We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“recent visit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24-26 Newport Road, Cardiff CF24 0DD, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
MERCURE SPRING OFFER
Ranked #14 of 80 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Milford Haven, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“recent visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Ideal situation for getting into town. Staff capable and attentive especially in the bar when ordering food. Excellent gym and pool facilities. Room a nice size but very cold and no extra blankets. Huge crack in floor to ceiling window which was not very nice. Plenty of hot water but heating needs to be addressed to make this a hotel to visit again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay. Apologies that you found the heating not sufficient. Please always ensure that you contact reception if you find your room cold as we can reset from the main panel in reception.

I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    496
    202
    86
    55
See reviews for
159
563
49
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed at the Mercure hotel a few weeks ago for the night and our it was fantastic. A lovely quality at a great price. The staff are so welcoming and professional and use a really high standard of customer service. We only booked a standard room but when the receptionist saw it was my Mothers birthday the young lady very kindly upgraded us to the presidentuals suits free of charge! All mt future visits to Cardiff will definetely be staying at this hotel. The rooms were fab and would pay extra for a nicer room as the views are outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Cheri93,

Lovely to hear that you got upgraded to the Presidential Suite when you stayed with us for your mothers birthday. Our Presidential Suite is a lovely room indeed and I am glad to hear that we were able to make your visit all the more memorable.

I do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The hotel is not very pleasant to look at from the outside, but it has rather a nice entrance..The room's are definitely not 4* , dirty carpets, worn & ripped furniture & quite dusty!!
The bar area although lovely was empty but still had tables full of dishes, our table was eventually cleared but the stains were not wiped away, we decided to eat elsewhere!!
The pool was freezing cold, many people were complaining about this, the steam room is more leisure center than 4* spa & the Jacuzzi has hardly any power to it!! Although the windows are not that clean, the view is amazing....
Breakfast is served until 11am which is wonderful & the late check out ideal, so not to bad....

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room, & a floor higher than the 10th
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Sarah T,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the hotel. Thank you for your feedback and I have passed this onto the Spa Manager and Housekeeping Manager to investigate and rectify.

Kind regards

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latham, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located near Cardiff University and at the edge of old town, walking distance from the train station. Clean and comfortable it served me well. The staff was attentive and helpful. The decor and room furnishing was good, on the plus side, the large windows gave a nice view of the town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Karl L,

Many thanks for your review and I hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Having stayed here a couple of year's ago and enjoyed it we were disappointed when we returned. The hotel is starting to look tired, the room we stayed in could do with decorating and the bed was very uncomfortable and the breakfast was very mediocre for the standard of hotel. As it was a Six Nations weekend we expected to pay more but we definitely paid over the odds. Would look elsewhere in Cardiff in future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear BainFam41,

Thank you for your review of the hotel and I am sorry that it did not meet with your expectations. We are currently repainting our rooms and assessing our bed stock.

Kind regards

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here as a couple for a weekend during a rugby international. The hotel is city centre and a 5-10 minute walk into the centre of Cardiff.
The hotel itself is modern, clean and comfortable. The rooms are large with, with large King size beds and a bathroom with both a bath and separate shower. there is also a table and comfy chairs creating a suite feel to the rooms. The rooms have a double aspect so feel bright and light.

Breakfast is served buffet style and has all the basics you would expect and you can request eggs cooked to preference.

The spa is small but has a 16m pool with lanes for proper swimming. The Jacuzzi is hot and there is a steam room and sauna. Treatments are provided in a private area upstairs. My only complaint about the spa is that they do not provide you with a robe as standard when visiting the spa. this was charged at £3 a time. As guests of a hotel I would expect a robe and slippers as standard and I think this charge was unfair to hotel guests.

I would stay here again if visiting the city again for a weekend, but the place isn't special enough to book for a special occasion.

A helpful tip is that there is a Sainsbury, 5 mins from the hotel, perfect for picking up some beers and wine/snacks to keep in the room fridges without having to pay the in room charges.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear MrsCWS,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay. I do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed two nights full board mid week. My room was a corner room and was a huge L shape with windows which went all around the corner. This gave loads of light but I did feel like I was on show, so the curtains stayed shut. I'm sure no one could see in, but you never know! The bed was very comfy, but the colour scheme was brown, brown and beige. 1973 has landed. The TV was flat screen but too small for the size of the room and the remote was useless. It sent a signal and days later the tv channel was changed. I was watching the BBC news and tried switching it to SKY, by which time the headline had changed from black smoke so no pope to white smoke and the new pope was coming around the corner. The bathroom was the beige bit, with a corner type bath (never used it) and a seperate shower. Normally this is a good thing because it means the shower is very powerfull, hence the need for a dedicated room. Ah! but this being the Holland House and their vanilla outlook on life which extended to the most boring shower in the world. It looked like a power shower (Not revolting electric showers which should be shot) but it performed like a watering can. Pathetic. It took an hour to shower, not because i'm dirty or large, it just takes that long for sufficient liquid to dispense itself out of the shower and wet me enough to get clean. I went to the bar for a pint (£4.50) and a meal, the bar staff seemed to take ages to do anything (like the shower & TV remote) but I did get served and had my meal in the bar. The cod risotto was lovely. The next night I had a burger which again was tasty. The gym was good with decent equipment and not too busy. The pool again was worthy of a dip. Back to my room I needed the loo, without going into detail (it was a number 2) I will warn you, the toilet paper was not suitable for a 4 star hotel. It was so thin I thought it was transparent. It was that cheap, nasty 1 ply vile I'm-Scared-it-will-tear-and -my-hand-will-take-its-place-wiping-my-butt type. Luckily I doubled it over and it did its job, but get decent 2ply and no need to terrify your guests! I parked my car in the basement and thought I'd have to pay the £14 a day charge but it was free so well done my Dutch House friend. All in all if you want a forgetable stay and you live in a seventies timewarp then Holland House is your dream come true. For the rest of us you have been warned!

Room Tip: Take your own toilet paper
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Wob64,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay and for your different view on the hotel and services. Apologies that the hotel did not meet your expectations and I have passed on your feedback to the departmental managers to that we can investigate you comments.

Kind regards

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa

Address: 24-26 Newport Road, Cardiff CF24 0DD, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#16 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star luxury hotel in the centre of Cardiff, 15 min walk from Cardiff Central railway and bus station and a 30 min drive from Cardiff International Airport. The hotel features 165 en suite rooms, the award winning First Floor restaurant, a stylish bar as well as a luxury leisure club and spa. 15 meeting rooms and function suites suitable for hosting conferences, events and weddings. Fibre Optic WiFi internet access. Underground parking available at the hotel at GBP 12.00 per 24 hours (subject to availability). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda and EasyToBook so you can book your Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Holland Hotel Cardiff
Accor Holland Hotel Cardiff
Holland House Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel And Spa Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.