We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!! Amazing ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Cardiff

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Park Plaza Cardiff to your Saves list
Park Plaza Cardiff
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Greyfriars Road, Cardiff CF10 3AL, Wales (City Centre)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Official website deals!
Ranked #4 of 80 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wow!! Amazing ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

What a great find! Exceptional service from all - if only all hotels could be like this. The food was simply incredible - really fresh ingredients cooked to perfection. When we raved about some tomatoes (yes, tomatoes!) the chef even gave us a leaflet explaining where they were sourced and the types available ...

Great location for shopping and the Millenium stadium and the pool was an added bonus.

Will be sure to visit again.

Room Tip: The room was absolutely fine, but I'm sure the reception staff would accommodate whatever reques...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    723
    455
    109
    39
    23
See reviews for
175
501
81
294
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night with going to cardiff for the scotland football game! First impression was the hotel is gorgeous, and our opinion stayed the exact same. Our room was lovely and we had a large king sized bed, tea/coffee making and all the mini toiletries you need! Shower was good and the towels were massive and fluffy!
Breakfast was included in our booking and was a fab breakfast.
The location of the hotel was great, close to the shopping and bars and about 5-10 minute walk from st marys street.
Staff were all very nice and friendly. Will definitely recommend and return if back in cardiff.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Four night stay mixing pleasure and buisness. Check in was super efficient, and first impression of the lobby area "warm and relaxing" our room was on the first floor facing onto the road. There is good soundproofing but some slight noise can be experienced at nights end of week. (there are a couple of clubs on the other side of the road and a Weatherspoons pub). Lovely well appointed and clean room,the bathroom having the largest bath towels ever, and a super powerful shower. Breakfast was excellent and all the staff are eager to please. I would certainly use this hotel again. The spa/gym was most pleasent and relaxing.There are places to eat nearby if not wishing to use hotel facilites,a theatre at the end of the street and the main shopping area within 5 mins walk.

Room Tip: Higher floors would probably suffer less from outside noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We chose this hotel over others in Cardiff because the conference staff were very helpful and last time we did a meeting in Cardiff delegates complained about parking at the Marriott! The conference facilities are great - on the ground floor all on one level with flexibility. Some delegates complained that the main meeting room was too long and thin but mostly they should have sat closer to the front!! Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. We ate in the hotel the night before and even though we had a large table the food was good and service pleasant. The only thing is if you had driven to Cardiff the hotel has no car park. Guests have to use the NCP opposite which is hugely expensive and this must put people off - I would certainly think twice if I had driven and this would definitely stop me taking the kids there for the weekend. Park Plaza need to sort out some good deals for guests. The chain is good especially the London hotels on South Bank - but hey that's another review!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Has literally everything a business traveller needs... wifi, good food, clean accommodation, close to town, loyalty scheme, gym!

It also has a small number of floors (with alot of rooms per floor) rather than 20+ storeys so waiting for lifts is not an issue, unlike so many other hotels.

Highly recommended but not sure about value as I book through corporate facility so I dont settle the bill!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Only stayed for one night, but it was brilliant. Good value for money, great facilities, great location, 2 minute walk to the shops. Staff are brilliant and upgraded our room on arrival due to e-mailing asking for a high floor. Free wi-fi, which is easy to use. Television has free view with a lot of channels. All in all a brilliant place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Without a reservation I dropped into the Park Plaza for two nights. Had gorgeous clean and quiet room, enjoyed a class at the fitness centre and a swim in the pool. Walked over to Cardiff castle and the park. Browsed through the local shopping area and walked back to the hotel. It is very well situated. Parked my car right across the street and received discounted overnight parking.
Enjoyed a very nice dinner and had a great breakfast in the dinning room. I highly recommend this location for a get away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Plaza Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Cardiff

Address: Greyfriars Road, Cardiff CF10 3AL, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#1 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#3 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#3 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the AA Hotel of the Year award for Wales and located in the heart of the city centre, The Park Plaza Cardiff oozes luxury and sophistication. The 4-star deluxe Park Plaza Cardiff is situated on Greyfriars Road, within easy reach of some of Cardiff's most historic and impressive sites including Cardiff Castle, the Millennium Stadium and all main shopping areas including St Davids Centre. Park Plaza Cardiff offers 129 state-of-the-art guestrooms - including superior & executive rooms and suites - each boasting a specially designed range of sumptuous fabrics and furniture. The hotel's Laguna Restaurant and Bar offers a fresh and original mix of local and international flavours and is previous winner of South Wales Restaurant of the Year. Contemporary conference facilities at Park Plaza Cardiff include 9 meeting rooms plus 1 large function room, all air-conditioned and offering high specification audiovisual and technical equipment. All conference rooms, guestrooms and public areas benefit from complimentary high-speed wireless Internet. Park Plaza Cardiff boasts a state-of-the-art health club within the hotel. The brand new Laguna Health & Spa comprises full gymnasium, 20 metre chlorine-free indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, studio and 8 massage & treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Park Plaza Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Park Plaza
Park Plaza Cardiff Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Cardiff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.