We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fun for the family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doctor Who Experience Cardiff Bay

Doctor Who Experience Cardiff Bay
Discovery Quay, Porth Teigr | Butetown, Cardiff CF10 4GA, Wales
+44 844 801 3663
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 59 Attractions in Cardiff
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Amusement Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Starting in the Gallifrey Museum, take part in an interactive adventure with the Twelfth Doctor before stepping behind the scenes of your adventure into the largest collection of props, costumes and sets from this iconic show. A must for Doctor Who fans of all ages.
Holywell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good fun for the family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

My nine year old daughter, along with my wife and I really enjoyed our visit. The children get to fly the tardis and get involved through the interactive part of the experience. Then there are lots of exhibits to see and the inevitable shop at the end. We had a good couple of hours at this attraction and would recommend a visit. Cardiff bay also has a lot to see and do.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    747
    393
    123
    42
    15
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, VA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Super fun especially for Dr Who Fans”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We made the trip to Cardiff especially for this experience. The interactive part was super fun especially for my 8 year old son that loves Dr. Who. We all enjoyed it, (4 year old and 14 year old) including my husband that is not a fan.

The static displays were great and made for some fun photos. It was well worth our visit.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

This was a great value experience. Great to see all the props from over the years... many originals. You are able to get close to all the models, fantastic photo opportunities, and some are interactive.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Treat for a Whovian”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Visited: in the morning hours, with group of 15-odd people (mainly doctor who fans and children).
Time spend: Hour and Half
Impression: The staff and the tour guide were friendly.
The attraction: The tour begins with interactive episode in which the group is set a task to save the Doctor. It was my favourite aspect of the exhibition, we were to go through the forest of angels (short and artificial), corridors of TARDIS (would've been amazing if not that short), set of Daleks (which set everyone confused), a rushed 3D cinema, yet the real jewel had to be driving of the TARDIS, in which every member was set on a control panel with an individual mission, the individuals were to stir the TARDIS according to the doctors instructions. It was surely fun, with vapour, sound effects and the replica buzzing and whirring. It really felt like being part of the "Children of Time".
Next aspect was the museum, which considered of two levels featuring props from the newest series (11th era mainly). The exhibitions had the original clothes worn by all the doctors and companions, there were sonic screwdrivers and other geeky apparatus of the show. Wax work of Matt Smith looked nothing like the actor. There are three different TARDISes, but touching any of them is strongly disadvised. Further on we have costumes, monsters and props, some were worn and sloppy (especially the face of boe). It has not much to offer, and if you're not a fan there's nothing worth attaching the eye onto. There's a children section which has drawing tables and dancing room, a green screen studio with props (fezzes, scarfs, sonics) and photographic section. (10£ per photo).
Worth the price: it's not expensive, but not a must see
Overall: rushed, unpolished, but with some highlights worth the money

The shop wasn't as expensive- the props cost the same as they do in any shops. We spend over £40 on shirts, sonic and poster.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great for kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

My son enjoyed this very much, would recommend to anyone with children interested in Doctor Who. Great couple of hours.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doctor Who Experience Cardiff Bay also viewed

Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to Doctor Who Experience Cardiff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doctor Who Experience Cardiff Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.