We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, lovely rooms and some very good staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle Cardiff City Centre, The Parc

Save Saved
You added Thistle Cardiff City Centre, The Parc to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thistle Cardiff City Centre, The Parc
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Park Place, Cardiff CF10 3UD, Wales (Formerly Thistle Hotel Cardiff)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 81 hotels in Cardiff
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent location, lovely rooms and some very good staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I stayed here while on a business trip, so had breakfast and dinner included with my stay. Breakfast here is amazing - massive choice. Dinner was lovely too (in the most part - I ordered the scallops starter one evening and to be honest, priced at 6.50 I was slightly disappointed when they came out no larger than my fingerprint!) Every other thing that I tried from the menu was good though. The service is great though and the staff can't do enough for you.
The rooms were nice - executive king on 3rd floor was perfect with views over Queen St. Second week I had a standard double which was fine - it was inward facing so not much of a view but can't complain. The rooms aren't too noisy and you can hardly hear any street noise in either, the beds were very comfy and the cleaners came every day.
A couple of the staff on reception were slightly stand-offish and impatient (maybe they were just having a bad day..?), but in the most part, very impressed.
All in all a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Executive King Rooms are massive! Smart Doubles are great - with ipod dock, coffee machine and large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    242
    256
    103
    56
    32
See reviews for
58
298
29
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aarschot, Belgium
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The hotel was ok, nice room, clean bathroom, yummie breakfast. Just a bit of a wait to check in, and the car parc was rather small. Also don't like when guests have to pay for parking... They also open their car parc for non guests. Just let your guests parc free, the room is pricey enough. Also a bit of wait for check-in, but that depends on when you arrive I guess.

The location is great, next to the shopping street en a 5min walk to the castle!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed for one night in an executive room and was fantastic. Lovely room, comfortable bed and spotlessly clean. Thought we might experience a lot of noise in the night as we were in the front of the hotel but we closed the windows, put the air -con on and did nt hear a thing. The staff were brilliant and always smiling.In fact we had a telephone call the day before we went welcoming us to the hotel and asking if there was anything we needed. Fantastic! The breakfast was superb. We went into the executive bar as part of our package and had free wine which was a great start to our evening. You could also have had a cocktail. Soft drinks and snacks were also available. We ended the evening in the champagne bar as we were celebrating our anniversary.
All in all would recommend this hotel to anyone and I m sure we will return.

Room Tip: Executive room for a bit of luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely night at The Parc. There was a friendly welcome at reception. We arrived before the check in time but this was not a problem because our room was ready. The room was very spacious, modern and very tastefully decorated. We had access to the executive lounge which was part of the room rate, and we were made to feel welcome, especially by Tim. Thank you. Breakfast the following morning was plentiful and a wide choice available. The location of the hotel is very good and everything is on your door step. Shops, restaurants and theatre. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will hopefully be returning soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

A group of us came to Cardiff on a weekend away, stayed in this hotel which was fantastic. Service was brilliant, check in was no bother, rooms were great clean and spacious... I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone had an amazing time!!! :)

Only down side would have to be the parking not alot of spaces. :(

Xxx

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This hotel advertises that car parking is available at an extra charge. When we arrived a permanent sign at the car park entrance advised that the car park was full and to drive to the front of the hotel to drop our bags off. Unfortunately they have not changed their sign since the front area was closed and it is not possible to drive in. As a result we had to briefly pull into the car park entrance to unload our bags in the rain and then park in a ar park around the corner.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is our 3rd stay in this hotel. We had fantastic value for money. The room was great number 125. But what topped it was the fantastic customer service . We could nt fault this service.
We would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thistle Cardiff City Centre, The Parc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Cardiff City Centre, The Parc

Address: Park Place, Cardiff CF10 3UD, Wales (Formerly Thistle Hotel Cardiff)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Cardiff
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#18 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Cardiff City Centre, The Parc 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand Victorian building, The Parc Hotel is a landmark in the Welsh capital. Located in the city centre, The Parc Hotel was transformed last year with a multi-million pound investment which saw every area and each room of the hotel redesigned with chic modern décor and contemporary furnishings. The hotel has proven to be a favourite with business and leisure guests, while its Champagne bar is where the city comes to see and be seen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Thistle Cardiff City Centre, The Parc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Parc Hotel, Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Parc Hotel Cardiff
Thistle Cardiff City Centre, The Parc Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle Cardiff City Centre, The Parc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.