We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the money!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jolyon's Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Jolyon's Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Jolyon's Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bute Crescent, Cardiff CF10 5AN, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 80 Hotels in Cardiff
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Well worth the money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

I booked two nights at this hotel for my 40th.....and then read the dreadful reviews and considered cancelling. I'm glad I didn't!

I did call the hotel as I was worried about comments about not being able to get in. We were told to pop into Bar Cwtch (under the hotel) if there was nobody around. But there was.

We stayed in Room 3, which was lovely. Comfortable double bed, furnished in a sort of medieval style. Coffee and tea in the room, lovely big en suite with large bath.
The whole hotel smells clean and is immaculately so.

We only ate the included breakfast one morning. It was nothing special, but served with a smile. A small English breakfast (with the odd half slice of black pudding mentioned below!) but with plenty of toast, croissants etc.

The staff were all friendly, and were all happy to help with taxi bookings. Parking is not free, because this is a developed dockside area and space is presumably at a premium. There is an NCP around the corner. The area is right next to the waterside, the millenium centre. There are loads of restaurants within walking distance as well as a cinema.

We didn't meet either Jolyon or Scott, but this does not come across as the sort of hotel where customer service is not an absolute priority so I somehow doubt that the incidents described elsewhere are representative.

My only criticism - heating could do with being turned down, but there are windows that open.

We stayed on a weekend. It was a little noisy, but didn't keep us awake.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    59
    22
    21
    17
See reviews for
10
123
13
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

Worst sleep out ever. I didn't sleep at all. Staff in need of training in all areas. The manager held a meeting in the lounge area for customers! I felt out of place. I was offered free parking on making a booking and was sent into a tesco car park that was £2.50 per hour! It was loud and dirty. The internet kept cutting out. The only nice thing was the coffee in the room served with no sugar. Don't waist your time of money in this BnB, I wont be again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottmdavies, General Manager at Jolyon's Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your comments, and I am shocked to hear of your experience.

At Jolyon's we pride ourselves on great customer service and a warm and friendly environment. I would like to discuss these comments further with you and would ask that if you wish to please call me on 02920 488775 and hopefully we can resolve any issues.

Many thanks,

Scott Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

Excellent centrally based hotel with lovely staff welcoming you to one of 6 themed rooms. Our moroccan room was stylish & cosy with a beautiful en-suite bathroom. The tasty welsh breakfast is not to be missed!! The hotel is also directly opposite the Millenium Theatre and just a couple of minutes walk from Cardiff Bay where there's lots of restaurants, bars and coffee shops - we were spoilt for choice! With a Tesco Express and taxi rank also directly behind the hotel, everything we needed was to hand. Cant wait to stay there again!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottmdavies, Manager at Jolyon's Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

We thank you very much for your kind comments, and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Jolyon's Boutique Hotel.

If you are in Cardiff again and require accommodation please give me a call and I will do all I can to help.

Many thanks,

Scott Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

Received night stay as a Christmas present couldn't have been better great location, fantastic helpful friendly staff. Stayed in room 3 morocan theme lovely bathroom. Opted to spend a chill out evening in bar cwtch very appropriately named very comfy.We love our food and would normally go for a 3course meal but opted instead for the pizza,s and fat chips having seen the pizza oven we were not disappointed. Would recommend hotel and bar to others very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

First time at Jolyons but won't be the last. Great rooms, great breakfast and friendly staff. OK - it can be a bit noisy due to its location (I hate to think what it's like at the weekends) right in the heart of Cardiff Bays restaurant scene - my recommendation, buy some ear plugs and just enjoy the whole relaxing experience inside.

Bar Cwtch is, as described by the word Cwtch (cuddle). Intimate, friendly and uber cool. Menu is a little limited (pizzas & flat breads dominate) but from sneaking furtive peaks at other diners scran, it looked fab. Will definately try next time. I really, REALLY fancied a cheese burger but had to go elsewhere (as an aside dont even consider the pseudo American diner called Eddies just around the corner - really dismal).

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

We stayed at this hotel in October. We had a special deal with Groupon but we were not treated any differently. Had the room with the balcony which was fab. We had pizza delivered to our room - again really tasty pizza. Th room was spotlessly cleaned although there were a few stains on the carpet and chips off the enamel in the bath but it wasn't a problem. The service was really firendly and breakfast very tasty again.
The location is great for being in the heart of the bay. All in all a quaint place.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

Brilliant location in Cardiff Bay, especially if you're planning on going out in that area. Everything is on the door step. Very stylish interior and the rooms are all individual., with great attention to detail. Particularly glad to see fresh coffee in the room - all hotels should do that! So much nicer than a big, bland chain. Staff are young, but really pleasant and helpful. Had a lovely stay and would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jolyon's Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolyon's Boutique Hotel

Address: Bute Crescent, Cardiff CF10 5AN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jolyon's Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegantly restored Georgian town house is situated in the oldest terrace in Cardiff Bay, opposite the millenium centre. We offer superb luxury accommodation, comprising of six lavishly furninshed, luxury bedrooms. Facilities include king-sized beds, Wi-fi facilities, free-to-view television, beverages, some with views of Cardiff Bay. Sumptuous en-suite bathrooms, include one with a whirlpool bath and one with a wet room appointed to the highest standards, with extra large fluffy towels, bathrobes and toiletries.Delicious full welsh breakfasts or a generous seasonal buffet are served in our Bar Cwtch. Relaxed days can be spent with a coffee or a glass of good wine or a speciality beer sitting on leather couches, with a newspaper and enjoying the cosy warmth of a wood-burning stove.Arrive with us as a customer, leave as a friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Jolyon's Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolyons Boutique Cardiff
Hotel Jolyons Boutique
Jolyon's Boutique Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jolyon's Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.