We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cardiff International Pool

Cardiff International Pool
Olympian Drive | Grangetown, Cardiff CF11 0JS, Wales
029 2072 9090
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #128 of 179 things to do in Cardiff
Attraction details
Plymouth
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We were looking forward to visiting again to this fabulous pool with amazing flumes and a big professional pool. However we were disappointed as the upkeep is certainly lacking - rusty stains all over the stairs and flumes structure and anywhere there was steel really. This made it look really old, shabby and uncared for. Certainly not the same place as last year it was; changing room doors missing door knobs, stickers left on walls, main swimming pool had a dark deposit on the bottom of the pool, tiles grouting all dirty, not cleaned regularly enough. In addition, signs asking people to take off their shoes on entry to changing rooms but no one there to enforce this, so most people didn't bother. I felt sorry for those who did as a total wasted effort. Cafe trays not cleared from tables and left dirty.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    14
    9
    8
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dirty toilets and changing rooms, god help the cleanliness of the pool!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

DISGUSTING, UNHYGIENIC AND A DISGRACE TO WALES!. We were so looking forward to our day out, but I would have to say 'don't bother' to travel to Cardiff unless you have petrol to waste. Visited on 20/8/13, changing room requires no footwear beyond a certain point, you would be mad to oblige, looking down at the dirty floor covered with hair, muddy puddles and sweet papers etc confirms no regular, if any cleaning takes place. That's before you go to the toilets, ladies watch out for the smell of urine, it will knock you out, I thought it was a public men's lav. But no there before me were puddles of urine where the tiles are uneven causing some of the problems and stinky hand basins! It should be shut down, I dread to think what was in the pool water itself, recommend a shower and full scrub after entry. hope my stomach ache gets better eventually.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great fun for all but dirty changing rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We took our three children swimming they had a great time very family friendly! The family changing rooms were dirty extensive hairs on the floor and crisps I understand that during the school holidays the pool can be extremely busy but honestly there is no need! It needed a damn good clean yuk!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Too noisy, too much water and too cold”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We were really looking forward to visiting here, we have a fun pools where we live but it's about 20 years old and very tired indeed so as this is a new facility we were excited to be going. The car park is across the road and is a bit of a mess really, quite overgrown and lots of rubbish.

The facility itself is very clean on the outside as are the reception areas inside. However that changes once you get in. You the walk from the reception area, round the corner and straight into a free for all with the changing areas. It's all open plan and straight onto the pool, no separate male, female or family changing zones at all. There are people everywhere, its all very crowded and confusing. The toilets are nowhere near the changing area and have no signage so we were wandering about aimlessly hoping to be headed in the right direction. The changing areas are also very dirty, rust everywhere, especially in the toilets plus hair, plasters and all sorts on the floors. The showers are also just open into the pool area rather than in a closed off area which I didn't like at all.

You then go into the pool area and its even worse, there's just water everywhere, its coming down in fountains, cascades, sprays, just coming down in bucketloads, there's no way if getting into the pool without having to go under several of these and every part of the pool has some kind of water falling or spraying, even in the lazy river rapids area. It's horrible and impossible to avoid and ruins the experience, plus the noise from all this falling water is completely unbearable, you have to shout to make yourself heard as its just deafening. Then We come to the water temperature which is apparently at 29 according to the sign at reception. I don't know if this was the correct temperature displayed, all I do know is that it was far too cold, usually once you're in after a few minutes you warm up and it doesn't feel cold but not here, we felt cold the whole time we were in there, both above and below the water. Our local fun pools are at 32 degrees and we can stay in there for a couple of hours but here we lasted just over half an hour by which time the children's lips were all blue and our 2 year old daughter was shivering.

The slides were ok but the steps were quite disgusting, I actually felt quite sick with the green and rust on the way up. It looks like it was built all shiny and new and has had no internal maintenance since new.

This is not somewhere that I would go again, it was not fun in anyway, it was something that we endured while we were in there. The temperature needs to be turned up. 29 degrees may be ok for a proper swimming pool for Olympic athletes but not for a fun pool, make walking through the sprays and fountains optional, not everyone wants water launched from above them constantly, get it cleaned and sort out the changing areas and maybe it would be ok.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Took my girlfriend here like a couple of big kids but had a great time. Very clean facilities and good staffing! Reccomended!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cardiff International Pool also viewed

Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to Cardiff International Pool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cardiff International Pool, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.