We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The taste of Brazil” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Viva Brazil

Viva Brazil
Ground floor, Maldron hotel | St Mary's st, Cardiff, Wales
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #99 of 938 Restaurants in Cardiff
Price range: $14 - $37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Viva Brazil Churrascaria is an award winning, authentic, Brazilian style Steakhouse
Croydon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The taste of Brazil”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

My wife and I got a glimpse of this restaurant while making our way to our hotel from cardiff station, on arrival into cardiff. We just had avfeeling the food will be goid so we went back there in the evening. The food was good, the enviroment really romantic with lovely decors. The bill was reasonable for 2 people and was worth it for good food. We will go back there next time we are in Cardiff

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    169
    71
    27
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“No good if you're veggie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely meal, salad bar really good and it's very easy to pile it on...don't! There were 15 types of meat to try all delicious, didn't try the chicken heart, chickened out!
Cocktails were fab too, just risk I'd left room for desert! The speciality coffees sounded lovely! Next time I will not go go seconds to the salad bar!
Thought £24 was a lot for a Buffett style main meal but I suppose for all that steak etc its good value!
Will definitely go back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Meat, meat and more gorgeous meat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I had heard restaurants like this described before and thought they sounded rather naff - but it was fantastic.

The premise is that you pay a one fee and can then eat as much salad and meat as you like - a "full rodizio" (other options are just salad, vegetarian or a more expensive "full rodizio & seafood"). Once you've selected you can help yourself to salad and wait for meat to waft past. And there really does seem to be no limit. When we pegged out without having sampled everything there were encouragements to stay longer.

But of course no limit is no use if everything is horrid! And it was great. I especially liked the chicken hearts and sausage. Not so keen on the pork with Parmesan - but then I don't like Parmesan so not really a surprise!

I would definately go again if I went back to Cardiff

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“you should never leave hungry!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is reasonably close to a genuine Brazilian restaurant. the portions were good as was the salad bar and the service. If you leave hungry then its your own fault! The price was a bit high in my opinion.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Visited on a Friday night, which as you would imagine, was very busy. Quickly led to our table, so no hanging around there, staff very freindly and attentive with drinks service etc. Food was excellent with so much choice. Not really suitable for vegetarians, would be an expensive salad bar but just great for us carnivores. Haven't as yet managed to get to try every dish, too full and will be back to try again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viva Brazil also viewed

Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to Viva Brazil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viva Brazil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.