We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding architecture to complement a brilliant show. Sad staff faces?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wales Millennium Centre

Wales Millennium Centre
Bute Street, Cardiff, Wales
029 2063 6464
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 76 attractions in Cardiff
Type: Theaters
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: We’re so much more than a theatre. Our visitors enjoy blockbuster West End musicals, opera, ballet and contemporary dance, hip hop and stand up comedy, art exhibitions, workshops, training days, free daily foyer performances, guided tours, bars and restaurants... there is something for everyone.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding architecture to complement a brilliant show. Sad staff faces?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

There can't be many more (modern) beautiful buildings in the world than the Wales Millennium Centre.It is simply stunning from the outside and Donald Gordon's theatre is just awesome!

Couple that with 'must see' shows like Phantom of the Opera, which I watched last night, makes this a jewel in Cardiff's crown.

However. I must say the staff were pretty miserable, which surprised me to say the least. With that in mind, makes the review only 4 out 5. Come on trustees, this needs to be looked at...

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    504
    147
    29
    4
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Wales, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Phantom of the Opera”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Fantastic performance of Phantom of the Opera at the WMC on the 3/1/13. Went with my husband and enjoyed it so much I booked a single ticket to see it again this week on my own before it ends it's run in Cardiff!! If you get an opportunity to see this show, don't miss it, you won't be disappointed. Fantastic performances all round, particularly 'Christine' and the 'Phantom'. Brilliant staging, sound, effects and costumes.The WMC is a fantastic place to experience. If you come to Cardiff Bay, you must experience what the WMC has to offer.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wales millenium centre phantom of the opera”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

WOW,WOW,WOW!!!! The venue is amazing, the show was fantastic,the acting,singing and dancing was brilliant and the staff were great,we sat on the upper level and still had a great view,everyone enjoyed every bit of the show and was very pleased we could use lifts so no worries about my Nan panting up the stairs,book it quick before you miss out!!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“impressive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Was very impressed by the design and activity line-up. Did not have a chance to catch a play/musical as it was a rather last minute trip, but there are some good shows - Phantom, Sleeping Beauty, Swan Lake..If you're in the area and love the theater, pop by and surprise yourself and/or partner with a show! =)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Splendid.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Perfectly built for a variety of shows and concerts. I have visited many times and every time it has been a pleasure. The performances the sound the building itself is outstanding. I have never been disappointed.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wales Millennium Centre also viewed

 

Been to Wales Millennium Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wales Millennium Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Wales Millennium Centre to your Saves list