We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“affordable stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Beverley Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Beverley Hotel to your Saves list
Beverley Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75-77 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9PG, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 81 Hotels in Cardiff
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“affordable stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Cheap.
And that's almost its only advantage compared to any other places i've been stayed before.
The room is big enough but needs to be cleaned more frequently. We couldn't see through the window...
It has a bath but i wouldn't use it as a bath just as a shower.
We heard everything what was happened in the room next door. There a was a young couple...
Anyway for the price what they asked for we were expecting this quality, so its ok.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    34
    12
    13
    12
See reviews for
14
28
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Great location
Friendly staff at the bar, and great service by the bar staff.
Management however was unwilling to listen to our concerns. Rude when requesting the problem with the fire doors, and refused to listen. Felt unsafe and fire signs were unclear! This did not concern management. Responded to us in a rude manner and inappropriately spoke to the children. We we're disgusted with the response .
Not a children friendly hotel,
Will not stay here in the future, as we come as a big group to Cardiff every year!
The Only hotel we have had a problem with.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Our stay was in a large group we had children with us between the ages of 12-17. On booking we were not told it is not very child friendly and children have to leave the bar area at 10pm. After the manager disgracefully spoke to one of the children and sarcastically asked 'can you not read' she further offended us all calling us deaf and confused after an 'apparent' fire alarm was set off and we didn't hear it whilst in the bar. The managers attitude was very negative and rude.
Another concern for us was that the fire doors had locks on them which you had to unlock with a key, this is a huge health and safety risk in case of a fire once again the manager could not understand our complaint that if there was a fire in the reception area you would have to go upstairs and down a fire escape but the obstacle would be unlocking the fire door on the way up, what if you didn't have the key on you?
Overall the manager made our stay very unpleasant and unwelcoming, not a place we would stay again after being treated like dirt!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

As a solo traveller, I arrived at the beginning of a rugby international weekend, and I was offered a quiet room away from the noise of the stairway and bar. I received a warm welcome and I felt safe and relaxed. The room was clean and quiet, warm and comfortable.
The only slightly annoying element was that the room above had squeaky floorboards and the noise of the guest walking around made me wake up earlier than I wanted the next morning!!
The breakfast was held in the hotel bar; there was an excellent choice of food and there were several staff available to help who were all cheerful and efficient.
The hotel was close to the city centre, easily within walking distance, although I think it was also on a bus route.
I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed for one night in a group of four, having booked two twin rooms in advance on a booking website. When we arrived, we discovered that only one room had been reserved due to "someone not reading the email properly". Fortunately the room reserved was a large triple, so the manager offered to put a extra bed in for a reduced rate and free cooked breakfast which we excepted. As we were a large group, we were given a extra key for free (normally a £25 deposit). The room was reasonably clean with dated decor and a similar bathroom. It was a bit cramped with the extra bed, but as we were just using it a crash pad, not a problem.
When two of the party returned (past midnight), they discovered that the extra key did not open the room door. Despite ringing the emergency bell for over a hour, they got no response and only got into the room when the rest of the party returned (good job is wasn't a proper emergency).
In the morning we discovered that towels for the 4th bed had not been provided.
Breakfast was well cooked & tasty, but rather small and very mingy on the beans. If we had paid for this, we would have been disappointed.
When checking out, we mentioned the key problem and were told we had been issued with the "wrong spare key". During every conversation with the staff, we were asked to review the hotel online, even when we were complaining.
So in conclusion, the hotel will do everything possible to get a good review, apart from providing the rooms booked and a way of accessing them.
Special mention to the Sunday receptionist (Billie?) for her shear audacity in handing out review cards as we left. I don't know what you get for a name check in a review, but I hope it is worth it!

Room Tip: Phone up if you book online to check they have read the email!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I recently stayed at the Beverley Hotel, to be greeted by a warm welcome.We were shown to our room which catered for all our needs and had a good supply of clean white towels.
My husband and i ate at the hotel to find our meals of good proportion and at a very reasonable price.
On this particular evening the hotel had a themed night which was a lot of fun and also raised. money for a local charity. Although it was busy the bar staff were very efficient and pleasant, therefor we were served promptly .
Breakfast was Continental with unlimited fresh juices and beverages which was more than adequate but with a long journey ahead of us we also had a cooked breakfast for a few pounds each which was excellent and set us up for the day.
We shall return to the Beverley Hotel on our next visit to Cardiff as we had a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Hideous hotel. Would never stay there again, mainly because of the staff. Rude, unhelpful and particularly obstructive. When asking for help with simple requests such as a wake up call or opening the car park at 11.30pm the staff went out of their way to not complete these tasks. The manager in particular seemed lazy, obnoxious and very unhelpful x

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beverley Hotel

Address: 75-77 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9PG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Beverley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for hotels in Cardiff, our lodge offers budget accommodation close to the heart of the city. So whether you're here for business or pleasure, you'll be near enough to all the action, yet happily away from the hustle and bustle. The Millennium Stadium is just a 15-minute walk away, as is Cardiff Arms Park, and attractions such as Cardiff Castle and Cardiff Bay are also within easy reach. While you're sightseeing, how about stepping into the future - or the past - by visiting the Dr Who Experience? Of course, you won't need a Tardis to get to us because the M4 is on the doorstep, and excellent rail and plane connections are just a taxi-ride away. As for the lodge itself, our classic Victorian building was once a rich man's townhouse. Today it's anything but expensive to stay here. With a comfy bed and a cool pint or plate of hearty pub-food available in the pub downstairs, you'll find it offers a great-value base for exploring the Welsh capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Beverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverley Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beverley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.