We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“***brilliant spa facilities***” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24-26 Newport Road, Cardiff CF24 0DD, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
MERCURE SPRING OFFER
Ranked #14 of 80 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“***brilliant spa facilities***”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

if you want a relaxing night/day/weekend away this is the place to go! the spa facilities are brilliant, nice indoor pool with seating area, lovely warm jaccuzi, lovely sauna and steam room!. loved it, best spa facilities i have seen out of many hotels!
good night sleep in the bed and no noise from other guests.
room was clean, decent size tv, and we had an amazing view!
meal in the resturaunt was very nice and staff were very friendly. chiefs cooking and the food was very, very nice and not over-priced.
check out time is 12.00, which is later than most hotels!
i would definatly reccomend this hotel to family and friends!. :-)
only one little issue was car parking was quite expensive, £14 for a night, however alot of hotels i have stayed in recently charge you to park your car there!.
if you want somewhere to go with spa facilities i definatly reccomend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear 1Louise2012,

Lovely to hear that you experienced our fantastic leisure facilities at the hotel and I do hope that you will consider us again on your next visit to Cardiff.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the parking, our car park is secure and based underground in the basement so offers peace of mind for guests staying with us.

Kind regards
Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    496
    202
    86
    55
See reviews for
159
563
49
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Booked a night here as exam was being held in the hotel the following morning.
Managed to get a room for 50 pounds, though without breakfast which cost 10 pounds.
The room was big, spacious with a great view. ensuite was nice. tv was a bit sluggish and lacking in channels.
Gym is very well equipped, swimming pool is great.
Breakfast was good but not worth 10 pounds.
Good location 5 mins from Cardiff queen st station.
For 50 pounds - 4 star luxury

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear DocMarkL,

Pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your feedback regarding breakfast and I have passed this onto the Restaurant Manager.

I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel again soon. Please do keep an eye out for our fantastic promotional offers.

Kind regards
Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llantwit Major, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Good hotel, wouldn't say it was amazing - a deal is better if you can get one.
Car park was full so had to come into Cardiff by train which isn't too bad but its quite a 10 minute walk from Cardiff Queen Street with an over night bag.
Review: Room was spacious, lovely shower cubicle, corner bath lovely size fits 2 people and plenty of hot water, king sized bed, sofa & table (which was broken), flat screen TV, fridge, desk but lamp was broken, coffee & tea making, iron & board, trouser press, wardrobes & spare bedding.

The room was clean but missing bathrobes as we'd booked a superior suite on 12th floor, few items were broken. Used the pool and etc not a big pool but spotless and made to feel very welcome by the staff.
Breakfast was lovely, nice choice of food hot and continental - wouldn't pay the money for breakfast as its expensive but was included in price of room. Breakfast area was noisy and crammed as well

Room Tip: Higher the room the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Sarah B,

Thank you for your review of your stay in July 2012 and pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night whilst on business in Cardiff. The staff were welcoming, friendly and informative. My hotel room was on the 12th floor with spectacular panoramic views of the city. The room was clean and had excellent facilities and the bathroom had a good bath and separate shower. Being able to control the air conditioning was helpful. I really enjoyed my stay and would definitely stay again. The one draw back was having to pay for parking in the underground car park - however it was good to know that my car was safe. Finding the entrance to the car park was slightly difficult - better signage would be beneficial.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor and in the corner of the building - better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Ceredigion1,

Lovely to read your review and that your enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your feedback regarding the car park signage and it something we are reviewing.

I hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Great value hotel and great views from the 8th floor. Great big room too, sofa, big bed and dressing area! Bathroom had big bath and lovely shower. Didn't have breakfast as too expensive. Location was 5 mins walk from shopping centres.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear LucyR55,

So pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have a promotional offer on breakfast if prebooked on arrival of £10 per person as opposed to £16.50 on the day.

I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards
Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We booked the Presidential suite for the night of our wedding on 4th May. We booked in late (2am) and got a very nice welcome and because it was for our wedding got a late check out free!
The hotel is very clean and tidy, the rooms were also clean and tidy, and the breakfast was brilliant! -one of the best breakfast I have had in a uk hotel!
The staff are helpful and friendly and we had a very delightful stay!
the only bad thing I would have to say was, the staff knew we were checking out late, so I did not like it very much when a member of staff just walked into our hotel room (after he knocked once and we asked them to wait - was getting changed) and he just walked straight in! to fill the fridge!
but evrything else was lovely! I would stay again :-) and recommend it to friends

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear duckywucky,

Congratulations again to you both on your recent marriage. So pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am sorry that Room Service entered your room before you checked out. I have passed this feedback onto the Restaurant Manager.

I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Booked to stay overnight on Sat 11th May 2013. Made use of the underground car park (£14 for 24 hours ) . Check in was smooth and the reception staff were extremely polite and welcoming. The room we were allocated was a corner suite with good views and was clean and tidy. You did need to request stocking of mini bar , although prices appeared reasonable. My only criticism of the rooms are looking a little tired , carpet was looking faded,stained and curtains did not shut properly

The bed was queen sized , extremely comfortable and sleep quality was fab. The hotel is a short walk into the city centre and great spa facitlities available for hotel guests. This was definitely a deciding factor in booking this hotel compared to others more central to mill lane area.

Breakfast buffet had a good of selection of hot and cold foood , nice surroundings and were seated promptly by attentive staff. The jams and pastries were good , well presented and cooked breakfast items were hot . My only niggle was that the sliced bread appeared cheap in quality and i was dissapointed that the sauce used was not the preferred brands.as the bacon and sausage was good quality and spoilt by cheap sauce. All in all though a pleasurable stay with good customer service and i will return

Room Tip: ask for corner suite preferably high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear fiflarue,

Thank you for your review of your stay at the Mercure Holland House Hotel and for your feedback.

I hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa

Address: 24-26 Newport Road, Cardiff CF24 0DD, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#16 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star luxury hotel in the centre of Cardiff, 15 min walk from Cardiff Central railway and bus station and a 30 min drive from Cardiff International Airport. The hotel features 165 en suite rooms, the award winning First Floor restaurant, a stylish bar as well as a luxury leisure club and spa. 15 meeting rooms and function suites suitable for hosting conferences, events and weddings. Fibre Optic WiFi internet access. Underground parking available at the hotel at GBP 12.00 per 24 hours (subject to availability). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda and EasyToBook so you can book your Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Holland Hotel Cardiff
Accor Holland Hotel Cardiff
Holland House Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel And Spa Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.