We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Speedway Grand Prix weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Future Inn Cardiff Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Future Inn Cardiff Bay to your Saves list
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hemingway Road, Cardiff CF10 4AU, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 80 Hotels in Cardiff
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Speedway Grand Prix weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Fantastic hotel for a fantastic weekend. We needed the sofa bed setting up and the staff were very helpful and sorted it out and it was ready for when we returned to the hotel.

The rooms were clean and the bathroom was nice. It was very warm so we had to open the window as the air conditioning didn't seem to work very well but it was fantastic.

Free wifi, parking and breakfast was included in our price and it was very worthwhile.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    641
    188
    62
    39
See reviews for
276
477
55
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Room was spacious, nicely decorated, warm and clean. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We'd picked the hotel because of the central location and the fact that it had parking on site rather than in a nearby multi-storey like some other hotels.

We were not disappointed. We were able to park right outside the front of the hotel and could wander around the lovely cardiff bay area on foot. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel, preferring to go out and try somewhere local, but we did sit in the bar late one evening which was very pleasant. I can thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just got back from a weekend at the Future Inn, Cardiff. The night Manager was the most unpleasant person i have ever met. Power hungry, egotisticial, and out ride rude. No manners whatsoever. I would sack him before you lose anymore business. I won't be staying again

If you do go make sure you are get in before he starts!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Przemek K, General Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your review.

As you were aware you were a part of large group that caused a noise nuisance on the night of your stay, our Senior Night Manager did everything he could to restore calm and quiet for the sake of other guest convenience and enjoyment. If you interpret his manor as over bearing and egotistical-it was not-he was simply to restore quiet and order for the sake of rest of our three-hundred guests.
I would suggest that you look to the behaviors and actions of your group in this matter.

We have reported the actions and behaviors of your group to the travel company who arrange your visit.

Kind Regards

Przemek Kaminski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Dock, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Every so often myself & 2 friends have a jaunt away. We decided to go and see Hairspray at the Wales Milenium Centre. Future Inn do packages so I was entrusted to sort it. They were so helpful it was fantastic. The girls made my booking a piece of cake and gave me all information I needed.

We had a fab room, the show was amazing, the hotel bar had decent wine and breakfast was scrummy.

We are looking to book our next stay already.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Przemek K, General Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Welsh_Smiley

Well you review is kind and glittering. We appreciate your kindness and I would like to thank you for sitting down and spending the time to write to us and let us know your stay was excellent. We are so lucky to be located where we are and it always helps to have shows and events filling up the Cardiff calendar. We are really glad that you found the hotel, staff and location to be suited to your wants and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest Regards

Przemek Kaminski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

In Cardiff to see a show and needing a hotel we booked on line the Future Hotel near the Red Dragon centre.
We found the room very clean and it was great to have a king size bed for each of us.
Staff were polite and were only too helpful to help us with directions and information.
Parking was free and plenty of it.
Only complaint was with the breakfast which could have been a bit warmer and the Restaurant manager was checking people in close to the coffee / tea machine which at times was causing a hold up.
I would return to this hotel if in the area again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Przemek K, General Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear PhilJLaw

Thank you for writing down your thoughts on your stay. We are very happy that you enjoyed the majority of your experience and that you found everything to your liking. We will discuss the issue you raised with the restaurant team, and we will see if we can alter our restaurant or it’s procedures to better benefit the service of our customers.

We look forward to you staying again.

Kindest Regards

Przemek Kaminski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a small convention. Even though the weekend turned out to be sunny, the one thing that stood out to me was that my room felt cold and damp all weekend long. As others have commented, you have to put the room key in a slot by the door to operate the heat/AC, electric, and such. No one explained this to me, so there was quite a bit of fumbling before I understood what that slot was supposed to be for. So I could never get the room heated up enough where I wasn't uncomfortable.

Otherwise it seems OK -- the convention spaces were nice, I had a good sandwich in the cafe my first day there, the front desk staff were helpful (though I wish they'd mentioned the card key slot) when I needed a few things, and considering the fact that there were numerous stag and hen parties there, it was surprisingly quiet. It's a nonsmoking hotel, but there was someone puffing away on my floor at one point.

It's a much easier walk to Millennium Center and all the food places than it seems, so the location was a big bonus!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Przemek K, General Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Kim R

Thank you for writing a review of the Cardiff Bay Future Inn Hotel. After reading the first paragraph of you review I was a little confused about what problem you encountered. The slots in the room do have ‘Hotel Card’ and an arrow on them to explain that you should leave your card in there and this is quite a regular thing in most hotels and has been for at least a decade now. Since the birth of modern environmentalism additions like that in large buildings have helped lower the carbon footprints of humans all around the world. I do see them as a very positive thing. We have very good staff here and they are always happy to help and make your stay easier. A little tip is if you want to leave the electric on in your room while you are out then you should be aware that all cards of that size work in those slots or you can just request and extra key card on check in. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that everything else was good,



Kindest Regards

Przemek Kaminski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

This hotel offers rooms better than many US Hampton Inns or Holiday Inns, allowing for a few UK-standard features (kill switch for the AC and most of the lights, no washcloths, toilet only occasionally in need of psychoanalysis). It is an ideal location for American tourists to recover from long days of driving on the left followed by B&Bs!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Przemek K, General Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear DavidG

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I hope that the next time you decide to travel across the pond and find yourselves in Wales, that you will stop in again and have a wonderful sleep.

Kindest Regards

Przemek Kaminski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Future Inn Cardiff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Future Inn Cardiff Bay

Address: Hemingway Road, Cardiff CF10 4AU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#15 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Future Inn Cardiff Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, EasyToBook, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Future Inn Cardiff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Future Inn Cardiff Bay Hotel Cardiff
Future Hotel Cardiff Bay
Future Inn Cardiff Bay Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Future Inn Cardiff Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.