We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jolyon's Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Jolyon's Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Jolyon's Boutique Hotel
Bute Crescent, Cardiff CF10 5AN, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 81 Hotels in Cardiff
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed for bank holiday weekend for a sailing and food festival so Cardiff bay area was packed. Had room number 6 at the top and the back of the building - the only one with a roof terrace as far as I know. Bed was comfy and bathroom nice, no shower curtain but didn't really matter as the bath is very big. Roof terrace is just a flat roof to sit out on (and have a cigarette if you are so inclined) but can be noisy as it overlooks the beer garden below and next door. We didn't mind as it was good people watching on a busy weekend. It was quite noisy but the hotel is 2 mins from the waterside with tons of bars and restaurants so that is to be expected - and is just what we wanted to be right in the middle of things. Breakfast was really good and tasty and the staff were all very polite. The girls behind the bar on Saturday were lovely, I think one was leaving the next day to have a baby and the other I think was called Kaitlin - both really great staff. Overall would definitely be back and would have the same room again.

Room Tip: room 6 is at the top with a little roof terrace - really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jolyons-hotel, Manager at Jolyon's Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Amazing thanks so much we really do appriciate your kind comments

hope to see you again soon.

dioch

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    56
    20
    20
    17
See reviews for
8
119
11
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The service in this hotel was amazing, and the location at the bay the best.
I stayed in room 5 i think, facing the Millennium Centre. The room was really big and it has really nice windows. The toilet was wonderful.
The bar/restaurant at the basement was really well decorated.
I really recommend to everybody to go to this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the Millennium Centre have amazing views. If you book online you have the option t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jolyons-hotel, Manager at Jolyon's Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Amazing thanks so much we really do appriciate your kind comments

have a lovely end to the summer and we look forward to you staying again

dioch

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Just got back from an over night stay with my boyfriend and we loved this hotel. We stayed in room 1 which had a fab wet room. The staff were very friendly and breakfast was lovely. The hotels bar Cwtch has a great beer garden, perfect for a cold drink on a hot day. We are already planning our next stay. I fully recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jolyons-hotel, Owner at Jolyon's Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Amazing thanks so much we really do appriciate your kind comments

have a lovely summer and we look forward to you staying again

dioch

Jolyon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We were lucky to arrive on during a two-day food festival right outside the door on the Roald Dahl Plass. I was worried that the activity in the area would mean a poor night's sleep, but despite the festival, the music, the crowds, etc., once we closed the windows it was surprisingly quiet. The shower seemed to be purely ornamental. I never did figure out how to work it. There was a wonderful bathtub, though. Breakfast was delicious, the staff was very friendly, and we liked the bar in the basement. Parking was tricky. I had emailed the hotel beforehand and was given advice, but lost the printout of the email. When I arrived and called the hotel to ask where to park, nobody could help. I had to pull over to find the email, which I finally did, and here's the important info: use the Havannah Street Car Park. It was 7 pounds for 24 hours. Beware, there is a car park a bit closer, the Mermaid Quay Car Park, but 24 hours cost 20 pounds and they only had machines that took coins! Who carries around 20 pounds in coins?

Room Tip: I requested a quiet room and was put on the top floor. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jolyons-hotel, Owner at Jolyon's Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
wow thanks so much for your lovely comments its really nice to have great people staying with us

thanks again

Diolch

Jolyon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

A two night break with my husband to coincide with Cardiff Bay food and drink festival. A lovely little hotel, comfortable rooms with an impressive wet room. Good breakfast cooked to order. Only negative was the ice machine in the bar broke so no cold drinks a bit unfortunate on the hottest weekend of the year!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jolyons-hotel, Manager at Jolyon's Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
well thanks for your lovley comments We look forward to see ing you in the near future

thanks again

jolyon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel as a birthday treat in February. We had a very pleasant welcome. Parking outside is at a premium when you may have a lot of luggage to take to your room. The room was pleasant and quaint, a little bit dusty in some areas, but that did not distract from it being used as a bedroom for one night. The one criticism I did have of our room was that the heated towel rail in our bathroom, it was wall mounted and the size of a small radiator. In fact it did indeed act as a radiator (but no visible means to turn it off) and was exceptionally hot, even to the extent we had to open the window to cool the room down. This in turn let in the noise of the drunken revellers outside.

The breakfast the following morning was of excellent quality, though it was a little slow. We were the only two in for breakfast, yet it took about 25 minutes for the cooked breakfast to arrive. We were not in a hurry, so it wasn't an issue.

What could have been an issue was that the nearest parking is the Mermaid Quay a short walk away, which would have cost almost £20 for the overnight stay, but again the gods were good to us and the pay machines were broken and the stay was free.

Overall, a lovely hotel, a great stay, but was marred by the towel rail (You could get quite a nasty burn off it). But if you do indeed, like me, worry about parking and its cost, this might cause concern.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jolyons-hotel, Owner at Jolyon's Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Many thanks for your lovley comments have alovley summer and we hope to see you soon


JOlyon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Lovely location and rooms. Fab service and breakfast. Room though very loud as next to beer garden and bar even though nice and cwtchy very busy with non guests so no where to sit . Did not eat there but breakfast was fan and service was lovely

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jolyons-hotel, Owner at Jolyon's Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
thanks for your comments We love happy customers and always look to add more please ask the manager for a special rate and a few more sausages at breakfast

have a greaqt summer

jolyon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jolyon's Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolyon's Boutique Hotel

Address: Bute Crescent, Cardiff CF10 5AN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegantly restored Georgian town house is situated in the oldest terrace in Cardiff Bay, opposite the millenium centre. We offer superb luxury accommodation, comprising of six lavishly furninshed, luxury bedrooms. Facilities include king-sized beds, Wi-fi facilities, free-to-view television, beverages, some with views of Cardiff Bay. Sumptuous en-suite bathrooms, include one with a whirlpool bath and one with a wet room appointed to the highest standards, with extra large fluffy towels, bathrobes and toiletries.Delicious full welsh breakfasts or a generous seasonal buffet are served in our Bar Cwtch. Relaxed days can be spent with a coffee or a glass of good wine or a speciality beer sitting on leather couches, with a newspaper and enjoying the cosy warmth of a wood-burning stove.Arrive with us as a customer, leave as a friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Jolyon's Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolyons Boutique Cardiff
Hotel Jolyons Boutique
Jolyon's Boutique Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jolyon's Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.