We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never disappoints” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Future Inn Cardiff Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Future Inn Cardiff Bay to your Saves list
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hemingway Road, Cardiff CF10 4AU, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 81 Hotels in Cardiff
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

An old school friend and I have stayed here a few times. It's a great place to stay - close to the Wales Millennium Centre, restaurants and bars on the Bay, and a quick park and ride to the city centre. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable and the twin rooms have two queen Beds. Staff are friendly nod helpful and free parking is a real bonus. I expect we will be back next year!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Przemek K, General Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Ros T

Thank you so much for taking the time to note down your opinions. We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us on a few occasions and we truly do hope that you return to stay next time that you find yourself in this part of the country. We will keep trying very hard to meet all expectations and we look forward to proving that we are consistent in our service the next time you are here.

Kindest Regards

Przemek Kaminski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    538
    167
    58
    33
See reviews for
239
389
48
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I booked a family room for us at an excellent price including breakfast. We were in Cardiff to take our children to the Doctor Who Experience and this was an ideal place to stay as had everything we needed and was only a 15 minute walk to the attraction.
The staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel exceptionally clean.
The breakfast was good too.
Only downside was hotel a little too hot - we were on 6th floor.
Would definitely stay here again though and highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Przemek K, General Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear FullTime Mum

We were very glad that you found the price reasonable, that you found our staff very friendly and our hotel very clean. It’s always better to write a response to a positive review and your review was very kind so I would like to thank you for taking the time out of your day to tell us how it went. Thank you for letting us know that you found the room too hot. I have spoken to our Maintenance department and asked them to investigate and solve this before the summer. We hope that when you return you will have another enjoyable and maybe cooler stay.

Kindest Regards

Przemek Kaminski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Some of the Swindon IVC members attended a conference here last month. We found the hotel to be clean and very well maintained. Beds were lovely and the staff were very accommodating and friendly. The food was very good, but the breakfast stole the show! Good location too right next to bowling, cinema etc. The hotel also put on a good show from the conference point of view, good sized rooms with very good facilities!
Would definitely recommend to anyone looking to stay in Cardiff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Przemek K, General Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Swindon_IVC

We are completely delighted by your review and I would like to say thank you. Not everyone takes the time to tell us how we did and when we receive a glowing review like this it really helps us confirm that we are going in the right direction. Your comments on Breakfast and Conference have been passed on to the two departments and I’m sure that they will also be happy with making your stay a success.

Kindest Regards

Przemek Kaminski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights, 2 rooms as my children are now of an age where they and Mum and Dad need their own space. As requested we were given 2 rooms adjacent. Our room was right next to the lift station however they are very well sound proofed and to be fair we did not hear any noise all stay. Rooms are extremely spacious clean and good value for money, the furniture is somewhat basic in construction and does slight let down the finish. Can be very noisy in an evening as right next to a busy road, so in summer it will be important the air conditioning work.
All in all very pleasantly surprised. Polite welcoming staff that were very informative about the local area.
Breakfast buffet style good, could do with more fruit for those who do not like a cooked breakfast and some new mugs!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Przemek K, General Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear CountryBird

We are very glad that you were pleasantly surprised by our hotel and we would really like to say thank you for taking the time to write this review. Your review had both positive and negatives and this is vital for us to improve and better the services that we offer. We will bring up your suggestion of more fresh fruit at breakfast time with our kitchen team and we are currently looking into any extra sound proofing for the traffic noise that you experienced in the evening. We hope that you and your family will return to us for the next time that you stay in Cardiff and we hope that you will be able to see improvement every time that you return to us.

Kindest Regards

Przemek Kaminski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

friendly staff. breakfast overpriced. busy - used for large group conferences so manic entrance as people crowded!
good location by bowl complex, cinema and eateries. free parking.
room not cleaned or towels not replaced. nothing very interesting to do apart from a circuit walk around cardiff bay.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Przemek K, General Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Raj S

Thank you for taking your time to note down your experiences both good and bad. We are very glad that you found our staff friendly and that you enjoyed our location. I was surprised to see that you thought breakfast was overpriced. We do offer a buffet for £9 per adult and free for accompanied children. Most city centre hotels price the same kind of breakfasts on average for between £10-£15 per person. It is also abnormal for a guests room not to be serviced unless a ‘do not disturb’ sign is hung on the door. Also we were very surprised that you were unable to find interesting things to do in Cardiff bay. Apart from fishing trips, markets, Dr Who Experience, there is also the Wales Millennium Centre which is very close to our hotel and has a wide variety of shows and operas that you can take in. There is also the Water bus that will take you directly to Cardiff Castle amongst many other local activities in which you can partake. If you need some advice on what to do then it is suggested that you speak with anyone on our reception team, they are always happy to show you the way to interesting local attractions.

Kindest Regards

Przemek Kaminski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend originally booked to stay for two nights but were very happy with our stay we decided to stay for another two. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Room was lovely and clean and was serviced every day of our stay. Hotel only a short walk into the bay and city centre only 10 minute walk. Will definitely be coming back to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Przemek K, General Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear TMP 32

Thank you for writing your review of the Future Inns Cardiff Bay. We appreciate you letting us know that your stay was overly positive and it pleases us no end to know that we have succeeded in making your stay a positive, friendly and enjoyable one. We hope that you will return to us and that your next stay will also be as successful.

Kindest Regards

Przemek Kaminski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Having stayed at the Future Inn in Plymouth quite a few times we had high hopes for the Cardiff branch. We were not disappointed at all. The hotel is set close to superb amenities and a short walk to the bay and town centre. Rooms were spotlessly clean, staff polite and professional and food excellent.

The only negative was the sound of the traffic, as the hotel is alongside a ring road, and so we found it noisier than we hoped for.

Well done Future Inn, our goal is to stay at all of your branches, including Halifax, Canada. We wouldn't stay anywhere else !

Room Tip: Higher floor would give a good view and possibly quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Przemek K, General Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Jacqueline W

Thank you for writing your very kind and overwhelmingly positive review. We are very glad that we hit the standards expected of us, and we are also happy that we have lived up to our other hotels standards. We appreciate that the road we have next to us is one of the negatives of our hotel and we would like to advise anyone who may be affected by such noises to request a room on the opposite side of the hotel to the duel carriageway. That aside, we are sure that any future stay with us will be as good and if not then better. We really appreciate our regular customers and we hope that you are taking advantage of our Reward Points System that we offer.

Kindest Regards

Przemek Kaminski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Future Inn Cardiff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Future Inn Cardiff Bay

Address: Hemingway Road, Cardiff CF10 4AU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cardiff
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#16 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Future Inn Cardiff Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Future Inn Cardiff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Future Inn Cardiff Bay Hotel Cardiff
Future Hotel Cardiff Bay
Future Inn Cardiff Bay Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Future Inn Cardiff Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.