and b) because of a misunderstanding, my friend didn't collect an extra pile of bedding from the corridor that he was meant to pick up on the day I left. Other hotels would probably have thrown it away but Lezley was very good about sorting it all out.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

I had the privilege of staying at SACO Cardiff in September this year and could honestly recommend it to anyone. My Mother and I booked into a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment, and while we thought it would be nice from the photos we had seen on the website, we were blown away by just how lovely it was when we walked in. The main bedroom itself was twice the size of most hotel rooms and had a small ensuite. The second bedroom was not as large but of a more than adequate size.
The living area was huge and had large windows (that opened!) that looked out over Cathedral Road. We were on the top floor so looked out over a number of leafy trees and had no issue with noise. The kitchen was well set out and included a washer/dryer and dishwasher.
There is a bus stop out the front, but we preferred to walk through the gorgeous Bute Park for the 15 minute walk into the city. There are a number of pubs close by with The Beverley being over the road and The Cricketers a few doors down so was very easy to find somewhere to eat. The area of Pontcanna is a short walk away and has a post office, numerous boutiques, cafes, liquor stores, delis etc so was very easy to stock up.
We enjoyed it so much that we extended our stay from 10 to 13 days and I have to thank Lezley and Sue from SACO for their friendly, professional help. I would like to think I will be back to Cardiff again and if so would not stay anywhere else.
Sara

Stayed September 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

We encountered two issues - a maintenance problem (no hot water) that took a long time to resolve (actually not resolved, but we did manage to shower in another unit on the 2nd day) and an expensive 'deposit' scheme that will burn you if you're a foreign traveller (they call asking whether they can take a deposit to secure the booking, but don't tell you how much - it is £350!). You'll pay the bank foreign exchange charges for this deposit and potentially also get burnt further when the money is credited back...... Suggest you add another £15-20 to allow for these charges (not a large amount if you're there for a week, but a 10-20% extra cost if you're staying overnight......).

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominiqueG_OM, Central Operations Manager at SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road, responded to this review, November 22, 2010
Thank you for your review. As discussed in my personal correspondence with you, I was sorry to hear of the difficulties which you encoutered during your stay at SACO Cardiff & apologise that the stay fell short of your expectations on this occasion. On reporting the fault on your 2nd day the issue was responded to within our 1 hour service level and you were given full access to another apartment for your full use.
A deposit scheme does exist for all leisure guests, especially during 'rugby weekends' when experience has shown that the most damage is caused. Both credit & debit cards are accepted through SACO and can only apologise that your bank imposed such charges on you.
I trust that the refund you received was well received as compensation for your inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of Sydney
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

Stayed as a family of 4 in 2 bedroom apartment No.4. Upon entering the unit, the kids were excited with the large layout, soft carpet and excellent facilities. The apartment was very clean. The lounge is very spacious, as is the master bedroom. The second bedroom is slightly smaller, but more than adequate for 2 children. The main bathroom was good, although the shower in the ensuite is very small. The secure parking out the back is excellent with plenty of room to turnaround. The only complaint is that there is a charge for internet access. In all th places of a 4 week stay, this was the only one that required payment.
It is a 10 to 15 minute walk into the centre of Cardiff depending where you are heading, though it is well worth the extra few minutes to walk through the royal park and gardens on the way.
All up a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road

Address: 76 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9LN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 81 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning restoration of magnificent Victorian town houses provides one and two bedroom apartments overlooking Sophia Gardens and Glamorgan County Cricket Ground. The apartments have been interior designed in a contemporary style featuring a large living/dining area (some with sofa beds), fully equipped kitchen, master bedroom with king size beds and separate bathroom. Two bedroom apartments also have king size beds and additional en-suite shower rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saco Hotel Cardiff
SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.