We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24-26 Newport Road, Cardiff CF24 0DD, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE UP TO 30% OFF
Ranked #14 of 81 Hotels in Cardiff
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night (the night of his birthday) and I had when booking, I requested a 'little something to make him feel special'- perhaps that explains why we got a corner room on the 14th floor- the view was spectacular! The room was spacious and very clean and the bathroom was clean too but one of the toilet rolls was a leftover from the previous occupant and it might as well have been replaced because it had only 2 complete turns of tissue left so I promptly binned it and moved on to the fresh roll. The fridge and coffee tray looked like they needed a lot of cleaning because there were dried-up water marks everywhere which I found that disappointing. We arrived late (around 10.40pm) and we had paid for half board only to be told that the restaurant closes at 10/10.30pm and room service had limited options (soups and sandwiches) which we were uninterested in so one member of staff brought us a menu of a fast-food eatery not far away (any links with the hotel staff???) and we ordered dinner which ended up not being bad at all. Breakfast was very good but the pork sausages were oily. On checking-out, the lady at the reception was very apologetic about the previous night's episode and we weren't charged for dinner :)

Room Tip: Great views from the higher floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your stay. Pleased to hear your feedback and I hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    445
    182
    77
    50
See reviews for
141
498
44
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We requested a quiet room and the room was very quiet. Unfortunately, when we entered the room the duvet looked like it had been made up quickly and thrown on the bed. The shower cubicle had someone else's hairs on the wall and the grouting was black and in need of a good clean up. One of the coffee cups was chipped and had a crack on the inside. We did give it to the receptionist when we checked out and she didn't seem to care. We had deal for our stay and definitely would not pay the proper price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you taking the time to review your stay. I am very sorry that you encountered problems during your stay, please accept my apologies and I have passed on your feedback to the Head Housekeeper.

Kind regards

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We recently stayed here when they advertised a special offer rate £59 per room.Although this price sounds ideal the car parking is on top at approx £16.Which obviously adds to the cost.

The hotel is very nice indeed and only a 5 min walk away from the top end of Queen Street (main shopping street) 15 min walk to Milleneum Staduim and 10 mins from many bars/clubs etc.
The rooms are very spacious and very clean and tidy ours had a nice bath and a seperate shower.

The bar has an happy hour on cocktails every day from 6.30 - 7.30 buy one get one free which seemed decent enough.

The spa was very nice,the only slight draw back was the reception staff seemed to struggle with people checking in/out and it was very slow.

All in all we would definatly stay here again at the offer price but not at the standard rates.

Room Tip: corner rooms seem to be more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay as we do value all feedback. Apologies that you felt reception were slow on checkout. There are times when reception does get busier in particular close to the checkout time of 12 noon but we do try to ensure that there is adequate staff on every shift in regards to the occupancy ration.

I note your comments regarding the parking, we charge £14 per 24 hours for our parking which is secure in our underground car park. Unfortunately there is limited car parking near to the hotel and we do have an agreement with the local NCP which honours our rate of £14 as opposed to their charges of £16.

I do hope that you we can welcome you back to the hotel again on a return stay.

Kind regards

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My Partner and I were up for a lovely romantic weekend. Usually we stay in 3* hotel and don't particularly care about service or mess or lack of facilities but this hotel seemed quite all over the place.
The hotel was great on first impressions but when we first went to check in the hotel receptionist acted like she'd rather be any where else and when given our key, she quickly left reception without letting us know what floor our room was on, how to get there or where the lifts were- not what we expected for a 4*.
As we found it more funny we eventually found our room down a very musky smelling hall way with towels and a tray of food left out. We into a lovely room with panoramic windows and loads of room!
However, for a double room where two of us were staying there was only one towel, one glass by the sink and one mug by the tea area. We asked for double of each and although it took a little while it was sent up to us. During the evening we left and returned to our room a few times and coming back from our meal at 10pm the tray that was left on the floor earlier when we arrived was still there. again not what we expected for a 4*
BSwimming pool was nice but never used the Jacuzzi or steam room as it was PACKED
The Breakfast (which we paid 10 quid each) had a wide range of choice which was amazing, but the cooked option would have been better at a local cafe.

Overall the hotel was nice and we had a pleasant stay however it was completely over priced with the breakfast. Not going to bother staying again as we thought we'd treat ourselves by staying at a posher place when really we could have got a better deal and service at a 2/3*

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Apologies that you encountered some issues in regards to trays in corridors. your check in experience and your room being set up for single occupancy. This is not our normal high standards and I will be investigating with my Front Office team, the Room Service Department & the Executive Housekeeper.

I do hope that you will consider staying with us again.

Kind regards

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthmadog, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Typical room rates from £59 according to their website...well this is another hotel that shamelessly cashes in on rugby matches at the millennium stadium - meaning you can expect to pay at least triple that for the same room!

It was nothing special for the price, to be honest I would have rather stayed at the travelodge. Maybe if I'd paid the normal rate it wouldn't have been so bad...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. Our £59 rate is a very special winter promotion offer that we run during the quieter months at the hotel. During February and March when the rugby is on these offers would not be available, however we do still have some good offers on during rugby internationals.

Kind regards

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel i and my mother who come from malaysia stay for a night.Room is very clean so do there sevices and we really enjoy the spa and the swiming pool..About the restaurant the food is average(still good).Only take five minute walk to the town center.My mum will book this hotel again when she visit me on this july.recommented to all my friend who visit me

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

So pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Adequate should be a poor rating for a 4 star hotel. We arrived to be told that the hotel was on 'skeleton staff' because of snow - the kitchen was also closed.
Unfortunately - for us - we'd paid the full seasonal price and had no influence or expectation on the service we then received. Such a shame as this is a hotel we use on an annual basis. Probably not next year though.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. Please accept my apologies in regards to the kitchen closing at 9pm on your recent stay. Unfortunately Wales and Cardiff was on a 'red alert' at the time and did hinder employees getting in and out of work on that day. All other departments in the hotel were fully operational.

Kind regards

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa

Address: 24-26 Newport Road, Cardiff CF24 0DD, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#15 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star luxury hotel in the centre of Cardiff, 15 min walk from Cardiff Central railway and bus station and a 30 min drive from Cardiff International Airport. The hotel features 165 en suite rooms, the award winning First Floor restaurant, a stylish bar as well as a luxury leisure club and spa. 15 meeting rooms and function suites suitable for hosting conferences, events and weddings. Fibre Optic WiFi internet access. Underground parking available at the hotel at GBP 12.00 per 24 hours (subject to availability). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Holland Hotel Cardiff
Accor Holland Hotel Cardiff
Holland House Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel And Spa Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.