We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24-26 Newport Road, Cardiff CF24 0DD, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
MERCURE SPRING OFFER
Ranked #14 of 80 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel in a good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is location within walking location of Queen Street mall. We stayed in a corner studio and was impressed with the quality of the services offered and the standard of staff. We only had breakfast which was impressive.
We can recommend this hotel

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thanks for your feedback and for taking the time to post it too. The team were pleased to read your comments and appreciate you recommending our hotel.

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon..

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    496
    202
    86
    55
See reviews for
159
563
49
292
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

A conveniently located hotel with adequate underground parking. My room was fantastic with windows on two sides allowing views of the city, hills and the Bay. The bed was very comfortable and the room nice and quite.
I found the staff to be helpful and very friendly. Breakfast offered plenty of choice and was particularly enjoyable. Dinner was good overall but I wouldn't rave about the steak, but I expect meat to be very good and would admit to being hard to please with food.
I will certainly use the Mercure again when I'm in Cardiff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's on the upper floors and with views to two sides
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review and for the positive feedback!
We were thrilled to read that you found the 'room fantastic, our new beds really comfortable and the staff friendly/helpful'.

We hope you have reason to return again soon and maybe next time you can take advantage of our leisure facitilies too

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burry Port, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

IS NOT GOLD. Certainly this old saying typifies our stay at this hotel! Plus points are few. The staff were quite good. The secure car park was another as is the central location.Our room, 1001,was in very sorry state. The list of problems was very long but when we spoke to the duty manager on departure she assured us that our comments and complaints would be acted on and we would hear from them in due course. The other plus point was the bed which was very comfortable indeed but the duty manager did say they were fairly new, The immediate offer by Michel on reception to get the duty manger and to waiver the car park charge was a nice gesture.Will we be going back ?Depends on the compensation offered and what room we get!

Room Tip: Which ever room you get make sure you give it a good check over for faults especially on the plumbin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
We appreciate your constructive feedback and believe that our team have been in touch to discuss and address concerns raised during your departure.
We would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused and hope we have the opportunity to exceed your expectations next time.

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

My husband and I booked to stay here for 1 night for our 3rd wedding anniversary. From start to finish, it was a complete nightmare and I couldn't wait to leave!

I'm claustrophobic so I cannot go in lifts, I was totally shocked to find that there is no way up to the rooms other than by a lift! I obviously cannot go in there so we asked at reception if there is any other way up! There was, but unfortunately this was a total inconvenience! The only way to and from our room by stairs was to use the fire exit. Because of this every time we wanted to leave or go to our room we had to have a staff member escort us to disable the alarm so we could go through the fire exit!

This is absolutely apauling! We felt like we had no freedom and couldn't leave the room too many times during our stay and felt restricted due to having to phone them everytime we needed to leave. The staff were very helpful and were pleasant during this time. We were pleased with the service we recieved from the staff during our entire stay but unfortunately this wasn't enough to make the stay enjoyable. Considering the reception staff were aware that we would be taking the stairs they made no attempt to relocate us to a lower floor knowing full well our room was on the 12th floor!!

Once we finally made it up to our room, I was not impressed by the standard of cleanliness, the whole room looked grubby and the chairs had stains on them. The bathroom robes need replacing as they are very tatty.

Our 'queen size' bed was actually just 2 bed pushed together. (Hotels will say oh they're zip beds blah blah blah) this is unacceptable! You should not feel the split down the middle of the bed! Whether they're zip beds or not! Extremely uncomfortable and woke up aching the next morning.

Bedding did not fit bed correctly constantly exposing the mattress! Duvet kept falling out of duvet cover and the pillows were rock hard and lumpy, absolutely awful nights sleep overall. Premier inn beds are far more comfortable and they are a budget hotel!! I just don't see how this hotel has 4 stars! I have stayed in many hotel from 3-5 stars and this is definitely the worst - ever!

The beds were not made neatly and looked just thrown together, I'm sorry if this sounds fussy but I'm paying for a 4 star hotel, I should be recieving 4 star quality!

Breakfast had a good choice but it was cold and sausages were tasteless. £16:50 was the breakfast charge per person!! Again, I have recieved much much better breakfasts at budget hotels for half the price!

After all of this we were not even asked how our stay was during check out! We will not be returning! Guests should be able to access the stairs up to the rooms from inside the hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
We are extremely sorry that your stay did not exceed your expectations and for the design of the hotel regarding the lifts and stairways.
We wish we had been made aware before your arrival of your concerns in relation to using lifts as we would have been able to offer/discuss a satisfactory solution. The team had placed you in our upgraded room at the top of the building to enjoy the fanatsic views and did not realise the stress this would cause.

We hope you will accpet our apologies but should you wish to discuss this matter further please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
029 20 435000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Stayed here for two nights on a business trip, returning after an absence of two years. On the whole, I found the hotel comfortable and relaxing with good customer service.
Pros: Large and comfortable bedroom; accessible parking underneath the hotel; good bar meal and a pleasant and relaxing ambience in the bar area.
Cons: The quality of ingredients on offer at breakfast need a detailed review and the service was also robotic and ad-hoc. Not good enough for a 4 star hotel (£109 for an exec room with breakfast for two people.)
The hotel is showing signs of wear and tear, but is apparently subject to a programme of refurbishment in the near future. Rooms facing Newport Road can be noisy.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to give your constructive feedback to us about your recent stay. We were pleased to read your 'pros' on the hotel and have obviously shared your 'cons' with the team. We were sorry to read that you felt the quality and service of breakfast was not 4* and hope that you will see some of the planned improvements in due course.

As mentioned we are about to start a refurbishment and would be delighted to get your feedback on the rooms when you return to Cardiff


Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa

Address: 24-26 Newport Road, Cardiff CF24 0DD, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#16 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star luxury hotel in the centre of Cardiff, 15 min walk from Cardiff Central railway and bus station and a 30 min drive from Cardiff International Airport. The hotel features 165 en suite rooms, the award winning First Floor restaurant, a stylish bar as well as a luxury leisure club and spa. 15 meeting rooms and function suites suitable for hosting conferences, events and weddings. Fibre Optic WiFi internet access. Underground parking available at the hotel at GBP 12.00 per 24 hours (subject to availability). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com and EasyToBook so you can book your Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Holland Hotel Cardiff
Accor Holland Hotel Cardiff
Holland House Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel And Spa Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.