We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in the City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Cardiff

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Park Plaza Cardiff to your Saves list
Park Plaza Cardiff
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Greyfriars Road, Cardiff CF10 3AL, Wales (City Centre)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Official website deals!
Ranked #4 of 80 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    457
    109
    38
    23
See reviews for
175
503
81
294
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I have just come back from this hotel. Excellent location, spotless room, lovely food and helpful, friendly staff. There was a magnifying mirror and a decent hairdryer in the bathroom. Good breakfast selection, the cooked breakfast was piping hot and you could have eggs cooked to order. Great value for money.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I booked an afternoon tea, spa treatments and an overnight stay for a hen party. Every part of of stay was fantastic, the afternoon tea was amazing and delicious, the spa treatments were fantastic and so relaxing. The rooms were lovely and spotless, we all had a great sleep. At every point of our stay the staff were extremely friendly and went above and beyond to ensure we were happy, they all provided exceptional customer service. I would highly recommend a stay at the Park Plaza because I will be booking again. Thank you Park Plaza for a fantastic stay, we all throughly enjoyed!

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Have just returned from visiting Cardiff for a concert on May 1st, a few things have caused great disappointment which I'm choosing to share. Selected to stay here as it looked very nice in the pictures, and reviews were very complimentary. Price was very good too.
Arrived at the hotel, nice welcome from reception, room was very impressive. High ceilings, quality fixtures, lots of storage, good lighting. So far so good.
Went to our concert, arrived back at the hotel around 11pm. Popped to the bar to get some water, staff weren't especially quick in serving us with two males stood having a chat in front of us failing to acknowledge us. Back to the room (310), walked in and was a bit surprised to hear our neighbours' (307) TV quite clearly through the wall. We could also hear most of their conversations too, which wasn't particularly welcome. We assume they were part of a group as people were coming and going from the room quite often, each time they did this (around 10-15 times during the night) the door slammed behind them. And when I say slammed, it vibrated through the wall holding the headboard. A door in need of some attention Park Plaza. My partner and I managed to fall asleep during a quiet period, but were awoken at 1am by a phone going off in 307. Then again at 2am. Then a few times more, all the time mixed with voices and TV noise. At 5am there was a bang against the wall, at this point we decided that we weren't going to get much sleep so gave up, contemplating our journey home having had no rest. This was one of the worst sound-proofed rooms I've ever stayed in, has anyone from the hotel tested this?
When we checked out, the girl behind the desk failed to ask us whether we had enjoyed our stay so this clearly isn't high on the hotel's list of customer satisfaction properties.
I rarely write reviews, but felt I had to share my experience. Maybe we had a bad choice of room and we were unlucky with our neighbours, but that's not the point. As a paying customer I feel greatly let down by the Park Plaza Cardiff.

Room Tip: Do not stay in Room 310 unless you want to hear your neighbours. Clearly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Cardiff, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

Firstly may we apologise for the noise disruption you experienced during your recent visit. I am genuinely sorry you had the misfortune of encountering such a problem, please be assured had we of known about the issue at the time we would have done our utmost to resolve the disruption immediately. I have passed your feedback on to our Maintenance Manager who will investigate your comments in regards to soundproofing the partition.

I am very disappointed to read that you were not asked about your stay at check out, as this is a vital part of our every day procedures. I would like to apologise and have passed your comments onto our Reception Manager, who will reiterate with the team the importance of customer feedback prior to departure.

On a more positive note, thank you for your kind comments regarding the décor of the room.
Once again I would like to apologise for the issues cause and I do hope that this experience has not hindered your opinion of us, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Hotel is situated right in the heart of Cardiff so perfect location. Check in was easy, staff were polite. Room was clean, big and very modern. Bed was also comfy and facilities were plentiful. Only downfall is the noise from the bars across the road, the hotel has added extra double glazing in order to stop the noise but it wasn't adequate. I know the hotel cannot do any more but if you can try and ask for a room the other side of the hotel which I'm sure you'd have a lovely nights sleep! Spa facilities were lovely and staff in the spa were very helpful! All in all a lovely night away apart from the noise.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembs, Wales
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Our check in was smooth with friendly and polite staff. Lovely big, comfy beds and a very good bathroom with a large bath and powerful shower. Could not fault the bedrooms. Breakfast the next morning was superb. Attentive staff brought coffee or tea. A good range of food that was good quality, hot and tasty.

The one let down for us was trying to order a drink around 12pm the night we stayed. The barman was just closing the bar but told us we could order some drinks at reception. When we went to do this they asked for our room number which we gave and then they asked for '£50 deposit'. We only wanted a couple of beers and orange juices so declined. We have never come across this at a hotel. Would have been a 5* experience otherwise.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Cardiff, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

Thank you so much for your very positive review following your stay with us. Please accept my most sincere apologies for the confusion while ordering drinks at our bar. As part of our check-in procedures we give guests the option to either leave a swipe of a credit card or a deposit on a debit card for their extras if they wish to charge their bedroom account or there is also the option to pay cash for extras as taken. There may have been some confusion at the time of check in if this was not explained to you in detail. Be assured that your constructive criticism will be taken on board and procedures will be revisited.

We pride ourselves on offer exemplary customer service so again please accept my personal apologies for any upset caused. I hope this isolated incident will not deter you from staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Plaza Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Cardiff

Address: Greyfriars Road, Cardiff CF10 3AL, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#3 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#4 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the AA Hotel of the Year award for Wales and located in the heart of the city centre, The Park Plaza Cardiff oozes luxury and sophistication. The 4-star deluxe Park Plaza Cardiff is situated on Greyfriars Road, within easy reach of some of Cardiff's most historic and impressive sites including Cardiff Castle, the Millennium Stadium and all main shopping areas including St Davids Centre. Park Plaza Cardiff offers 129 state-of-the-art guestrooms - including superior & executive rooms and suites - each boasting a specially designed range of sumptuous fabrics and furniture. The hotel's Laguna Restaurant and Bar offers a fresh and original mix of local and international flavours and is previous winner of South Wales Restaurant of the Year. Contemporary conference facilities at Park Plaza Cardiff include 9 meeting rooms plus 1 large function room, all air-conditioned and offering high specification audiovisual and technical equipment. All conference rooms, guestrooms and public areas benefit from complimentary high-speed wireless Internet. Park Plaza Cardiff boasts a state-of-the-art health club within the hotel. The brand new Laguna Health & Spa comprises full gymnasium, 20 metre chlorine-free indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, studio and 8 massage & treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Park Plaza Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Park Plaza
Park Plaza Cardiff Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Cardiff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.